I just got back from France and I am going there tonight too.

I have been working on the genealogy of my Mother’s Father’s side of the family.   I joined Ancestry.com for a month and found lots of information  there.  I also found mistakes but I was able to correct those.  Anyway, I was able to go back 10 generations all the way to Chênehutte-Trèves-CunaultMaine-et-Loire, France.

I consider myself a very thorough researcher.   I don’t stop until I am certain the information I have found is correct.  This means that it takes me quite a while to research even the smallest amount of information.  This is the part that I like the most about genealogy, the search.

Last night I got on Google Earth and literally drove through the town.  I am still so amazed that this is even possible.  The following is a photo I took while traveling around.

Once I found the village I wanted to learn everything I could about it.  I don’t just want to know that my ancestors were born there.  I want to feel the place, understand it.  Since I can’t actually go there for so many reasons the internet allows me to use my imagination and wits so that when I think of Chenehutte I will feel like I have a memory of being there.

The area surrounding Chenehutte is so full of history.  To understand my village I need to understand the history of the village which isn’t so easy because I don’t speak French.   All the websites that I am visiting so far about the history are in French so I have to copy and paste onto Google Translator.

Tonight I am going to try to discover if there is a cemetery in my village.  I also want to find out if there are church records.  I look forward to the evenings when I can do my research.  I am so glad I quit those Facebook games or this wouldn’t be happening.

 

The Local Church

Another view of the town

 

The village is on this river, The Loire.

7 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Just a Mom
    Jan 29, 2012 @ 09:44:53

    That is so cool. My dad did our genealogy I believe back to the 1600’s. We came from the Metz-Lorraine (?) France. I would love for someone to do my mom’ side. She was 1/2 Irish, 1/2 Danish.

    Reply

  2. philosophermouseofthehedge
    Jan 29, 2012 @ 14:53:57

    What a great adventure!

    Reply

  3. Care
    Jan 31, 2012 @ 15:04:00

    Wow! I have an uncle who is passionate about our family history and I hope my brother takes it up (so I don’t have to.) I’m afraid I’ll get addicted to it all! 🙂

    Reply

  4. starlaschat
    Feb 02, 2012 @ 10:41:21

    Sound like a lot of Fun it’s nice too to be able to drive around with google map. What a great addition to your reseach. Some day I would really like to reseach some of my familys history, I’m so curious.

    Reply

  5. starlaschat
    Mar 10, 2012 @ 12:07:57

    Hi Joan. It’s a beautiful Spring day here today. I just wanted to come over and let you know I have a Bluebird cam up as my last post. I was just looking at the cam and there was a Bluebird in the box building a next. Pretty neat they are building the nest with pine needles.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

