A Story About Pinkletinks and Pink Bell-Bottom Pants

I have been waiting since last spring to hear the pinkletinks (Spring Peepers) again. See my blog about my vernal pool which explains a lot about pinkletinks.

About 9:30 PM Eastern Daylight Savings Time, my wasband told me he heard one lone Pinkletink. I ran outside. When I say ran, don’t take that literally. I went as fast as my cane would allow so as not to fall on my ass. It had stopped singing so I waited a few minutes and sure enough I heard him and possibly two more. It was 45 degrees tonight which is cold for them to come out but it is also late for them. Today, March 31, is the latest I have ever heard them. Tomorrow, the weather is supposed to be warmer so I am sure we will hear more and within a couple of weeks the sound will be deafening. I love it. Click here to go to Wikipedia to see and hear them.

Actually it is 1:00AM now and I can hear them from where I sit at the computer. Or my tinnitus (ringing in the ears) is acting up. No, I really think it is a peeper I’m hearing but I don’t feel like getting up from the computer to find out. They only sing at night. I call it singing. I think everyone else calls it annoying. Actually, my daughter came right up when I called her and told her and I called my sister (she lives one street over) and she went outside to listen.

I love signs of Spring. The mallard family came to visit my front yard today.

mallards.jpgI have been feeding them cracked corn so they will get used to me and bring their babies to eat when they are born.

My sister is an avid gardener and plants are poking up all over her yard. I need to get one of my so called roommates to do some gardening for me. I want an herb garden and a few flowers, at least window boxes.

Oh, and this is the year of the 17 year cicadas. They are expected to emerge from their underground burrows in 53 days. Click here
for info about this strange phenomena. They stay underground for 17 years eating the roots of trees, then thousands emerge at the same time. They are everywhere. They also have a very loud sound which collectively might even be louder then the peepers.

ma_broodxiv.jpgThis is where this particular brood will emerge this year.

I remember, especially, when they emerged 34 years ago, the year we moved here. We were driving down Rt 151 and they were hitting the VW bug we had by the hundreds. Talk about bugs. We were in a bug and being attacked by bugs. You had to run the windshield wipers. It was like a locust invasion during Biblical times. My wasband smoked at the time and happened to be wearing pink bell-bottom pants (don’t ask, it was 1973–bell-bottoms were popular) and all of a sudden smoke was coming from the bottom of his pants. He pulled over, jumped out of the car and his pants were on fire. We put out his pants fire and realized the head of his cigarette (we won’t discuss what type of “cigarette” he was smoking) had fallen in the cuff of his pink bell-bottoms. Meanwhile we are getting whacked by cicadas. They are everywhere. The smoke from his pants was helping to keep them away. Once we were sure he wasn’t on fire anymore we jumped back in the car. At this point we were hysterically laughing. The kind of laughing where you can’t breathe and you feel a little out of control.
periodical_cicada4.jpgCicadas

OMG, You won’t even believe what my wasband did to me at 2:00AM. I will write about it in the morning. I can’t write anymore my mind is boggled.

9 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. teeni
    Apr 01, 2008 @ 13:48:22

    I love the sound of spring peepers! Funny that I don’t think I’ve ever heard just a single one at a time so I probably wouldn’t have recognized it. And when I lived closer to the city, we never heard them, but when we moved out farther into the suburbs, I thought we were hearing something from the Creature Feature movie, “Them.” LOL. Cicadas freak me out. I found some out here two years ago and they were like gigantic houseflys. -Eeep!

    Reply

  2. moonbeammcqueen
    Apr 01, 2008 @ 20:48:00

    No wonder you love them– they sound so lovely! Cicadas flip me out a little too, but I love the sound. Maybe your wasband should try the pink bell bottom thing on those squirrels. I’m dying to hear what he did.

    Reply

  3. Kaylee
    Apr 01, 2008 @ 21:32:34

    i love them too πŸ˜›

    Reply

  4. joanharvest
    Apr 01, 2008 @ 23:13:50

    @ Kaylee

    How are you doing today? E-mail me when you can and I will send you a nice box of stuff of your favorite players from Red Sox Nation.

    Reply

  5. betme
    Apr 02, 2008 @ 10:20:27

    Joan ~ I laughed so hard thinking about your wasband’s burning pink bell-bottoms! Real life is so much more funny than what I find on tv.

    Reply

  6. kaylee2
    Apr 02, 2008 @ 17:52:05

    i did I am sorry i didnt send it earlier but had a few fainting spells 😦

    Reply

  7. teeni
    Apr 03, 2008 @ 01:00:43

    I’ve tagged you for a meme! I hope you can participate, but no pressure. πŸ˜‰

    Reply

  8. Trackback: De-de-de-Delirious « DisIsMyPlace
  9. CuriousC
    Apr 03, 2008 @ 11:51:36

    Wicked cool! I didn’t know the cicada thing! I was in VA when they had this ‘occurance’ I’m not sure what year range they were. but it was truly amazing. Though not as many as your vw bug bugs…

    Reply

Leave a Reply

