It’s a Girl!!!!

There’s not much more I can say so I will let you see the pictures.

baby-son-ogram-12

babysonogram-2-feet1

baby-sonogram-all-51

Your pregnancy: 18 weeks


See the big picture

How your baby’s growing:

Head to rump, your baby is about 5 1/2 inches long (about the length of a bell pepper) and he weighs almost 7 ounces. He’s busy flexing his arms and legs ā€” movements that you’ll start noticing more and more in the weeks ahead. His blood vessels are visible through his thin skin, and his ears are now in their final position, although they’re still standing out from his head a bit. A protective covering of myelin is beginning to form around his nerves, a process that will continue for a year after he’s born. If you’re having a girl, her uterus and fallopian tubes are formed and in place. If you’re having a boy, his genitals are noticeable now, but he may hide them from you during an ultrasound.

I am so excited!!!

I actually did do some packing yesterday. I might try to do some more tonight. I don’t know. I’m just so excited. Now I can say she instead of it.

34 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Just a Mom
    Jan 12, 2009 @ 15:35:53

    Awwwwwwwww! She is going to be so lucky to have you as a grandmother!

    Now you can start buying cute little pink things!

    Reply

  2. Em
    Jan 12, 2009 @ 15:39:48

    Very cool!!! I love those pictures! They just make you feel all warm and fuzzy. šŸ™‚ Congrats!!

    Reply

  3. Little Miss
    Jan 12, 2009 @ 15:57:41

    How cool! Now I know of a little girl baby I can sew cute things for. All I’ve had around me to sew for are boys. šŸ™‚

    Reply

  4. teeni
    Jan 12, 2009 @ 18:04:04

    YAY – this is going to be one helluva spoiled baby girl! šŸ™‚ HAHA – look at those cute little tosies! Looks like the little lady has got her legs crossed! šŸ™‚ This is so exciting!

    Reply

  5. birdpress
    Jan 12, 2009 @ 18:43:58

    Hey, it looks like she’s giggling! Congrats!

    Reply

  6. Hannah
    Jan 12, 2009 @ 19:25:15

    Oh, how wonderful! Congratulations!!

    BRING ON THE PINK!!

    Reply

  7. sheng
    Jan 12, 2009 @ 20:48:29

    Congratulations! Hmmm, let me think a name, hehehe…

    Reply

  8. trishatruly
    Jan 12, 2009 @ 22:30:41

    This is gonna be one heck of a lucky little girl. She’s got a Grandma with a wicked wonderful sense of humor. What a wonderful gift!

    I think she has your ears! šŸ˜€

    Reply

  9. Red
    Jan 12, 2009 @ 23:40:48

    YAYYYY FOR PIIIIIIIIIIINKKKK !!

    Reply

  10. Joy
    Jan 13, 2009 @ 12:17:07

    CONGRATULATIONS!!!! Pink, pink, pink! This is great. After raising two boys and having one grandson born first, I went NUTS buy pink things. My son told me not everything has to be pink mom and I said “oh yes it does!” I’m so happy for you Joan.

    Reply

  11. joann
    Jan 13, 2009 @ 12:41:39

    I’m soo happy for you Joan !! How excellent !! Now about the Pink ….Lavander is really cute on girls too,if you get tired of seeing Pink . Actually ,the two pastels work nicely together !! I know this to be true cuz I have two daughters ,and 4 granddaughters . If the baby’s skin tone is really fair,blonde, a pretty ‘baby green’ looks really nice too. Just think of all the cute Spring clothes…I went CRAZY OUT OF MY MIND when I’d go shopping with my girls. BABY NIKES Joan !! Oh your gonna LOVE THIS !! I can re-live it all again through you ! Have a super week!

    Reply

  12. joann
    Jan 13, 2009 @ 12:43:45

    I forgot to say CONGRATULATIONS to your daughter and son-inlaw !!! Best Wishes to everyone !!

    Reply

  13. widdleshamrock
    Jan 13, 2009 @ 17:00:45

    WONDERFUL !!!!!!

    Congratulations to you, your daughter and son~in~law.

    So exciting.

    Man, I hated packing. Hope the move goes well.

    Reply

  14. teeni
    Jan 14, 2009 @ 01:42:31

    I have given you an award here:

    http://www.vtroom.com/2009/01/14/100-things-about-me-part-9-of-10-honestly/

    Please do not feel pressured to do anything with it other than acknowledge that I think you deserve it. If you can do the meme part, great – if not, no big deal. šŸ™‚

    Reply

  15. JavaQueen
    Jan 14, 2009 @ 06:36:35

    Awww, a little baby bell pepper šŸ™‚ Such a sweet little profile. Amazing…. just a miracle!

    So happy right along with you, and your family!

    Reply

  16. javajunkee
    Jan 14, 2009 @ 10:33:56

    LOL BE SURE….my second little girl’s you know what was hiding and when he came out we had to pick a boys name!

    Reply

  17. Jim
    Jan 14, 2009 @ 12:29:26

    Congratulations!

    Reply

  18. Emerald
    Jan 14, 2009 @ 12:31:41

    Squeeeee! This is so exciting! I’m like, quivering just a bit in my chair at the office. Look at those feet, that’s amazing!

    My friend has her sonograms on her fridge for her en route wee one, and she’s got one that looks similar to the last one here, just the curve of the spine. But folded under that one was the second shot from that day, which was a full frontal face shot, it looks like a skeleton baby! She thinks it looks creepy, I think it looks nifty.

    I’ll have to remember, 18 weeks is when you can start to tell the gender. I don’t want to know! When it’s my turn, I’ll ask to see the foot/head/spine/non-gender-type-area shots only!

    Reply

  19. thebeadden
    Jan 14, 2009 @ 16:37:18

    Congrats! A girl….I just love the cute clothes they have at some stores.

    Thanks for sharing the pictures! I can just imagine how excited everyone is. I’m so happy for all of you. It’s just nice reading about the good things in life. šŸ˜‰

    Reply

  20. Amy Hunter
    Jan 14, 2009 @ 18:11:20

    I love the shot of the feet–how utterly adorable! Makes me want to see her wiggle her toes. Congratulations!

    Reply

  21. museditions
    Jan 15, 2009 @ 01:20:15

    OMG, that’s a foot! I can already imaging her sense of entitlement:
    “Oh, thank you so much for moving into a new house for me, and providing a full-time grandmother for me (when she can tear herself away from blogging or terrorizing the Vineyard with her cane).”
    All well deserved, of course. How exciting!

    Reply

  22. mrsvierkant
    Jan 15, 2009 @ 09:00:14

    I love ultrasound pictures. **sigh** What a magical and wonderful time for your daughter and for you. Enjoy every second.

    Congratulations!

    Reply

  23. The Vinyl Villager
    Jan 15, 2009 @ 20:42:08

    how wonderful! You’re gonna be the best grandma!

    Reply

  24. Lucky
    Jan 16, 2009 @ 10:56:09

    OH Joan!!! I am so excited for you! You are going to be a FABULOUS grandma!! I can’t wait to hear all of your doting stories!!! šŸ™‚

    Reply

  25. thegirlfromtheghetto
    Jan 16, 2009 @ 12:51:46

    Congratulations. I love girls, but realyl only because the clothes and the gifts are easier to pick out. So happy for you and your daughter!!!!!!

    Reply

  26. duskydi
    Jan 17, 2009 @ 21:02:31

    Oh My Goodness !!!

    Joans Of Scans, this picture of your baby girl is so beauatiful. Big love to you and yours, I’m so pleased that you posted this picture of the baby girl on my birthday.

    Love Di

    Reply

  27. odette
    Jan 18, 2009 @ 08:05:18

    awwww, that cute bellpepper is tugging at my heart!
    congratulations to your family joan, i’m looking forward to hear more of the baby girl!

    Reply

  28. Sandra
    Jan 18, 2009 @ 19:39:17

    Hey, Joan, congratulations!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Just catching up with all your new over the past few weeks on my reader.

    I hope the packing isn’t too arduous and that the move goes without a hitch.

    Lots of new beginnings huh. Great to see!

    Reply

  29. David
    Jan 19, 2009 @ 20:07:19

    Congratulations to parents and grandparents to be. Bet that’s gonna be one cute little baby girl! Thanks for sharing the fetal photography. Totally amazing … you’re such a nerd! Hope your moving is going well too. What exciting times for you šŸ˜€

    Reply

  30. Murder of Ravens
    Jan 19, 2009 @ 22:47:27

    Ok, I’ve been out of the loop for awhile, so I decide to visit your blog, and what do I see? “Oh my God, Joan is having a baby!”.

    Oh….granddaughter. I get it now. Cool. Congratulations.

    BTW, I noticed your weight ticker. Double congrats! I’ve thought of doing something like that myself, but so far I haven’t had the guts or the sense of commitment. Seriously, if you have time, send me an email and let me know how you’re doing it. Nothing I’ve tried has ever worked. :>(

    -smith

    Reply

  31. Romi
    Jan 21, 2009 @ 22:43:16

    I hope the move went well and congrats to you on the future cutest grandaughter EVER! šŸ™‚

    Reply

  32. thegirlfromtheghetto
    Jan 22, 2009 @ 01:01:54

    I hoped you watched LOST tonight. LOVED it …

    Reply

  33. lupusranting
    Jan 23, 2009 @ 16:09:37

    What a cutie-pie!! All the girlie-girl stuff you can indulge in!
    xoxo šŸ™‚

    Reply

  34. 2lazydogs
    Jan 24, 2009 @ 14:26:15

    Awwwww…ooooooo! Sweet baby girl! Bring on the pink! Congrats to all!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

