Sleep

If you read my last post you will already know that my 6 week old grandson, Silas, is a grunter.  I was hoping by now that he would have gotten over it but on the other hand I sort of like it.

I have had insomnia for at least 15 years.  I have a terrible time falling asleep and when I finally do sleep it’s for about 2 hours, then I wake up and then can’t fall asleep again.  My daughter gives me the baby around 10:00 PM and she goes to sleep.  I have the noisy little tot until 6 AM.  I give him a bottle about 1 AM.  I wake my daughter around 3:30 AM and she nurses him and goes back to bed.  I am up that whole time because he is so noisy, seriously noisy.  The sounds that come out of that baby’s mouth are, well,  downright strange.

At 6:00 AM I finally go to bed and sleep until around 1 or 2 PM.   Notice I said SLEEP.  Since I started doing this I go right to sleep and sleep like a baby, or at least the way a baby should sleep.  You know, quietly.  When I wake up I actually feel refreshed.  15 years of sleeping like crap and suddenly I am the world’s best sleeper as long as I go to bed at 6 AM.  What’s up with that?

I don’t really mind being up all night.  It goes by fast because I am either reading or doing computer stuff.  I do spend quite a lot of time holding the noisy one because he prefers my lap more than his crib.  I have learned to read and do my computer stuff with my left hand as I hold him in my right arm. I also know my daughter is getting a good night’s sleep which she needs because she works. That in itself makes it all worthwhile.

Big Sister, Lilah, loves her baby brother.  I wonder how long that will last.


                                                                 Look how well rested my beautiful daughter, Sarah, looks.

My daughter, Sarah and my son, Damon

It’s 4:00 AM.  Silas is in a deep sleep because he is quiet right now.  This can last up to an hour or so.  I am going to watch an episode of “Supernatural”.

12 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. thebeadden
    May 04, 2012 @ 13:47:51

    Glad to hear your are getting sleep! You must be a God send to Sarah. Your Grandchildren are so lucky to have you too! They are so adorable, Joan.
    You’re right, Sarah looks well-rested for a new Mom.

    Reply

  2. Teeni
    May 04, 2012 @ 15:51:23

    Wow. I have to echo Beadden’s sentiments exactly. You are a godsend. I know you enjoy it too though and it must have its own rewards, but still. You have always been an above-and-beyond mom and grandma. I think the thing that makes it work for you all is that you don’t take each other for granted, you are all truly grateful to have each other and to be there for each other as well as respect each person’s contribution. I always smile when I visit here. And that 2nd photo – the one of Lilah – my goodness, she is a precious and gorgeous little thing! :)

    Reply

  3. starlaschat
    May 05, 2012 @ 05:58:50

    Such cute photos! Lilah’s bright eyes such a beautiful girl! I agree this post does bring a lot of smiles. Silas still grunting up a storm. Cute with his little green tie. They are both adorable. Sounds like you guys are keeping busy and having lots of fun. Nice to see photos. :+)

    Reply

    • joanharvest
      May 06, 2012 @ 03:52:32

      Everyday around here is a fun day especially for me. Spending my day with Lilah and Silas is awesome!

      Reply

      • starlaschat
        May 10, 2012 @ 13:15:38

        It’s nice to enjoy the kids they do inspire lots of smiles. I’ve been spending time with my niece we have had lots of fun hanging out and doing fun things thogether. Makes me smile just thinking about it.

        Reply

  4. Hannah
    May 06, 2012 @ 03:17:49

    What an amazingly selfless, wonderful, caring mom you are, Joan!! I had great support from my mother when I had my babies, but nothing like what you are doing for Sarah. I think it’s incredible, you are one generous and loving lady. I know Sarah must really appreciate all you do for her, what a special gift.

    Reply

    • joanharvest
      May 06, 2012 @ 03:51:03

      Hannah, I honestly feel like I have gotten the better end of the deal. To be able to see my grandkids everyday is the most wonderful thing in the world. When I walk out of my bedroom in the morning and see Lilah running toward me as fast as she can and then grabbing hold of me and smiling up at me, well, there aren’t words strong enough to express how I feel. I am truly blessed.

      Reply

  5. Moonbeam McQueen
    May 06, 2012 @ 12:05:03

    Joan, I agree– you ARE lucky! Everyone in your household is! You’re a second-shift grandma, and your grandchildren are so beautiful. Glad you’re finally getting some sleep!

    Reply

  6. Doraz
    May 06, 2012 @ 19:56:03

    Lilah and Silas are precious. I hope one day I will be as lucky as you are with those precious grandchildren. It is comforting to know that family is strong for you. Family is #1 to me also. Stay well and enjoy many smiles. :)

    Reply

  7. sheng
    May 07, 2012 @ 21:11:29

    Sleep, something which I don’t really enjoy these past few months because of work.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 55 other followers

