Memory

This time I am not talking about my terrible memory.  This time I am talking about memories that stick.  You know, the ones that you will never forget.  They are embedded in your brain and sometimes you will see something or hear something or even smell something that will bring back a memory so quickly that it takes your breath away.  You might even stand there shaking a little when it happens.  You might even look around thinking that you are actually reliving the memory.  Looking around for that person who was there with you back in the memory and sometimes you will feel such a bitter disappointment when you suddenly realize; it’s just a memory.

As I get older this happens more often.  Sometimes I feel happy when it does.  Sometimes I feel sad and sometimes I get that melancholy feeling that even though it may be sad you want to feel it.

That song did that for me a couple of days ago.  The song started playing and I can barely describe the feeling that went through me.  It was as if my dad had just walked through the door and he was standing there listening with me.  It’s been 12 years since he passed and not a single day goes by without me thinking about him.

Dad AKA   Gubby

Dad when he was in his early 80′s.

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Hannah
    Feb 29, 2012 @ 02:33:34

    Lovely post, Joan. Your Dad was a very handsome man. And what a great smile, he really smiled with his eyes. I’m glad you have such wonderful memories of your Dad, and that you have a special song that reminds you of him. Big hugs xx

    Reply

  2. starlaschat
    Feb 29, 2012 @ 13:42:21

    Yes, I agree lovely post. Teared me right up it did. I couldn’t even listen to the song. I started it but I didn’t want to break into a full on oprah ugly cry. sigh…It is interesting when you have a memory that is so strong it’s as if the person is standing there, I know that feeling. Now I’ll go back and see if I can listen to the song, not sure I will be able to. Sweet post and pictures.

    Reply

  3. thebeadden
    Feb 29, 2012 @ 15:05:37

    (((hugs))) Joan. You can tell by the pictures just what a great guy your father was. Just look at the sparkle in his eyes! I bet he lit up a room when he walked into it.

    Reply

  4. Care
    Feb 29, 2012 @ 18:06:09

    {hugs} Can’t have too many virtual hugs, can ya? :)

    Reply

  5. Joy
    Mar 02, 2012 @ 12:03:46

    I love memories that come floating to me like this. Smell is huge for me. Sometimes they leave me feeling sad too but I do savor it just the same.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 55 other followers

