It’s a Wonderful Life!

I have to admit, life has been good to me over the last year. After going through some rough years I was beginning to wonder when things might fall into place.  I finally feel at ease with my life and I am really happy about that.  Don’t get be wrong I don’t sleep on a bed of roses nor would I want to.  I can’t even imagine how that could be a good thing what with the thorns and all but Life is good.

And I will make thee beds of roses
And a thousand fragrant posies,
A cap of flowers, and a kirtle
Embroidered all with leaves of myrtle

So I went to the Vineyard with Sarah on Saturday.  I stayed up in the apartment until she got out of work and then we went to see the play  “It’s a Wonderful Life”.  It was excellent.  They did it as if it were a radio play back in the 40’s. You could see the special effects guy making all the sounds as if he were in the radio station.  They even sang little radio commercials in between acts.

The next day we went shopping.  We went to a beautiful sheep farm where they sold nice gifts, to a chocolate store ( I stayed in the car), and we did a lot of shopping in Vineyard Haven.

Vineyard Haven.  You can see Sarah’s store across the street.

vineyard-haven1

Sarah and I

sarah-and-me1
On Monday Sarah and the Wasband and I went to the Imax theater to see   “The Day The Earth Stood Still”.  I enjoyed it but I liked the original version better.

This is a video of Barry trying to push the wheel chair up the ramp at the mall while trying to tell Sarah of our last trip here with Leslie when we went to see Waterfire in Providence. On that trip he and I ended up hysterically laughing because he couldn’ t seem to push me up the hill.

Sarah and I still have a lot of baking and making of gifts to do.  I can’t believe Christmas is next week.  We have our tree up but we will decorate it tonight.  Sarah and Barry did outdoor lights last night. It’s getting to feel a lot like Christmas.

18 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Sandra
    Dec 16, 2008 @ 17:56:21

    So pleased to hear you had a fabulous weekend away, Joan. The play sounded fantastic and it looks a very picturesque/quaint old town.

    Love the photo of you and Sarah too.

    Vineyard Haven is definitely quaint. We really had a great time and as usual Sarah’s bosses were wonderful to me.

    Reply

  2. Java
    Dec 16, 2008 @ 19:07:12

    Hey girly! I want to watch the vid but came into work early tonight (double shizzle) – so I cannot watch. Sounds like you and your daughter had a blast though- they play sounds wonderful!!!
    xoxoxoxo

    Yes, we really had a great time. It was nice just getting away from home for two days.

    Reply

  3. Joy
    Dec 16, 2008 @ 19:19:28

    Oh my, that had me almost wetting my pants. It was fun laughing “with” you. You know, he’s a heck of a guy. I love the way you have stayed close. Your kids are very fortunate that it’s like that. Have a good evening and have fun “baking and making”.

    I‘m glad the wasband and I get along. It’s nice for us and nice for the kids. Tonight we ended up decorating the tree and it started snowing. We all got so excited. This means I have to make Peanut butter balls by myself tomorrow so we can catch up. Trouble with that is I can’t eat any.

    Reply

  4. sheng
    Dec 16, 2008 @ 19:40:06

    Wow, the pic of you and Sarah is a nice one, am glad you had fun.

    Thanks, Sheng.. We had a wonderful time.

    Reply

  5. Hannah
    Dec 16, 2008 @ 20:03:40

    Sounds like a lovely time spent with Sarah. The photo of both of you is lovely, you are looking amazing Joan.
    I love that photo in your header, is that the town where Sarah works? Gorgeous!

    Yes, that is Vineyard Haven where Sarah works, a very picturesque town. We had a great time. It’s nice to get away once in a while.

    Reply

  6. trishatruly
    Dec 16, 2008 @ 20:17:56

    First of all I love what you said about feeling at ease with your life. That’s so wonderful! It’s what we all wait for, isn’t it? It sometimes takes forever but when you get there its sheer bliss, knowing that your life has meaning and feeling content with things, not because they’re perfect but because you understand that sometimes shit happens and sometimes you get joy (like hearing about your daughter’s pregnancy!)

    And secondly, what a riot that video was! I cracked up watching the two of you carry on like the kids you used to be (and still are evidently!)

    You look amazing, Joan. I am so proud of you.
    🙂
    Trisha

    Yes, shit happens but I think as you get older you just learn how to deal with it so it doesn’t affect your happiness. It certainly took me a while to learn that lesson.

    Sarah is always saying that we are her kids. We always tease her that she will put us in time out if we act up which we always do. I’m surprised she was willing to walk with us because we were being so silly. Barry was pretending to hand me a cup so I would beg for money from the wheel chair. Sarah just kept walking pretending she didn’t know us.

    Thanks Trish, I am finally starting to notice the weight loss myself.

    Reply

  7. Peter Parkour
    Dec 16, 2008 @ 22:21:43

    Wow, you are looking so good, and happy to boot, but I guess you always look happy, or at least every time I see you you look happy. 🙂

    I really love your new header. What kind of super fancy high tech program do you use to make it??? None you say? Say, you could probably make me one the same way, huh? 😉 You still have until the end of tomorrow to make one, if you were wondering. 😛

    You liked the original “The Day The Earth Stood Still” better, but was this one still pretty good? I’m not sure I’ve ever seen the original. I may have to check that out, but not until I see the new one.

    The play sounded wonderful. I would love to be able to take Bunny to such a show in the future. She loves stuff like that.

    Keep smiling. You wear it well. 😀

    The new version is not getting great reviews but we all liked it. The old one is dated but still good. The story doesn’t really need special effects though the new version had some good ones.

    The header is just a photo, not even the whole photo. I’ll see if I can come up with something tomorrow, just for the heck of it.

    Well, I am happy thanks to my daughter. Not many kids would take in their mother and father so I am really blessed to have a girl like her.

    Reply

  8. teeni
    Dec 16, 2008 @ 22:56:19

    Aww, you ladies look so lovely. I’m so glad you got to get out and do some mother-daughter stuff!

    OMG – I had to laugh through the whole video right along with you. Your laugh is infectious and that was a regular giggle-fest. Good for the soul though!

    I’m so happy that life is being good to you but that you are not spoiled nor taking it for granted. I couldn’t wish for better for you! Sending happy hugs just because. 🙂

    I love doing mother/daughter stuff especially at Christmas. Yes, Barry and I have a lot of giggle fests. Sometimes Sarah will come up wondering what we could possibly find so funny. I’m sending you happy hugs right back.

    Reply

  9. birdpress
    Dec 17, 2008 @ 10:00:27

    Oh, Joan, thank you for making me laugh today! I have been feeling terrible and I really needed it. I’m so glad that life has been treating you well!

    Reply

  10. Little Miss
    Dec 17, 2008 @ 11:18:15

    You are looking wonderful, Joan. I probably would accept a bed of roses is someone made one for me because I love the smell of roses, only problem is it would be a bit messy to clean up after tossing and turning all night long. LOL.

    Isn’t it wonderful to have daughters to do things with? And wonderful ones like Sarah are really, truly a blessing. My daughters are the same way. And now she’s giving you a grandchild to boot. 🙂

    I think the rough patches we have to go through make the good times so much more priceless and valuable, don’t you? I’m glad you came out the other side so content and happy. And with your sense of humor intact. So many go through tough times and it just makes them miserable, angry victims and no fun to be around or help out.

    Reply

  11. Just a Mom
    Dec 17, 2008 @ 11:39:17

    Great video! I love how Sarah says “Just let her go!” That sounds like something I would say.
    It sounds like you had a great time just hanging out with Sarah. What a great weekend. I took my girls to a Christmas Choir concert put on by our local adult choir. They loved it and now they want to make it a tradition for just us girls. Maybe next year we will take in a play or even go see the Nutcracker.

    Reply

  12. thebeadden
    Dec 17, 2008 @ 12:05:39

    I’m so glad you a had a great time. Those are wonderful pictures!

    I like what Little Miss said about rough patches making us appreciate the good things in life. It is so true!

    And your laughter. It is infectious! I can’t help but smile every time I hear it! Thanks for sharing, Joan.

    Reply

  13. Barbara
    Dec 17, 2008 @ 12:14:33

    Barry is just too freaking funny. I love when he puts his shoulder to the chair. Oh and I love when Sarah says, “Just let her go.” –knowing she meant it.

    Sister B

    Reply

  14. David
    Dec 17, 2008 @ 12:38:15

    It IS a wonderful life isn’t it? We are both blessed with wonderful Sarah daughters!

    This was a sweet post Joan, thank you!! 🙂

    That video is hilarious. Simply hilarious. Your laugh really is infectious just like beadden says.

    Reply

  15. David
    Dec 17, 2008 @ 12:41:46

    Oh yeah, and the original Day the Earth Stood Still was just on TV and I watched it again. I agree that it’s dated but the message is as potent as ever. I’ll watch the new one when it hits Netflix. I watch anything with Jennifer Connelly. Too bad she’s been in so many crappy movies! 😦

    Reply

  16. lupusranting
    Dec 17, 2008 @ 13:23:58

    What a fantastic way to recharge! Your happy face says it all! I’m glad you’re in the holiday mood. Kudos for staying in the car during the chocolate experience. You look fantastic 🙂

    Reply

  17. javajunkee
    Dec 17, 2008 @ 15:22:32

    oh my gosh I too am laughing with you! And is that Sarah saying “oh just let her go?” ROFLMAO! You guys are a riot!

    Reply

  18. threeboys1mommy
    Dec 19, 2008 @ 01:13:43

    I think wasband is getting you a Little Rascal for Christmas 😉

    I hate the IMAX… well I like the experience but I hate hiking to my seat.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

