My Intentions are Good!!

I go through this every Christmas.  About the middle of November I get all excited about making crafts and baking for the Holidays.  I plan ahead and then suddenly it’s Christmas and I have hardly anything finished.  How does Christmas just crawl in on me without me knowing it?

santablog

Here I am tonight trying to finish all the cookies we should have done by now.  Sarah did tons of baking but we still don’t have enough and she doesn’t have any more days off until Christmas.

Well, it’s OK, I work fairly well under pressure.  Barry and I went to Target to finish up my Christmas shopping this morning and now I am making chocolate covered spoons.

We decorated the tree on Tuesday night.

trtree3

The tree is smaller than what we usually buy but it is still a good size.  Barry and Sarah even put lights on some of the bushes outside.

I’m one of those people who hurrys to get everything done but actually doesn’t seem to get anything done.

Well, I am going to go make some more chocolate peanut butter balls and somehow not eat any.  Oh, I almost forgot, we are supposed to get a foot of snow tomorrow.   Maybe we will actually have” A White Christmas”.

I’ll leave you with one of my all time Christmas songs.  I especially love this version with David Bowie and Bing Crosby.

I have to put this song on too.   Bing singing  “White Christmas”.

16 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. croneandbearit
    Dec 18, 2008 @ 19:30:31

    Every year I tell myself I’ll start planning early and every year I run out of time and don’t complete various holiday projects. Then a year ago I retired and I knew that finally I would have all the time in the world to get everything done in time for Christmas. Silly me – this holiday season has just been a comedy of errors! So I take comfort in knowing that I can hope for better results next Christmas and just be glad I have the tree up and decorated and the gifts wrapped! Love your blog. Cheers, Linda

    Ha! Ha! I retired too and thought I would have so much time—NOT! I guess we are both silly!! Welcome to my little slice of the blogosphere and thanks for stopping by. I finally got all the presents bought but I have yet to wrap them. I think I spend too much time blogging but I am addicted. I just made chocolate peanut butter balls and have more on my shirt than in the bowl. Cheers to you too, Linda!!

    Reply

  2. sheng
    Dec 18, 2008 @ 19:57:03

    Everything is so Christmasy now, hmmm, it’s making me teary-eyed, love you Joanie, Merr Christmas! Cheers to blogging!

    Oh, Sheng, you are just the sweetest!! Love you too, how could I not. You have such a good heart. And yes, Cheers to blogging!!!

    Reply

  3. Sandra
    Dec 18, 2008 @ 20:08:29

    Haha, that’s a great cartoon you posted here, Joan!

    Love your Christmas tree for two reasons

    1) It is real
    2) That it is eclectic, not themed. Somewhat like ours, lol.
    Love the Bowie/Crosby carol. And Bing singing White Christmas reminds me of my Dad. He would always sing along when it was on the radio.

    Not that we have ever had one in this country, lol, being summer. Only White Christmas we ever had was the sweet/slice Mum used to make.

    Hey, take it easy. Don’t work too hard. 🙂

    I have to have a real tree. I would rather have no tree if I couldn’t get a real one. Some of my ornaments used to be on my parent’s tree and are about 60 years old. Others we have bought one by one over the years with nothing in mind other than we loved them. Many were gifts. Every year when we put up the ornaments Sarah will tell the story of how we got each one. Every one has some meaning.

    My Dad used to sing with the radio too. What a nice memory

    Reply

  4. teeni
    Dec 18, 2008 @ 20:49:50

    Oh, I love David Bowie and Bing. I had forgotten how wonderful each of their voices is.

    I have those same good intentions, Joan. I actually start thinking of all the things I’m going to do back in June but then talk myself out of starting because it’s way too early and who can even think of that stuff then. Then I think about it again around September and put it off. Before you know it, it’s Thanksgiving and I know I’m screwed. LOL. I guess the only way I’ll ever succeed is if I listen to myself back in June and get working early. Or maybe I could start back in January and be all done by June! LOL. I can’t see your first two pictures so I’ll have to come back and check later.

    I think my Bing Crosby Christmas CD is one of my favorites. I love the “White Christmas” movie too. I have to watch that every year.

    Some day I am going to get everything done early. I just don’t know when that day will be.

    Reply

  5. trishatruly
    Dec 18, 2008 @ 21:13:52

    Nice tree, Joan. Maybe you could hang some of your cookies on there, too. We used to string popcorn and cranberries but the mice are too aggressive here in PA to leave food on a tree! LOL

    When I was younger we used to string popcorn and cranberries too. We have cranberry bogs right near my house. I just never find the time to do it these days. My three cats take care of the mice so I really don’t have a good excuse because let’s face it I don’t even work. I just spend too much time in blogland.

    Reply

  6. thebeadden
    Dec 18, 2008 @ 21:14:56

    Story of my life…glad I’m not alone! 😉
    Remember, it’s the thought that counts, right? I’m sure Damon won’t mind waiting.

    Can’t wait to hear how the spoons turnout!
    Take Care!

    The spoons came out fabulous. I sprinkled broken up candy canes on some and drizzled white chocolate on others. I am going to wrap a piece of raffia around three or four of them. I used chocolate morsels instead of Bakers chocolate. Yummy!!

    Reply

  7. thegirlfromtheghetto
    Dec 18, 2008 @ 21:16:44

    I just finished all of my wrapping, and couldn’t be happier! Whew! People who bake cookies are crazy. I did 60 cookies last week and thought I was going to croak. I don’t have the strength for that much baking.

    We are getting a foot of snow tomorrow, too. Not looking forward to the drive in. But I love the snow! So pretty

    We have made 360 chocolate chip cookies and four other types of goodies. I bet in all we have made 1000 pieces and I am not exaggerating. My daughter has done most of it but I am going to finish it up because she has a cold. I haven’t even started wrapping. I’m glad I don’t have too drive anywhere tomorrow.

    Reply

  8. teeni
    Dec 18, 2008 @ 21:20:25

    Oh, I’m back and I can see the pictures now. LOL. The cartoon is funny and your tree is beautiful. You must have gotten the nicest one from the lot! 🙂

    You know how I don’t like Wal-mart. Well, I was with Sarah and Barry when we bought the tree and they got it at Wal-Mart for $20. It really is a nice one and the price was certainly right.

    Reply

  9. fightingwindmills
    Dec 18, 2008 @ 21:34:55

    That’s awesome that you did the spoons! I thought that was such a great idea when I read about it on beadden’s blog. Your tree looks beautiful. Thanks for sharing the photo!

    I used a lot of Beadden’s ideas. I really have her to thank for hooking me up with great ideas for home made gifts. I even saved some of her ideas for next year. The spoons were so easy to make.

    Reply

  10. Hannah
    Dec 18, 2008 @ 21:47:54

    I am the same – I have great intentions, and every January I tell myself that I WILL start my Christmas shopping in June, make Christmas cards in August, and bake cookies in October (to freeze). Never do it.
    I haven’t sent any cards this year, I am so slack!

    Your tree looks wonderful, and so different to the real Christmas trees we have here in NZ (we have native pine trees, which have bigger branches … but I like yours better).

    Chocolate dipped spoons sound great!

    So it is tomorrow morning where you are. I always get such a big kick out of the time difference between us. I’ll have to look up New Zealand Christmas trees to see what they look like.

    Reply

  11. threeboys1mommy
    Dec 19, 2008 @ 01:17:29

    Christmas is sneaky isn’t it… just creeps up on you. I didn’t decorate for the boys because I couldn’t find our stuff! How un Super right?

    I thought for sure Supermom would be decorating like crazy. Oh well, there’s always next year.

    Reply

  12. Joy
    Dec 19, 2008 @ 12:16:30

    You HAVE to tell me what chocolate covered spoons are. I’m dying to know. They sound so neat. I have good intentions and somehow I always manage to be ready but how I get there is another story. My problem is I start shopping so early that I feel a sense of “I don’t need that much” so then I wait to long and worry. Oh well, it’s good to know I’m not alone.

    We have a foot of snow heading this way starting this afternoon. I’m glad it’s coming on the weekend so I won’t have to worry about anyone driving. I’m secretly happy about it. I got all of us snow-shoes for Christmas and the kids will flip out.

    Love your tree. I ended up get an artificial tree three years ago. I never thought I would but my husband can’t help me anymore and with it all up to me, I couldn’t do it all myself. I bought a really good one and nobody that see’s it can tell. When my husband could help me I would never have gotten it but I just can’t do it alone. I guess you do what you gotta do.

    I melted some chocolate morsels and you dip a plastic spoon into the chocolate. I sprinkled some with crushed candy canes to give them a minty flavor. Others I drizzled melted white chocolate on them. Then you can use the spoon to stir into hot chocolate, coffee or whatever to give it a nice flavor. I wrapped three of them with raffia and they make a nice homemade gift.

    I’m fortunate I have my peeps to decorate my tree. Even when my daughter didn’t live with me she would buy and decorate my tree. She was horrified I might get a fake one. I probably would if I was all alone.

    We have a foot of snow heading our way too. We’ve already got a couple of inches. I love snow.

    Reply

  13. Trackback: Bing Crosby - White Christmas « * * * HATE ~ & ~ ANGER * * *
  14. Emerald
    Dec 19, 2008 @ 15:39:10

    That duet with Bing Crosby has to be one of the smartest career moves David Bowie ever made.

    And I hear you on the last minute rush. I thought I was done! Not so much. I can’t figure out what to get for my friends uber-geek husband (I’m not a super geek, what do you get for the kind of guy that gets a terrabyte of harddrive space from his wife and thinks its terribly romantic?) so I opted to get him a couple of packs of cigarettes (I don’t smoke, but he does, and they’re SO expensive in Canada, like ten bucks a pack) and I’m going to decoupage the outside with Tron pictures. He’ll love it 😛

    Good luck with the crafting! 😀

    What a great gift you are giving the uber-geek. I love that you are going to decoupage the Tron pictures on the packs. People who smoke must go broke with cigarettes at that price.

    Reply

  15. Just a Mom
    Dec 19, 2008 @ 17:17:23

    Great tree and I love the Crosby videos. Just classic!
    I love the chocolate covered spoons idea. I will have to keep them in mind for next year.

    Reply

  16. joann
    Dec 20, 2008 @ 20:00:23

    Throw me some of those cookies …I ‘ll eat some and save the rest for strippin Santa !!! By God I’ve Got to get that man’s clothes off sometime before Xmas !! I love David B. and Bing singing together.I remember seeing that on Bing C. Xmas special ! How old do I feel? My kids were 13-15 yrs.old .! I finally bought the colorized version of Holiday Inn and it was worth it – loved the B&W version BUT the color just adds to the mood of that time perod . sigh….. Thanks for reminding me of homebaked cookies and Bing Crosby Christmas’es…it was always enough to bring the spirit in .

    Reply

Leave a Reply

