Before and After

The top photo is from Thanksgiving 2 years ago and the bottom photo is from this past Thanksgiving.

sarah-and-me-thanksgiving-20061

47b8cf11b3127cce98549a12cdb900000015102lztmzhjo

26 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Little Miss
    Nov 30, 2008 @ 14:14:03

    Oh, WOW. Doesn’t that feel so good to look at the changes in yourself? It does me. I find it motivating! You look great. Fantastic!

    Thanks!! I think I’m going to have a fairly good week this week. I hope so.!

    Reply

  2. thebeadden
    Nov 30, 2008 @ 14:25:43

    You both look fantastic!

    Thanks, BD!!

    Reply

  3. teeni
    Nov 30, 2008 @ 15:13:47

    WOW! You two look great! What a difference. I love seeing the before and after! It just goes to show all the effort you have been making is paying off big time. What a great incentive to stay on the right track too! Hugs and congrats to you both! 🙂

    That’s why I did it–incentive!! Every time I look at the two photos it keeps from going into the kitchen .Thanks, Teeni!!

    Reply

  4. Sandra
    Nov 30, 2008 @ 15:20:39

    OMG, Joan – what a transformation. Be very, very proud of yourself!

    Also CONGRATULATIONS

    Thanks, Sandra!!

    Reply

  5. Sandra
    Nov 30, 2008 @ 15:22:27

    Oops! Two year old on my lap trying to type his stuff at the same time as me and somehow sent that comment before I finished, lol.

    So, CONGRATULATIONS on the wonderful news that you are going to be a grandmother! Just awesome!

    In a couple of years I’ll have someone banging around my computer too. Yay!!!

    Reply

  6. birdpress
    Nov 30, 2008 @ 15:57:44

    You both look great! I bet you feel so much better now, eating healthier and carrying around less weight. You should be very proud of what you have accomplished! Taking care of a baby has gotta be easier if you are in good shape. 😉

    Yup, I have to get in better shape and I will too. Thanks, Birdpress!!

    Reply

  7. Hannah
    Nov 30, 2008 @ 16:59:04

    You both look amazing, and you can totally see the differences between the before & after shots. Well done to both of you!!

    It’s the first time I have really noticed a difference. It keeps me going. Thanks, Hannah!

    Reply

  8. duskydi
    Nov 30, 2008 @ 17:20:25

    Hi Joan

    You both look so well Wow ! The weights dropping off. Well done you two beautiful women.

    Love before and after shots to.
    Love
    Di

    Thanks, Diane!! Hopefully I am having a good week and will lose a couple more pounds on Saturday.

    Love
    Joan

    Reply

  9. javajunkee
    Nov 30, 2008 @ 22:24:22

    WOW! you both look awesome! Two beautiful women! And you should be so proud of you!

    now if you could pass some hints on to me. I really really struggle this time of year with comfort eating. 😦 Then I gain weight and have to starve or eat/puke to lose it in the spring..would be nice to avoid that whole scene.

    Thanks JJ. I miss some of those comfort foods like mac and cheese but my weight watcher crock pot meals hold me over and I still eat potatoes just not with butter. I think I miss cheese more than anything.

    Reply

  10. Joy
    Nov 30, 2008 @ 23:19:37

    You both look amazing. Good as gold.

    Thanks, Joy!!

    Reply

  11. kilax
    Nov 30, 2008 @ 23:43:52

    You are both looking great! I am so proud of you!

    Thanks, Kilax! I wrote this great comment on your blog. Well, I don’t know how great it was but it didn’t like my e-mail. I tried my other e-mail and it didn’t like that one either. An error message kept popping up. I will try again.

    Reply

  12. kaylee2
    Dec 01, 2008 @ 03:07:31

    Damn thats good!

    Reply

  13. trishatruly
    Dec 01, 2008 @ 09:18:44

    Congratulations, Joan! It must feel good to see those two pictures side by side, eh? It really brings it home just how much you’ve accomplished.
    Even your smile is brighter!

    Reply

  14. The Vinyl Villager
    Dec 01, 2008 @ 10:09:59

    Look at you! You look great!

    Reply

  15. Just a Mom
    Dec 01, 2008 @ 12:02:22

    All I can say is WOW!

    Both of you look great!

    Reply

  16. Joy
    Dec 01, 2008 @ 12:49:19

    Joan, your new ticker is AWESOME. Where do you find those things??? My brother quit smoking a week ago and I’d like to put counter on my blog for encouragement. HELP!!

    Reply

  17. lupusranting
    Dec 01, 2008 @ 13:55:05

    Girl, you got it goin ON! 🙂

    Reply

  18. Wendy
    Dec 01, 2008 @ 14:44:34

    Wow Joan, you really look fantastic. All these changes you’ve gone through, that YOU have made happen, are such a wonderful inspiration to everyone, I think. I don’t know if too many people can realize what it’s like to be on the verge of “ruin” and wanting to give up and allow themselves to just fall through the cracks of society or whatever. Or maybe too many people can identify with that. Either way, YOU my dear, really put the brakes on it all and took control of your own life. I know you had the support of everyone who loves you, but in the end it was you who decided to turn everything around and change your life. From the way you’ve taken on the household chores, to putting difference aside and enjoying your wasband, to writing and making so many friends, to braving new experiences, to feeding your mind, and feeding yourself in a whole new way…what you’ve done is amazing. You rock, Joan. And now you’re going to have a new baby to pass your awesomeness onto. What an inspiration you are, an explosive purple and sterling silver example of how people can change their lives.

    You better write an article for WW or some other magazine, Joan, beacause people need this kind of inspiration, especially in this day and age.

    Reply

  19. Wendy
    Dec 01, 2008 @ 14:47:22

    OH, and Sarah you look beautiful too! You’re another inspiration to daughters everywhere. I bet you’d make a great life coach.

    Reply

  20. sheng
    Dec 01, 2008 @ 20:46:13

    Very Nice, I love this pics!

    Reply

  21. thegirlfromtheghetto
    Dec 01, 2008 @ 23:50:19

    All I can say is “You SEXY thing!” You look FANTASTIC.

    Reply

  22. Hay
    Dec 02, 2008 @ 17:29:12

    Wow, you look flippin’ fantastic. One hot Grandma-to-be!

    Reply

  23. Amy Hunter
    Dec 02, 2008 @ 17:56:17

    Very impressive and inspiring! Way to go!

    Reply

  24. Peter Parkour
    Dec 02, 2008 @ 23:46:26

    You’re both looking so good. I’m looking forward to comparing next Thanksgiving’s picture with this year’s . 😉 Awesome. 😀

    Reply

  25. JavaQueen
    Dec 03, 2008 @ 04:49:20

    Damn girl, I am so proud of you!! Gosh, so happy for you!

    Reply

  26. sulz
    Dec 07, 2008 @ 19:24:04

    what a difference two years make. 🙂 go joan! and you have a lovely-looking daughter to boot.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

