Massachusetts Wants to Ban Bake Sales

Massachusetts has banned junk food on school grounds during school hours but now they want to ban junk food 24/7 which would include evenings and weekends.  No more junk food at banquets,  no more door-to-door candy sales and no junk food at football games.  No more bake sales which help pay for many of the after school activities for kids.  No junk food at holiday parties.  They even would prefer that no milk or white bread be on the tables at school.

In other words Massachusetts wants to hold the record for being the best “Nanny State”.

Now don’t get me wrong we don’t feed my granddaughter junk.  I realize that a lot of parents do.  I also know that if kids in school want snacks they will get snacks.  Now you will have a whole new black market thing going on in the hallways of 1st graders.  Little Johnny from next door will be selling Sour Patch Kids for $3.00 and homemade chocolate chip cookies for $2.50 apiece.

How do you draw the line at what constitutes junk food.  I make Lilah Oat cakes. They have no sugar, lots of oats, dried cranberries, sunflower seeds and some pastry flour.  She loves them but if she whips one out at lunch how is the food patrol going to know they are healthy? Will they test them on the spot or maybe send it to a lab? Maybe have to take a bite?  Soon the food patrol person will be the one having to shed some pounds.

The whole thing is disturbing to me because I truly feel that our government is taking too much control over our lives and we are letting them.

This man knew what he was talking about when he wrote “1984” published in 1948.

I realize that everyone is going to have a different opinion about this and I do respect all opinions.  Fortunately we still have that right and the government damn well better not take that away from us.

We just better be careful that we don’t let our government take too much control over our daily lives.  Last time I checked we are not all stupid but if we choose to be stupid we should have that choice. I’m afraid that some day a chubby person will be eating fried chicken in a restaurant and the food police will give him a ticket.

Damn, those oat cakes look good.  I keep going back to that photo of them.  I think I will make some tomorrow.

Who should decide what you can eat: you? Or the state?…

It is no coincidence that the push for more food regulation came at a time when Congress obsessed about the rising cost of medical care.

When government pays for your health care, it will inevitably be drawn into regulating your personal life. First, politicians promise to pay. Then, they propose to control you.

Where does it stop? If we must control diet to balance the government’s budget, will the health squad next ban skydiving and extramarital sex? How about another try at Prohibition?

But what about reasonable-sounding policies like forcing businesses to post calorie counts?

Often the Food Police strike an innocent pose, claiming that they just want to give people information. Information is good. But it’s not free. Mandated calorie signs in restaurants cost money. Those costs are passed on to consumers, and the endless parade of calorie counts and warning labels make us numb to more important warnings – like, “This Coffee Is Scalding Hot.”

It’s not as if dietary information isn’t already available. Health and diet websites abound. Talk shows routinely discuss the latest books on diet and nutrition. TV diet gurus are celebrities. That’s enough. We have information. We don’t need government force.

The above article was just written in April about “The Food Police”.
Read more: http://www.foxbusiness.com/on-air/stossel/blog/2012/04/25/food-police#ixzz1uRNnOFpI

7 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. thebeadden
    May 10, 2012 @ 08:44:59

    Great post, Joan. Sometimes I wonder where the line will be drawn. When there is no such thing as choice because they believe the general public, as a whole, are dumb as posts and need to live in a nanny state. That’s an insult to the people who pay them and keep them in the cosy jobs and lifestyles they have. Talk about messed up!

    Reply

  2. teeni
    May 10, 2012 @ 10:43:09

    This is ridiculous. They need to take a step back. If they honestly want to help people make good food choices, then that is what they should focus on, not taking away their right to choose. I think time and effort would be much better spent on dealing with the manufacturers of processed foods and getting rid of the crap in those to make healthy meal preparation easier for people and provide full disclosures of what we are actually consuming. But we should always have the right to choose for ourselves. I like to eat healthy most of the time but I am allowed to have some treats that aren’t at all healthy if I so desire. And as far as the schools go, I think parents should have the last say in what their children eat there. I wouldn’t trust the schools to decide whether my child was allergic to something or not, regardless if it was healthy.

    Reply

  3. Peter Parkour
    May 10, 2012 @ 16:24:08

    Where the hell is the Oat Cakes recipe??? 😐

    I don’t think the schools should be supplying the crap, but I don’t think they should be policing those that bring it on their own.

    Reply

  4. Hannah
    May 10, 2012 @ 17:52:20

    Oh my goodness, I cannot believe this rule! How crazy! Banning things only makes people (kids especially) want them even MORE … I would have thought education about proper nutrition and portion control and how some foods are ‘treat foods’ would have been a much better plan. It penalises people like yourself who make an extra effort to bake healthy food for your family. I can see how it would be difficult for the people policing this rule to tell the difference between your healthy, all natural oat cakes and a similar sugar laden product, by simply looking.
    It reminds me of a similar rule they had at Tyler’s kindergarten about home baking. It was listed as ‘junk food’ on a chart, and the kids weren’t allowed to bring it in. I was furious!! I like to bake for my family because I know the stuff I make has good wholesome ingredients, no added preservatives or crap, and I can also manage portion control and frequency of consumption.
    Ahh, this is craziness! I hope the PC police back down and make some decent changes that will actually do what they are intending! Because I don’t believe this rule will change anything, except to make kids think some foods are ‘bad’ (everything is okay in moderation!!!) and make them crave all the stuff they are never allowed to try😦

    Reply

  5. Doraz
    May 16, 2012 @ 21:15:22

    Well, I believe a person should have the right to eat what they want. The rest of the thoughts that go along with that sentence do not matter. It is a personal choice. The only exception for me might be a person who is physically or mentally ill and not able to help themselves.

    Hope all is well.🙂

    Reply

  6. starlaschat
    May 18, 2012 @ 09:16:18

    I Love a good full pie table. I also like sour patch candy and yes the oat cookies look goog to me as well. Sigh… what a topic makes me sad really. There are times when I am doing a post and I wonder if I talk about missiles silos does that put me on the no fly list. Imagine in this country that we would worry about being policed about what we say and what we eat. It saddens me greatly.

    Reply

  7. roger56d
    Jul 22, 2013 @ 01:05:56

    Children should eat healthy. I think out side food will harm your kids so better to prepare cake at home. I used to make birthday cakes and decoration on any of occasion.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

