Let it Snow!

I live in New England and if you live in New England you accept the fact that it snows in the winter.  Let me rephrase that~ I accept the fact that it snows in the winter.  Many people, even those who have lived here all their lives,  never accept the fact that we get snow here.  They complain and whine every time they see a flake.  They run to the grocery store and buy up all the milk, bread and eggs they can gather.  I go to the store and buy a chicken.

Ever since my kids were little I roasted a whole chicken whenever we got a good snow storm.  I served it with stuffing, mashed potatoes, corn, biscuits and gravy and I never strayed from the menu.  If I had the kids would have  been horrified.

 

At our old house we had a fireplace which the wasband would light at the sign of the first flakes.   The kids would bundle up in their snowsuits and go outside with Daddy to shovel or build a snowman.  When they got too cold they would come in, smell the chicken roasting in the oven, and give me great big smiles.  Then they would go in the living room and take off their coats, pants, hats, mittens and anything else that was wet and lay it all out to dry in front of the warm fire.

 

Old House

 

 

Soon they would be back outside only to come back in, dry their clothes and go right back out.   Dinner time would arrive and we would feast on our roast chicken dinner while listening to George Winston play the piano.

Even now I roast a chicken whenever it snows.  The problem is it hasn’t snowed once this winter and that means we haven’t had a roast chicken dinner since last winter.  I am praying for a snow storm so that Lilah can go play in the snow and build a snowman and eat a roast chicken dinner.

12 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Just a Mom
    Jan 18, 2012 @ 06:42:36

    I am well aware if rain dances. I wonder if there are snow dances?
    This has truly been a strange winter. Yesterday here near Houston we hit 75 degrees. I was wearing SHORTS on January 17th! I wake up this morning and it’s 38 degrees and I have the fireplace on. Strange!

    Reply

  2. Joy
    Jan 18, 2012 @ 10:01:20

    What a great tradition. It sounds like me but I did the chicken in a pot of soup. Aren’t snow storms awesome when you’re all at home and snug and safe? I miss winter. I wish it would get cold and we’d get a foot or two of the white stuff.

    Your post today makes me wish I were your neighbor. I love snowball fights AND making snowmen AND roasted chicken. Maybe you should just make on anyway.

    Reply

    • joanharvest
      Jan 19, 2012 @ 11:54:48

      What kind of weather do you get in the winter where you are? I think you would make a great neighbor. I also think you are right and I should roast a chicken anyway.

      Reply

  3. philosophermouseofthehedge
    Jan 18, 2012 @ 21:13:31

    What a nice warm memory – felt like I was there – ready to come in from the chill for dinner.

    Reply

  4. Care
    Jan 19, 2012 @ 07:37:41

    Yes, I could enjoy some snow. My poor puppy is wondering what’s going on. Last year, her first winter, she was outside being a snowdog all the time. Now she is just confused.

    Reply

  5. Hannah
    Jan 20, 2012 @ 00:50:08

    Yum, that looks SO good! It seems funny to read about snow and see pictures of it, as we are just starting to get into the HOT part of our summer!

    Reply

  6. iliketoads
    Jan 20, 2012 @ 15:29:40

    I am not happy about the snow! I like to be warm and snow is the opposite of that. I bet the roasted chicken smelled wonderful though! Sometimes the smell of food cooking is better than eating it. Not really though. My downstairs neighbor is always cooking stuff that smells really good and it makes me hungry! I don’t eat meat though, usually, but I can’t help that it smells delicious.

    Reply

  7. Doraz
    Jan 20, 2012 @ 22:09:42

    lol Enjoy. Dance and live it up. lol Have a great weekend.

    Reply

  8. javajunkee
    Jan 22, 2012 @ 11:49:10

    oh great now I want chicken🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

