2 Pounds- Now I Can Listen To Music From the 70’s

I had my weight watcher’s meeting this morning and I lost two more pounds. Thank goodness!!! I am now in the 70’s. And I mean that in more ways than one. By the 70’s I mean I have gone down from the 280’s to the 270’s after starting out at a whopping 344 pounds. I think the kids were starting to think about what crane company they were going to use to haul me out of the house when I hit 400.

Being in the 70’s also means I can now listen to 70’s music. When I hit the 90’s I would only listen to music from the 90’s. When I hit the 80’s I would only listen to music from the 80’s. And now I am in the 70’s and can listen to my favorite music. I love music from the 70’s so I hope I don’t dwell in the 70’s for too long just for the music. Thank goodness I love 60’s music too. I am a wannabe flower child. No disco for me.

I’d actually like to dress like an old hippie. I found some cool websites with vintage 60’s clothing. I can see it now.

dashiki-dress.jpg

hippie-dress.jpg

My daughter is really going to think I’ve gone off the deep end if I start wearing clothes like the above. But then we all know our roles our reversed here. She’s taken on the roll of Mom and I am the rebellious teenager who gets more rebellious as she loses weight. My daughter will have a Mom with tattoos, dressed like a hippie, and more piercings.

My top 20 groups and singers from the late 60’s (I wanted to do top ten but I just couldn’t. I liked too many and this really doesn’t even cover everyone from that era) : This is what I have to look forward to when I lose ten more pounds. These are in no particular order. I just couldn’t pick one over the other. I have all of these on vinyl.

1. Cream

2. Creedence Clearwater Revival

3. Grateful Dead

4. The Band

5. The Allman Brothers

6. Big Brother & the Holding Company

7. Jefferson Airplane

8. Canned Heat

9. Joe Cocker

10. Jimi Hendricks

11. The Doors

12. Country Joe & The Fish

13. Steve Miller Band

14. Procol Harum

15. Leon Russell

16. Santana

17. Iron Butterfly

18. Fleetwood Mac

19. Jethro Tull

20.Led Zeppelin

All of the above groups had at least one album out in the sixties and most of them played at Woodstock 1969woodstock-poster.jpg

That was the year I got married and Woodstock was going on during our honeymoon. We almost went but we heard on the radio about the traffic and decided to go to Canada instead. I wish now we had gone to Woodstock but I probably wouldn’t have liked all the mud and rain. We had all our camping stuff with us because we had very little money and camped out during our honeymoon.

WEDDING PHOTOS

my-wedding.jpgThe Wasband and I

me-and-my-dad.jpgMy Dad and I

barb-and-nancy.jpgMy sister, Barbara, on the left and my best friend, Nancy, on the right.

We didn’t have a professional photographer so we don’t have many photos. We had a great wedding though and a wonderful honeymoon. I can only find one photo of the honeymoon. The rest are packed away somewhere.

honeymoon.jpgHoneymoon. We went to Nova Scotia, Prince Edward Island, New Brunswick and Quebec. The sign says “Just Married” and that was the tiny tent we slept in.

I don’t know how this went from losing two pounds to my wedding. I always seem to go in all directions. Might as well post my engagement photo. The only professional photo I’ve ever had done.

engagement-photo.jpgI was 19 years old.

33 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Little Miss
    Mar 29, 2008 @ 22:13:18

    Congratulations Joan on the weight loss. That’s incredibly awesome. I should do something like that (with the music) but first I don’t listen to much music and right now, I’d have to listen to 30s music. What the hell music is that? I have no idea. LOL

    Reply

  2. joanharvest
    Mar 29, 2008 @ 22:25:09

    @ Little Miss
    I am somewhat familiar with 40’s music but hopefully soon enough I will learn about 30’s music because I have no idea about it. I love the Big Bands from the 40’s: Glenn Miller and such. But I have to lose 40 some pounds before I hit the 30’s. I guess I’ll have to do some research on it. My daughter made me a CD of 60’s music but won’t give it to me until I’m in the 60’s.

    Reply

  3. kaylee2
    Mar 29, 2008 @ 23:15:12

    CONGRATS JOAN SO PROUD OF you!!!!!!!!!

    Reply

  4. teeni
    Mar 30, 2008 @ 00:03:35

    Joan – congrats on losing the weight – that is fantastic and not easy to do. I have to admit I actually like disco (good for dancing to) and I was a rollerskating babe back in the day. LOL. I actually lost 20 pounds dancing to it before. But we each have our own tastes so whatever works for you. Love the photos. You are a cutie!

    Reply

  5. thegirlfromtheghetto
    Mar 30, 2008 @ 03:00:40

    Great post, I loved that you slept in a tent on your honeymoon. It sounded very fun! And, my god, congrats. My BFF is close to your weight and has struggled her whole life. I’m glad to hear that you are battling this and winning. And, I just saw Leon Russel in concert like 3 years ago.

    Reply

  6. Peter Parkour
    Mar 30, 2008 @ 06:43:17

    Way to go on the weight loss. I put on a few pounds while hope this last week, but I’m still down from where I started. I’ve still got a little ways to go before I catch up with you.

    Reply

  7. Peter Parkour
    Mar 30, 2008 @ 06:44:48

    HOME, while HOME this last week.

    You’d think I’d start proof reading before hitting the submit button. Nah, too easy. šŸ˜‰

    Reply

  8. Wendy
    Mar 30, 2008 @ 13:16:40

    I have so much to say about this blog, I need some time to formulate my thoughts.

    @ Peter Parkour – I constantly hit the send button without proofing my comment, then wish I hadn’t. I’m going to start doing what I’ve seen Moonbeam do when she realizes she had a typo or a missing word. She follows it up with this comment: Please edit that in your head. For some reason I find that laugh-out-loud hilarious. I think that in our blogosphere we should adopt this practice of requesting Please edit that in your head.

    Reply

  9. Lucky
    Mar 30, 2008 @ 15:56:11

    LOL @ Peter and Wendy!

    Joan – YAY for two pounds and moving into a new music category!! What a GREAT way to reward yourself! You know, I really like that yellow dress. It’s very pretty! šŸ™‚ I love all these photographs. My favorite is the one of y’all camping!

    Reply

  10. joanharvest
    Mar 30, 2008 @ 20:01:22

    @ Kaylee
    Thank you Kaylee.

    @ Teenie
    I was a cutie and I will be again. I figure 125 more pounds to lose. That’s a lot of music to listen to.

    @thegirlfromthe ghetto
    That tent was so small and we didn’t have air mattresses. But we had a blast.

    @ Peter
    Well, home is where the good food is.

    @Wendy
    How did you like that photo of Barbara? That was taken almost 39 years ago and she hasn’t hardly changed a bit. I can’t wait to hear your thoughts on this post.

    @Lucky
    Actually I like the yellow one too. The music thing is fun. My daughter just put a mix CD together for me but she hasn’t given it to me yet. We camped all the time when we were young. My son went on his first camping trip when he was 8 months old and my daughter was 3 years old. We had a bigger tent then.

    Reply

  11. Hannah
    Mar 30, 2008 @ 21:07:56

    You are so inspiring – 70 pounds! I just love the idea of listening to music from the corresponding decade. How fun! I wish you all the very best for your continued weight loss success. You are obviously very motivated and have set yourself some great goals & rewards, so no doubt you will get there.

    I’m adding your blog to my blogroll! I’ll be back šŸ™‚

    Reply

  12. David Levine
    Mar 30, 2008 @ 21:18:58

    Oh my god you were such a little pixie! Such adorable photos! Thanks for posting them.

    I dig old hippie chick clothes. I hope you will wear patchouli too. I LOVE that scent!

    Reply

  13. joanharvest
    Mar 30, 2008 @ 23:36:45

    Having owned a health food store I am very familiar with patchouli. I do love the scent along with Sandlewood, and many others. Thanks for the compliments. They keep me going to lose the weight. I want to be a Hippie Pixie again.

    Reply

  14. joanharvest
    Mar 30, 2008 @ 23:40:59

    @ Hannah
    Thanks for adding me to your blogroll. I have already added you to mine. It’s nice to know someone from New Zealand. It’s a beautiful place I would like to travel to someday.

    Reply

  15. Wendy
    Mar 31, 2008 @ 00:35:44

    Dear Pixie Family,
    Joan, you looked absolutely adorable on your wedding day, and it was so very nice to see Soupy again. Barbara’s photo (which was beautiful by the way) actually scared the hell out of me. Just as you said, HER LOOKS HAVEN’T CHANGED. What the hell is up with that?

    Is Barbara one of those new sub-species of humans who don’t age? Does she have a painting in her attic that is doing the aging for her? But you know what? Soupy didn’t change that much either, even as an old man he looked like he did in the wedding photo, so I’m starting to think he carried some anti-aging gene. If Emily and Sarah (who could be your twin) continue to not age, I’ll take this as scientific proof you’re all a sub-species of non-agers. Because I can clearly see the weight you’re losing is restoring your pixie face to it’s original form … You know what this is like? The Stolen Child; you’re all a bunch of ageless fairies and pixies in your family and I am really quite pissed off about it. šŸ˜¦
    But thanks for posting these anyway, you bastards. šŸ™‚ ♥

    Reply

  16. joanharvest
    Mar 31, 2008 @ 00:53:33

    I am laughing so much I have tears in my eyes. One of my eyes has this big black&blue mark on the eyelid. I did nothing to cause it unless I am punching myself in the eye while I sleep. I think we are all ageless fairies. That’s probably why I have so many books about fairies and so many fairy statues. Deep down inside I must know this is a true fact. Maybe when I become a witch and learn to cast spells I can turn you into a fairy pixie. I love that you called my father Soupy. That is so cool. I am LOL.

    Reply

  17. trishatruly
    Mar 31, 2008 @ 08:42:12

    Great blog! I came here because of a comment you made at Parkour’s Place. You used a word I am now confiscating forever and ever: you referred to your (ex?) as your “wasband” ! I stopped right there and came here!
    I’ll be back for more!!!

    trisha

    Reply

  18. joanharvest
    Mar 31, 2008 @ 10:27:56

    Hi trishatruly,

    I’m glad you stopped by. You are welcome to use the word “Wasband” anytime. My wasband actually lives with me and my daughter and her husband. I just met his new girlfriend who is an awesome woman. His last girlfriend dumped him and she and I are also good friends. He was dumped one other time in the 20 years we’ve been divorced and he came and lived with me then too. Actually I have the best wasband ever. He’s a good friend who is always there for me and a great father. He makes a much better wasband then a husband for me. I have lots of wasband stories on my blog. I’ll stop by your place and say Hi!!!

    Reply

  19. Wendy
    Mar 31, 2008 @ 11:05:09

    Your dad was such a good sport. I doubt you remember, but I got into this crazy argument with him once about why he stopped making soup in the summer (because John and PDO and I used to get it every day for lunch) but he’d start making it again in the fall. And I said to your dad, “What the hell is that? The Soup Solstice?” and I made him that glittery/mystical Soup Solstice sign. I think I misspelled something on it, too. But when I came in the next day he (or maybe it was you) had hung it in the shop where everyone could see it and you left it up all summer. I was so touched by that. He was a sweetheart. Although I’m still pissed off your family has the fairy gene and mine does not.
    šŸ˜¦

    Reply

  20. Wendy
    Mar 31, 2008 @ 11:11:32

    @ Barbara – How come you never wear that shade of blue anymore? I think you should replace your wardrobe with everything you can find in that color.

    Reply

  21. Wendy
    Mar 31, 2008 @ 11:13:00

    Also, the most disturbing thing about the wedding photo of you and Barry is that it looks like Barry is marrying Sarah.

    Reply

  22. Trackback: Miscellany « Random Inkings
  23. betme
    Mar 31, 2008 @ 12:47:18

    Wahoo on the continued weight loss! And I am happy that your mind wandered to your wedding. The pictures are fantastic.

    Reply

  24. joanharvest
    Mar 31, 2008 @ 13:00:40

    @Wendy
    We left that sign up until the store closed. We got many compliments on it over the years. When we closed up and I had people coming in to help me, someone threw it away. I would never have thrown it away because it had such a sentimental value for me. I still think about that soup sign because it reminds me of Soupy.

    I never really realized how much Sarah looks like me. Even she noticed it from those old photos.

    @Betme
    Thanks for the support on the weight loss. Every day I want to eat pizza and chips so now I eat Lean Cuisine pizzas and Lays fat free chips made with Olestra which gives you the runs if you eat too many. I’m glad you enjoyed the photos.

    Reply

  25. Lucky
    Mar 31, 2008 @ 13:18:29

    OMG!!! LOL @ “…Lays fat free chips made with Olestra which gives you the runs if you eat too many.” Mental note taken.

    Reply

  26. David
    Mar 31, 2008 @ 18:41:10

    Dammit, Wendy took my comment about how much your daughter looks like you! It’s really a striking resemblance.

    Reply

  27. kaylee2
    Mar 31, 2008 @ 21:05:20

    will send you an email soon i just dont want to be alive right now lol!

    Reply

  28. Barbara
    Mar 31, 2008 @ 21:57:09

    I haven’t seen these pictures in ages. Joan was so damned cute. I’d forgotten how cute she was, and at the rate she’s losing weight, she’ll be an awesome cutie again in a year.

    Reply

  29. joanharvest
    Apr 01, 2008 @ 11:14:17

    @Lucky
    Watch out for that Olestra stuff. I can tolerate one serving without a problem.

    @David
    Everyone but me sees the resemblance. I look in the mirror now and don’t see it. I look at pictures of me when I was young and I’m still not sure if I see it.

    @Kaylee
    I hope you are having a better day. I’m around if you want to talk. E-mail me when you feel like it.

    @ Sister B
    Oh, thank you Sister B. You represent our Pixie family so well. You never age.

    Reply

  30. CuriousC
    Apr 03, 2008 @ 11:48:57

    Awesome. šŸ™‚

    Reply

  31. Trackback: The Entertainment Meme « Whatever I think
  32. kaila
    Jun 14, 2008 @ 05:39:25

    you are just as gorgous now as you were then šŸ™‚ and congradulations !!

    Reply

  33. joanharvest
    Jun 14, 2008 @ 08:34:46

    @ kaila
    Welcome Kaila and than you so much for the compliment. I’m blushing or having another hot flash. Who Knows? I leave for weight watchers in 10 minutes. I think I ate too much birthday food.

    Reply

Leave a comment