Rant and Rave!

I haven’t been on the blogs in the past couple of days.  Nothing is wrong.  I just needed a little blog vacation.  I did try to post a couple of comments on some people’s blogs and I couldn’t because for some reason they don’t like either of my e-mail addresses now.  I couldn’t post to Annie on writerchick’s or Kilax’s blogs.  So don’t think I’m not trying, you two.

I may also be just too excited about this grandma thing.  Did you see the comment my daughter left?

I watched movies for a couple of days and caught up on TV shows that I had on DVR.

Now the RANT.  It’s about the depersonalization of banking.  In other words, BANKS SUCK!!  I used to work for a bank 30 years ago.  Wow, has it changed.  These banks that tell you they do community banking or personal banking–LIES–THEY SUCK!!!!

BLOODSUCKER BANK

bloodsuckerbank

I’m referring to the largest bank in America.  My son has an account there.  They have branches from here to Florida so if I do have to throw some money in his account I can.   He overdrew his account with two items for a total of $2.72 and they charged him $105.00 which made his account overdraw  another 5 items which totaled under $28.00.  They charged him another $175.00 for those 5 items.  Originally if they had only charged him for the two items instead of three, none of this would have happened.  It’s turning into a nightmare.  I went to the bank and ended up in tears in front of the bank lady.  I really think she was trying her best to help me but she has no authority to refund the overdraft fees. The bank has taken all authority away from these people.

If he doesn’t have this account I can’t send him the money I have for him unless I Western Union it which costs so much money.

The end result is he is in Myrtle Beach, SC without a penny to his name.

Years ago when I worked for a bank.  We used to call our customers who were overdrawn and give them a chance to make good before we bounced checks and charged them fees.

Now to the fucker who tried to scam Damon on the internet:  Someday I will find you and shove my cane where the sun don’t shine!!!!  You Spineless Bastard!!

real-estate-crime

Damon applied for a job on Craigslist ( not to say that Craigslist is bad) .  This so called Doctor in England needed someone in North Carolina to valet his grandmother around for three weeks.  He was going to send Damon a certified check for the first week’s pay and Damon would drive to meet the grandmother and start work.  Thank goodness, I was in on this because I smelled scam right away.

I just couldn’t quite see what the scam was until the guy sent Damon a $3000.00 check and wanted him to Western Union $2300.00 of it to his travel agent who would then pay for the grandma’s ticket to North Carolina.  Well, I took over and started e-mailing the guy and leading him on pretending to be Damon.  I did this for about a week just to suck up his time and give him hope only to take it away.  Finally I told him Damon had given the check to a friend in the FBI who was going to check it out.  Needless to say we never heard from him again.  I’m turning the check and all the e-mails over to the FBI for real.

Poor Damon, he had such high hopes that this would give him enough money to get him started wherever he lands.

Now I said this would be a Rave too.  The only thing I can rave about is the prospect of being a grandma but I guess you all knew I would say that.

I’ll be back to reading and commenting soon.  Oh, I almost forgot.  The wasband has been hogging the computer and playing solitaire taking valuable blogging time away from me.  But alas, how can I complain.  It’s his computer.

20 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Sandra
    Dec 03, 2008 @ 15:30:24

    Joan, I’ve had problems with WordPress the past couple of days. It is sending my usual commenters to moderation, yet nothing has changed at their or my end. Grrgh.

    Jeepers, Damon is LUCKY to have such a switched on mother as you with regard to that scammer!

    Meh, banks

    Hope this work!Check out the Flight of the Conchords (Kiwi guys with a show on HBO filmed in New York, if you haven’t heard of them yet) and what they have to say about banks and their fees, lol:

    Many of my comments are going into moderation and I can’t even leave comments on some people’s blogs.

    I’m going to have to start watching “The Flight of the Conchords”. I’ve heard of it but didn’t know it was so funny and they are Kiwis. I love their accents!! Ha! Ha! 😉

    Reply

  2. Sandra
    Dec 03, 2008 @ 15:31:17

    See! Grrgh that comment just went to moderation!

    Reply

  3. birdpress
    Dec 03, 2008 @ 15:36:00

    When I first moved here we had some trouble with overdraft fees. I was given a bad check and didn’t know it until my account was overdrawn, and just like you said, the fees kept adding up and it cost me a good bit of money. When stuff like that happens, when there are honest mistakes made, people should be human about it and give you a break.

    Good for you for catching on to that scam! Good luck to Damon.

    I’m still waiting to hear from the bank. I don’t think I will have any luck with it. He’s still overdrawn this morning $208.00–all overdraft fees. Well, at least he didn’t get scammed.

    Reply

  4. The Vinyl Villager
    Dec 03, 2008 @ 15:56:57

    Knock on wood, its been a while since I had to deal with overdraft fees. But about 5 years ago, I was merrily paying my bills, went to write a check for $80 and record a balance of $878.00 and accidentally wrote the check for $878.00.

    Well, you know the rest. I had 23 things bounce. with a fee for each of them. What really burned me is that 18 of those items were piddly check card purchases for under $20 and most of them were “swiped” AFTER the first thing bounced. Had the bank simply declined my card, I would have found out MUCH sooner that something was wrong.

    OMG, that must have been awful. I don’t understand why the bank doesn’t decline something if there is no money. They did that to Damon too. 23 items at the overdraft charges that charge now would be $805.00. That’s horrible.

    Reply

  5. fightingwindmills
    Dec 03, 2008 @ 16:12:37

    I have cried at the bank a couple of times, too. I hope they will cut you all some slack.

    Well, at least I’m not the only one who has cried in a bank. I didn’t even do it purposefully. I had planned on tying myself to a chair and not leaving until they refunded his account but that didn’t work out–the girl who tried to help me was too nice.

    Reply

  6. thebeadden
    Dec 03, 2008 @ 16:33:19

    Holy Crap! Banks can charge that amount of money for over-drafts? How do they get away with it? I can see how you would be so upset. I hope Damon will be okay. And, yes, thank goodness you smelled the scam. I hope things work out.

    My site has been holding some comments too. I don’t know why.

    I am so glad about the baby on the way! He/She will bring so much joy in your lives!

    My bank charges $37.00. It’s horrifying. Damon had better find a job very quickly.

    I don’t know what is happening with wordpress. I can’t make comments on some people’s blogs and many go into moderation here.

    Yes, I can’t wait for “new baby”.

    Reply

  7. javaqueen
    Dec 03, 2008 @ 18:41:23

    How aggravating. and again, congrats on the bun in the oven 🙂

    Thanks JQ. I’m looking forward to that bun getting out of the oven.

    Reply

  8. teeni
    Dec 03, 2008 @ 20:36:02

    I hope for Christmas you get your own computer! Then you can blog AND the wasband can still play his Solitaire!

    I’m so glad you were involved in the whole thing with Damon so that you could intercept stuff. I know how quickly someone can get starry eyed and not question whether they are helping someone do something illegal but it’s like they say, “If it seems too good to be true, it probably IS.”

    About the banks though – that really does suck. I have felt the same way – they could be more personal and employ more people (it’s not like bank employees get paid a ton – I know, I worked at one too) and keep their customers happier than all this automated crap and all this inflexibility!!! Grrr!

    But hey – you’re gonna be a Grandma!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    🙂 🙂 🙂

    It must be sooooo hard to stay in a bad mood with that on your mind!

    I told Damon that exact saying. It certainly is a true one but he is very trusting and also I am sure he saw an easy way to make money.

    I don’t think the bank will do anything about it either. Heck, they are the biggest bank of America. They don’t have to nor do they care about these small accounts.

    I will stay in a good mood, though. I get way too happy thinking of “new Baby”.

    Reply

  9. sheng
    Dec 03, 2008 @ 20:43:07

    Joanie, have a great day ahead of you!

    Thanks, Sheng, You too!!!

    Reply

  10. Joy
    Dec 03, 2008 @ 21:54:19

    I am so sorry Joan. Damon sounds a lot like my oldest son. If he didn’t have bad luck he wouldn’t have any at all. I’m sending all positive thoughts your way. I’m so glad you smelled a rat.

    I’ve been having “slight” problems with WordPress too. Nothing major but things are just there sometimes and not others. Maybe it has something to do with the new things they are doing to the writing panel.

    That is so true about Damon. Bad luck seems to follow him around sometimes.

    I forgot about the new dashboard business. I’ll have to try leaving comments on those blogs that wouldn’t let me.

    I was so surprised to see the dashboard this morning. I’m not much for change but I’m sure I will get used to it.

    Reply

  11. Wendy
    Dec 03, 2008 @ 22:22:46

    I’m hip to your bank hatred. I stopped writing checks because of the kind of stuff you’re talking about. I never write them, never order them…I’m not even sure I own any anymore.

    Good catch on the scammer.

    I don’t use checks anymore either but I do use my debit card and then forget to write in the amount. I’m reporting the scammer to the FBI but they get so many it is used strictly for statistical purposes.

    Reply

  12. Wendy
    Dec 03, 2008 @ 22:44:25

    Hey, in WordPress gripes, did you know WP is changing as of tomorrow (Thurs)?

    http://en.blog.wordpress.com/2008/12/03/27-gets-here-in-two-days/

    I saw the new dashboard this morning. Now I have to learn where everything is again.

    Reply

  13. trishatruly
    Dec 03, 2008 @ 23:17:57

    My bank here in our little town used to call you if there was a problem then give you a chance to fix it before they hit you with fees but times they are a changin’, even here .
    All the tellers are about 12-years-old and ask me for I.D. when I simply want to cash a check. In the “old” days they all knew me! Agghhh!!!

    Happy happy joy joy on the baby-to-come!!!!!

    I hate it when they ask for ID and they know you. There is no such thing as personal banking anymore.

    I can’t wait to find out if it’s a boy or a girl so I can start making and buying little things for it.

    Reply

  14. duskydi
    Dec 03, 2008 @ 23:47:25

    hi Joan,

    So sorry to hear that your having bank trouble. I can’t believe the charges, its the same here. I dare not get get any form of direct debits for fear of being charged when theres no money in my bank – not to managable with dates and stuff like that yet. No ! I don’t like banks.

    Poor Damon – Your a great mum for trying to help him sort it all out Joans of Mums. Damon reminds me so much of me at his age. My mum didn’t have a clue where to go with me. Your ace Joan.

    Its it all a scam, wheeling some granny round in her wheel chair. ?? Sounds a bit suspect to me.

    Hope it all works out for you and yours, off to see what Sarah said.

    Whoo Hoo !! Are you going to crochet some booties and stuff like that.
    Love Diane x

    Hi Sweetie!!

    I am crocheting Christmas decorations now but I will crochet some baby stuff too.

    Damon doesn’t keep good track of his account so it’s his own fault that it happened but to charge someone $200.00 for overdraft fees when all they were overdrawn is a little over $2.00 is a crime.

    I’m just glad we caught the scam before Damon lost another $2300.00.

    Talk soon
    Love
    Joan of Mums

    Reply

  15. Just a Mom
    Dec 04, 2008 @ 14:09:35

    Damon sounds like my older brother when he was in his 20’s. I was always sending him money or bailing him out of something! I hope Damon outgrows it like my brother did.

    I am glad to hear your brother outgrew it. It gives me hope that Damon will find what he is looking for and settle down.

    Reply

  16. Hannah
    Dec 04, 2008 @ 14:17:14

    Sorry about Damon’s problems with the bank – and the scam artist! He is so lucky to have you around doing some snooping and bailing him out. I honestly can’t get over all the scam artists that are out there, especially on the internet. It’s scary and sick.

    But in happier news, let’s just focus on this Grandma thing!!

    You are right!! Let’s focus on “new baby”. I’m already looking forward to next Christmas when “new baby” will be 6 months old and smiling and laughing. I get so excited about this.

    Reply

  17. Kaylee
    Dec 04, 2008 @ 18:20:04

    I just want to say hi I am too upset to blog too much today

    Oh, I’m sorry you are so upset. I hope you feel better soon.

    Reply

  18. romi41
    Dec 04, 2008 @ 22:27:17

    well that was a very necessary rant, I never knew over-draft fees could double-screw you over like…that’s horrible!

    PS: good on you for catching that scammer in his act! See I KNEW that nobody messes with you; hope Damon finds another opportunity soon! 🙂

    You are right–nobody messes with Mommy dearest when she is carrying her cane. I hope Damon finds a job soon. Overdraft charges can triple screw you. It’s awful.

    Reply

  19. Peter Parkour
    Dec 05, 2008 @ 01:41:53

    Scams suck. Those people should get the death penalty for screwing people over. I’m glad you caught on. Scams like that can end with the victims (Damon) in jail. I was just watching Oprah today, and scams were the topic of the day. Good lookin’ out, momma. 😉

    On the overdraft fees, It’s my understanding the same is now possible with credit cards. It used to be that they would stop working when you reached your limit, but now the vendors have found a way to get around that. Then when you go over the bank and/or credit card company holds you (the card holder) responsible, and charges an overdraft fee. That is such bullshit. In this day and age of electronic deposits and withdraws, that just really pisses me off, both with the debit cards and credit cards.

    And as far as banks sucking, I’ve always thought they sucked. I much prefer dealing with my credit union. They are much more personal. I don’t think they would cut me any more slack than a bank, but at least they know my name and treat me like an individual instead of just “next”. 😐 I hate banks. They’re all a bunch of blood suckers.

    I hope Damon finds a job soon. Tell him to check with the local unemployment/jobs office. They have far more job listings (and far less scams) than the Sunday paper. 😉

    Well, I’m glad I’m not that only one who hates banks and scammers. They really are bloodsuckers and now they want the government to bail them out? Screw that!! They should bail themselves out. I don’t see anyone bailing Damon out.

    That is a great idea about the unemployment office. I will tell him today. Thanks, Peter. Sorry, but your comments keep going into moderation and I don’t know why.

    I wish I had seen Oprah. I will go to her website and see if I can see it there.

    Reply

  20. thegirlfromtheghetto
    Dec 05, 2008 @ 17:40:14

    Joan – I know all about these scams due to what me and my hubby do for a living. If you need any help, you can email me. I can’t say what we do on here, so…

    Craigslist is a nightmare. It is full of scam artists. I never will apply for jobs on ther, which is sad, because I’m sure many of the opportunities are valid.

    Sorry this happened. I like your Christmas idea you got from Peter.

    Also, I can not leave a comment on Writerchick’s page either, and hopefully she knows I’m thinking about her, too…

    Reply

Leave a Reply

