Dude!! And I Am Supposed To Be Packing!

Javaqueen got me thinking about the word “Dude” today. She was trying to type the word “Good night” and typed “Dood night” instead, which got me to thinking about the word “Dude”. I know, it doesn’t take much for my mind to go off on a tangent.

Here is some info about the word “Dude” from Wikipedia.

The term dude is an American English slang word generally used informally to address a male individual. The word was once used primarily by adults but has become a common slang term used in various age groups. The female equivalent, less often used, is “dudette”. However the term dude has evolved to become a more unisex term to encompass all genders, and was even true in the 1950’s during the word’s older definitions.

Evander Berry Wall, a New York socialite, was dubbed “King of the Dudes.” He is pictured in the New York American at the time of the “battle of the Dudes” in 1888.

berry-wall-king-dudes

King of the Dudes

A journalist of the New York American, Blakely Hall, made Wall famous, proclaiming him in 1888 “King of the Dudes” for having won the “Battle of the Dudes” against Robert “Bob” Hilliard, another sartorial dude when, during the blizzard of 1888, he strode into a bar clad in gleaming boots of patent leather that went to his hips. Nevertheless, some historians still consider it was Hilliard who won that boots battle.

Wall won another contest in Saratoga against John “Bet a Million” Gates, for having changed clothes 40 times between breakfast and dinner, appearing on the race track “in one flashy ensemble after the other until, exhausted but victorious he at last entered the ballroom of the United States Hotel in faultless evening attire”

So I guess to be a dude in the 1880’s you had to dress like the above gentleman.

Now it seems that a lot of “dudes” look like this:

baggy_pants_gone_too_far

Which do you prefer? I think I almost prefer the first “Dude”.

My son calls me “Dude” sometimes and I always end up laughing. It sounds so funny to me to have some guy call his mom “Dude”. I think even Sarah has used the word when she has talked to me. I have had many of their friends say “Dude” to me too. I think it’s cool that they feel so comfortable with me that they can say ” Dude, Ma, that’s awesome”.

Most of their friends call me “Ma” or “Dude Ma”. Thank goodness, I don’t have to wear patent leather boots to my hips or change 40 times between breakfast and dinner to be cool.

This whole “Dude” thing got me thinking about a certain song.

In honor of “All The Young Dudes” I leave you with one of my favorite videos of one of my favorite singers:

DAVID BOWIE

Do you or your kids use the word “Dude”?

18 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Just a Mom
    Jan 10, 2009 @ 13:30:19

    Dude, I loved the video!
    I think since I grew up in the 80’s I overuse the term dude. Mainly when I talk to my brother! I love how you can say Dude and depending on how you say it, the tone you invoke, it can mean something different!
    The above probably only made sense in my own little world, but that’s ok I like it in my little world! 🙂

    Dude, I love your little world and I understood totally what you mean. I grew up in the groovy world of the 60’s but having kids you get the hang of what they are talking about. I now know that bad means good and when my son answers my calls and he says “WHADUP” I know what he means.

    Reply

  2. bkclubcare
    Jan 10, 2009 @ 14:49:41

    HEY! you forgot to mention the BIG LEBOWSKI! You awesome DudeMa, you.

    You know I thought about the BIG LEBOWSKI and then forgot to mention it. When I googled the word dude that movie came up. I thought that movie was hilarious.

    Reply

  3. 3boys1mommy
    Jan 10, 2009 @ 16:05:16

    Uhm we’re Californian of course we use Dude… like every other word dude 😉

    Of course, You have surfer dudes!! I don’t think in the 35 years I have lived on the ocean on Cape Cod I have ever seen a surfer. We don’t get many waves except during a winter storm or a hurricane. I wouldn’t mind seeing a couple of buff surfer dudes. Thank goodness, we have life guards.

    Reply

  4. birdpress
    Jan 10, 2009 @ 18:54:15

    I thought “dude” originally referred to a greenhorn cowboy?

    I am not fond of the word being used as an interjection, but…

    Dude, that underhang thing is messed up.

    I don’t think I, myself, have ever used the word in a sentence but I don’t mind if the kids do. And Yes, that underhang thing is not cool. I won’t hang out with my son when his pants hang a couple of inches below his waist.

    Reply

  5. Little Miss
    Jan 10, 2009 @ 19:26:13

    Dude. Dood. However you spell it, it’s all good.

    I think Dude is a perfectly good word. I use it a lot. Particularly toward my son-in-law as a term of endearment.

    So are you a dude or a dudette? I think I am a “dude-oldie”. Say that three times fast! Ha!Ha!

    Reply

  6. teeni
    Jan 10, 2009 @ 23:43:02

    I don’t normally use the term because it wasn’t popular when I was growing up and to start using it now would seem kind of fake to me. But if it were used a lot around me, then it would be easy to pick up on. But the cats I’m with all day don’t talk and TGH doesn’t use the term much either so I doubt I’m going to start saying it a lot. However, the Big Lebowski really was quite a dude. That was a fun movie and really cracked me up at times. Shut up Donnie. 😉

    Reply

  7. thebeadden
    Jan 11, 2009 @ 15:32:03

    I don’t think I’ve used the word ‘dude’ often. I’m sure I’ve said, “Whatever, dude.”
    That would be a negative retort. 😉

    But that one dude should really pull his pants up.

    Reply

  8. theramblinghousewife
    Jan 11, 2009 @ 17:47:46

    ‘My 3 year old already says, “Dude!!!” Can you believe that?? Neither me nor my husband use the word a whole lot–so it must be something he’s picked up at school!

    He says, “Mommy, you’re a cool dude!!! 🙂

    Reply

  9. widdleshamrock
    Jan 11, 2009 @ 18:57:42

    Dude !!! I love Bowie.

    My daughter and I use it infrequently.

    Reply

  10. Romi
    Jan 11, 2009 @ 19:21:53

    I HOPE YOU ARE EFFIN’ PACKING RIGHT NOW!!

    (that was me yelling at you to go pack, but in a loving way 😉 )

    Reply

  11. thegirlfromtheghetto
    Jan 11, 2009 @ 22:28:06

    Dude, I’m 38 and still using that word. Ha ha ha … sounds dumb, but I don’t care.

    Reply

  12. javajunkee
    Jan 11, 2009 @ 23:32:28

    duuuuuuude! That’s like my favorite word. My mini’s call me that..especially the rd..it’s more dude than mom.

    Reply

  13. Joy
    Jan 12, 2009 @ 10:55:46

    DUDE……I love it!!

    Reply

  14. The Vinyl Villager
    Jan 12, 2009 @ 11:47:37

    I rarely use it, and shudder when anyone else does.

    Reply

  15. mrsvierkant
    Jan 15, 2009 @ 09:03:00

    Dude… Of course we say dude at our house, LOL. I’m a child of the 80’s, so I don’t know any other way. 😉

    My sister calls her son “Little Dude”, and I love it.

    I don’t use “dude” at school though. Only when I’m being silly with my co-workers.

    Reply

  16. duskydi
    Jan 17, 2009 @ 21:06:15

    Hi Joan,

    What a great funny post. Thank you. No we never use the word dude, it really is an American word. I love dudette hehe !! I’m going to use this word today and see what reaction I get. I’m sure I’ll have some fun with it.

    Love Di.

    Reply

  17. JavaQueen
    Jan 24, 2009 @ 04:46:14

    Dude, how’d I miss this post? It didn’t show up in my reader 😦

    I use to never say that word. Ever. Now, I call my husband Dude and he looks at me, and repeats it back with a big question mark??? He doesn’t like it. I’ve been saying it with great gusto for the last few years now and once you start, it’s a very hard habit to break!

    DUDE! I cannot remember you thought of our facebook conversation? I knew exactly what you were talking about because that night I was really out of it 🙂 Thanks Joanie!

    Reply

  18. Rob Hillard
    Dec 09, 2011 @ 11:12:28

    Dude!!! No way Rob. Lol

    Reply

Leave a Reply

