Electricity and Snow!

 

I wrote this yesterday so you will know that the snowstorm actually happened the day before.

 

You don’t realize how much you really need electricity until you lose it. We got a snowstorm yesterday and about 6:30 PM just as I was going to make rice we lost our electricity. I had made boneless pork chops with sweet potatoes and pineapples in the crock pot. We ended up eating it in the dark without rice. Fortunately I had kerosene lanterns. Within 10 minutes of losing our power I was bored. I hate it, I mean I really hate not being able to get online. One minute you have the world at your fingertips and the next minute you are in a cold dark house.

banner_electricity

I ended up reading by the lantern which was somewhat difficult because I can’t see all that well on a good day. I finally went to bed around midnight, early for me but I was bored ( and by now fairly blind from reading in the near dark). All night long I heard noises: snow falling down the roof, branches crashing into my car and big wooden swing, people knocking at my bedroom door ( the wasband said it was a woodpecker banging on the house). I had crazy dreams. Then I heard voices. I thought angels were speaking to me but it was Barry and Obie cleaning off the cars.

By early morning my mind was roiling (Yes, roiling is a word. I know because I had to look it up.) With a roiling mind I got up to no electricity. How could this be? With all our technology and I am sitting in a cold dark house without hot coffee. Fortunately Barry needed coffee in the morning so he and I set out to find hot coffee and breakfast. We ended up at Dunkin Donuts because they have a new weight watchers breakfast.

dunkindonutseggwhitesandwic

At this point we decided there was no reason to go home so Barry took me on a 4 hour drive. We had a great time bird watching from the car because I don’t do bird watching any other way. We saw a lot of cool birds. I guess they were cool. In the birder’s world who’s to know.

Barry took this photo on our ride.

img_0253

When we got home , Lo and Behold we had electricity. The first thing I did–Yes, you guessed it, I got online.

25 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. teeni
    Dec 21, 2008 @ 12:08:57

    Oh, I’m sorry you lost electricity – that really stinks. I know how you feel though when you suddenly have the dear internes yanked away from you. Yikes. I get withdrawal sympoms. LOL. It snowed here all day yesterday and is still coming down today. So we didn’t get the foot on Friday that we expected but we certainly have it NOW. LOL.

    That picture that your wasband took is absolutely freaking gorgeous. What a beautiful shot and a glorious scene! 🙂

    Reply

  2. Little Miss
    Dec 21, 2008 @ 12:37:11

    I’m glad your electricity is back on. We miss you when you are gone! Fortunately, where I live, all the power lines are buried underground so I never lose power. My daughter does sometimes and they have to come stay here for a bit. So far, where they live now they haven’t lost power.

    It’s still snowing here and we are under almost a foot of snow now. And under that is about an inch of solid ice. Freezing rain is predicted later in the week.

    What is up with this weather?

    And what is up with Dunkin Donuts? That’s the last place I’d expect to see a WW recipe. Was it any good? I think I’d be too tempted to forgo the WW and go for the maple bar – one of my pitfalls…that, and good old fashioned oil-popped popcorn.

    Reply

  3. Joy
    Dec 21, 2008 @ 12:56:46

    I saw you guys on the news last night and thought of you. We have blizzard warning too. What a drag. We had a family gathering and my nephew Eric is here on leave with his new baby and we aren’t going to be able to meet him this trip. I was very sad. I’ll live but I wanted to hold that dear baby. But, I didn’t want them to travel in that. To many “what ifs.”

    It’s still cold today but not snowing so we’ll see what happens. I also had one of my cats go outside and we haven’t seen him since. My poor husband keeps going to look for him and I’m thinking the worst. It’s to cold for him to be out unless…..keep your fingers crossed.

    I love the photo Barry took and I’m glad you got out of the house. It’s a nice way to pass the time.

    Reply

  4. laura
    Dec 21, 2008 @ 14:32:00

    I absolutely hate losing power and it seems to always happen at night and then I can’t find my candles or matches, and I don’t have a wind up alarm clock so then of course I can’t sleep because how the hell am I supposed to know it’s time to get up… The Wasbund truly has a gift, his pictures are fabulous.

    Reply

  5. Hannah
    Dec 21, 2008 @ 15:44:05

    I don’t like losing electricity because I can’t use my computer!!! But other than that, it can sometimes be quite fun. We have a wood burning fireplace which we can use to cook food on, and I love having candles lit everywhere. It’s exciting 🙂
    Of course it’s not fun when the power is out for AGES! A couple of hours is okay, but no longer!

    Reply

  6. Joy
    Dec 21, 2008 @ 16:44:39

    FYI, our cat came walking through the door an hour ago and we were fussing over him and he looked at us like “what’s your problem!!” All is well.

    Reply

  7. croneandbearit
    Dec 21, 2008 @ 18:03:13

    I’m glad you are back in business, electricity-wise. I hate it when the power goes out. Boring, boring. A couple of months ago we had the remnants of Hurricane Ike blow through here and we lost power for several days – it was a nightmare having to boil water on the grill just to make coffee. And I couldn’t see well enough by candlelight to actually do homework, let alone try and bathe or put on face spackle! I am cranky without my modern conveniences.

    Reply

  8. mvobsession
    Dec 21, 2008 @ 18:58:40

    Hate, hate, hate losing electricity and in our area we lose it a lot. The longest was 23 hours… on a clear day no less.

    Yes, boredom sets in almost immediately…especially if it’s in the evening and it’s dark outside. Can’t read, can’t cook, can’t get online, it’s all such a bother.

    Glad you got out and got your coffee and took some nice pics. I usually just stay at home, wait for the electricity to come on and then start resetting clocks and timers.

    Here’s to power 🙂

    Reply

  9. sheng
    Dec 21, 2008 @ 19:49:25

    Let there be light! And there was light. It always sucks noh? when there’s no electricity?

    Reply

  10. birdpress
    Dec 21, 2008 @ 20:53:12

    Oh, I hate losing power too. I’m lost without internet, even if I don’t want to be online. I need to know that it’s there if I want or need it. Strange how we’ve come to be so reliant on it, isn’t it?

    Reply

  11. javajunkee
    Dec 21, 2008 @ 22:47:06

    we didn’t get as much ice as we were supposed to. All night long I heard noises too..sounded like the whole friggin roof was gonna go. Then I wondered if my walls were cracking. Glad to know other people were hearing noises too. And am glad to see you back up and running.
    Supposed to get like -35 here and like I said on my blog..after zero does it friggin matter how down it goes? HELL.NO!

    Reply

  12. threeboys1mommy
    Dec 22, 2008 @ 01:15:28

    My goodness that’s a beautiful picture Joanie or Barry, makes me shiver a little. My neck of the woods isn’t equipped for weather, we can’t have a little rain storm without losing power.

    Reply

  13. museditions
    Dec 22, 2008 @ 01:35:22

    I’ve been thinking about your area and you bloggers therein. I know what you mean about that disconnected feeling. Still! You had a hot dinner! (even without the rice) and a nice breakfast! (Dunkin’ Donuts has WW?!?) and, it sounds like, a really lovely drive. Yay!

    Reply

  14. Just a Mom
    Dec 22, 2008 @ 11:28:56

    That is an awesome picture the Wasband took.
    I can deal with losing power in the summer. I can not even imagine losing power in the winter!

    Reply

  15. Karen
    Dec 22, 2008 @ 13:44:09

    Wow–that was some snow! I’m so with you on this–I FREAK when there’s no electricity! I can’t stand it! But I do like the idea of that lovely four hour drive…

    Reply

  16. kilax
    Dec 22, 2008 @ 16:57:07

    Oh my gosh. I cannot imagine being without electricity for that long. I am so spoiled. I am happy it was on when you went back. The photo from your drive is beautiful!

    Reply

  17. Wendy
    Dec 22, 2008 @ 19:20:18

    Thank God you’re plugged in again! But seriously, being without electricity is so depressing. Glad you’re back!

    Reply

  18. lupusranting
    Dec 23, 2008 @ 10:09:11

    Glad you’re back in business, nice and warm! What an adventure 🙂

    Great photo, by the way!

    Reply

  19. thegirlfromtheghetto
    Dec 23, 2008 @ 12:16:47

    Oooh, I love that picture, how cool!

    Reply

  20. Sandra
    Dec 23, 2008 @ 16:23:21

    Merry Christmas, Joan, to you and your family! Hope it’s a good one and it looks like a white Christmas too 🙂

    Reply

  21. thebeadden
    Dec 23, 2008 @ 18:38:20

    It looks like you ended up having a nice day after all. I’m so far behind in blogging and reading! Just wanted to stop by and wish you all a Merry Christmas and Happy New Year!

    Reply

  22. jeanny
    Dec 23, 2008 @ 23:07:30

    Lovely Photo Joan. I love it 🙂

    Merry Christmas to you and the whole family.

    Love,
    Jeanny

    Reply

  23. JavaQueen
    Dec 24, 2008 @ 03:38:22

    I love the pic Barry took- when the snow is all chunky on the branches like that……

    I’m glad you are back up and running! I hope you have a wonderful Christmas together 🙂 Love you!

    Reply

  24. Peter Parkour
    Dec 24, 2008 @ 10:25:07

    Merry Christmas, Joan! 😀

    Reply

  25. dragonfly3085
    Dec 26, 2008 @ 09:44:23

    Ahh the snow storm…. I heard a lot of people in the Falmouth area lost power, however us over at CVS did NOT unfortunately. So I was there selling every last shovel, candle and lighter I could find. I’m sorry that you lost power though!

    I do love the way the snow looks when it absolutely covers EVERYTHING and the world you thought you knew looks strange and new. I’m glad it’s melted and gone though! Gotta love New England! 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

