My Favorite Christmas Song

I got this idea from Peter Parkour.
He posted his favorite Christmas song, so check it out.  I thought I would post mine.  The version I used is cool because the song is played to the lights flashing on and off at this guy’s house, Mr. Holdman,  who does mega decorating.  He even has a website that has a cam of his house and gives directions on how to get to his house.   It is in Utah.

Vodpod videos no longer available.

more about “My Favorite Christmas Song“, posted with vodpod
I had a helluva time posting this video through WordPress and finally had to use Vod Pod.
11 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. javajunkee
    Dec 05, 2008 @ 15:20:16

    I love watching that stuff but would NOT want to live next door to it going on all the time. I’d have a freakin seizure!

    That definitely would be hard to live next door to. I guess he does turn the lights off at 10:00PM but even then you would have to close curtains just to not see the flashing lights all evening.

    Reply

  2. Emerald
    Dec 05, 2008 @ 15:50:32

    Word to this guy! I LOOOOVE over the top stuff!

    My favourite Christmas song is ‘River’ by…um…Robert Downey Jr.

    Oh God, so embarassing!

    I’ll have to go listen to that one. I can’t imagine Robert Downey, Jr. singing anything.

    Reply

  3. Peter Parkour
    Dec 05, 2008 @ 16:04:49

    That is the coolest light display I have ever seen, and a very good song too. 😉 Thanks for the props.

    I’m going to have to drive around and see what my town has to offer for lights and take some photos but I doubt I will be topping that video.

    Reply

  4. Joy
    Dec 05, 2008 @ 18:16:31

    This was just beautiful. I so enjoyed it. Did the new dashboard make you have to do this different. I have used vod pod before but it’s so much easier just to copy and past the URL. I’m still exploring the new dashboard.

    The new dashboard wouldn’t let me load a You Tube video. I tried every which way so I tried Vod Pod and it worked but it’s a pain to do. I’m glad you enjoyed the video.

    Reply

  5. thebeadden
    Dec 05, 2008 @ 19:05:25

    I have seen that before, Joan. I could watch it a millions times over. They say when our time has come, we choose what our heaven is. That would be mine. 🙂 24/7
    That guy is the best! Thanks for making my day!

    I am glad you enjoyed it. I had a feeling you would of all people. You definitely have the Christmas spirit!!

    Reply

  6. Amy Hunter
    Dec 05, 2008 @ 19:16:57

    I love Carol of the Bells. It’s one of my favorites, too! One of my favorites is by Moya Brennan from her album An Irish Christmas.

    I will have to listen to Moya Brennan. I love finding new music. “Carol of the Bells” is also my daughter’s favorite song. When she was a teenager and helping me clean for Christmas one year I had to go buy it. She said she needed to hear it while she was cleaning.

    Reply

  7. Amy Hunter
    Dec 05, 2008 @ 19:18:27

    I meant to say that one of my favorite versions of the song is by Moya Brennan. My brain is going faster than my fingers tonight!

    Reply

  8. duskydi
    Dec 06, 2008 @ 03:36:18

    Oh Joan – How fantastic is this. WOW ! just WOW !
    This man Mr Holden is amazing for geting that beautiful display together. How talentered is he.

    I could pitch a tent and live in the middle of it all for a month. hehe! dancing in and out of the trees.

    I feel stupid saying this but… I’ve never heard that christmas song before, is it an American song or something or do we have it here in England to. I’ve missed this song. Its beautiful. Thank you Joans Of Songs.

    Love Di.

    I’m smiling – Joans Of Songs. I told you that you were Joans Of everything didn’t I. Its the ( Of ) that does it for me. I hope I don’t do your head in with all the ( ofs ) x

    Here is some history of the song “Carol Of The Bells”.
    The song is based on a traditional folk chant whose language was thought to have magical properties because of the manner in which it manipulated the number 3. The original traditional Ukrainian text used a device known as hemiola in the rhythm (alternating the accents within each measure from 3/4 to 6/8 and back again). The chant based on an ostinato four-note pattern within the range of a minor third is thought to be of prehistoric origins and was associated with the coming New Year which in Ukraine before the introduction of Christianity was originally celebrated in April.

    I love the “Ofs”. Makes me feel special.

    I’m glad you enjoyed the video and the song. Here are the words to the song:

    Hark how the bells,
    sweet silver bells,
    all seem to say,
    throw cares away

    Christmas is here,
    bringing good cheer,
    to young and old,
    meek and the bold,

    Ding dong ding dong
    that is their song
    with joyful ring
    all caroling

    One seems to hear
    words of good cheer
    from everywhere
    filling the air

    Oh how they pound,
    raising the sound,
    o’er hill and dale,
    telling their tale,

    Gaily they ring
    while people sing
    songs of good cheer,
    Christmas is here,

    Merry, merry, merry, merry Christmas,
    Merry, merry, merry, merry Christmas,

    On on they send,
    on without end,
    their joyful tone
    to every home

    Ding dong ding dong… dong!

    Love
    Joan of Mums

    Reply

  9. duskydi
    Dec 06, 2008 @ 03:38:02

    Vod Pod.

    No idea what that is – sounds German.

    hehe !!

    Vod Pod is a program that helps you put videos on your blog because I couldn’t get WordPress to work. It does sound German.

    Love
    Joan of Mums

    Reply

  10. Trackback: Carol Of The Bells - Holdman Christmas Display « * * * HATE ~ & ~ ANGER * * *
  11. javaqueen
    Dec 06, 2008 @ 05:13:18

    Are you serious? This is for real? How does he ever do this. I am going to have to go check out his site. I LOVE what Double J said up there- about having to live next door to it, you’d have to get room darkening shades for night and tape the seams so no light squeaks in. It’d be like sleeping facing a blinking alarm clock….

    Gosh, leave it to her to point that out 🙂

    Wonderful find, I had never seen this!
    xoxoxoxox

    I’ve been watching his cam on his website for a few years now. I guess his electrical bill goes way up at Christmas. I wouldn’t mind having it down the street from me but I am not sure about next door.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

