What Are Your Addictions?

I think many of us deal with addiction on some level.  Whether we are dealing with the addiction of our family and friends or ourselves we all seemed to be surrounded by addiction of some sort.  Recently I quit all the Facebook games I was playing.  I had been playing some of them for a couple of years.  I was spending anywhere from  2 to 5 hours a day. playing these games, mostly in the evening.

I joined a group of friends on Facebook who all want to make some lifestyle changes in their lives in 2012.  The first night on the group someone wrote a comment about spending too much time playing games.  Something clicked and I immediately deleted almost 40 games I was either playing or had played in the past.  I haven’t played a game since.  That was 11 days ago.

Do I miss the game?  Emphatically,  YES!   Am I going to play again?  NO!  I really think it was a real addiction.  I actual got a nervous stomach and broke out into a sweat as I deleted the games.  That is crazy.

One of my other addictions is harder for me to deal with.  FOOD!  I have always wished I didn’t have to eat at all.  I would find it so much easier to lose weight if I just didn’t have to deal with food at all.

I also think I am somewhat addicted to buying books.  I love books..  This Christmas was awesome because I got quite a few books from my sister and my daughter.  My sister has the same addiction and so does my brother.  He actually owned a used book store for 20 years.

This photo is of my bookcase.  These are just the books I am looking at now.  It changes constantly with whatever I am interested in at the moment. I have at least 30 large bins of books in the basement.

What are your Addictions?

14 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Just a Mom
    Jan 11, 2012 @ 21:51:25

    Let’s see I started out being addicted to sucking my fingers. I stopped when I was in elementary school. In High School I got addicted to cigarettes and after 20 years of smoking I quit. In my 20’s-30’s I got addicted to alcohol. Luckily I was able to beat that addiction as well. At this moment I can’t think of an addiction that I have. Wow, it seems like maybe I am addicted to addictions!

    Reply

    • joanharvest
      Jan 11, 2012 @ 22:06:03

      I sucked my thumb until I was 7 or 8 years old. I smoked on and off since college. I quit for good about 7 years ago. Food is my biggest problem. I am glad you don’t have any addictions. It makes life so much better.

      Reply

  2. Joy
    Jan 11, 2012 @ 22:04:26

    I’m “addicted” to different things all the time. They change. Right now really into reading, knitting, working out, my blog and Pinterest.

    I don’t think all addictions are bad. I’ve read my whole life. That’s about the only addiction I have that I’ll never stop. I think it’s good for our brains to read.

    I’ve been where you were Joan. I played a lot of those games with you but I gave them all up too almost a year ago and never plan to play them again. It just hit me one day when Paul and I were sitting here one Saturday BUSY BUSY BUSY with our farms and our yard had to be mowed, we had tree’s to cut down and groceries need to be gotten and I thought, what the hell are we doing and I never played another game. Paul still plays them but not to the extreme.

    I was also addicted for 35 years to Virginia Slims Menthol and had my lungs not gone to hell 4 years ago, I’m sure I’d still be smoking.

    Good luck Joan. You’ll do well. You always have a place to come. Us Girls.

    Reply

    • joanharvest
      Jan 11, 2012 @ 22:12:06

      It sounds like your “addictions” are wonderful ones. I have done a little with Pinterest but keep forgetting about. it. Now that I quit the game I can read more and do all those wonderful addictions like crocheting, blogging and I want to start scrapbooking. I quit smoking about 7 years ago, thank goodness.That was a tough one to quit. By the way, I love all the recipes on your blog. I found a chicken one with zucchini that I am going to try.

      Reply

  3. Peter Parkour
    Jan 11, 2012 @ 22:07:54

    FOOD. 😐

    But I’m working on it. 😉

    Reply

  4. joanharvest
    Jan 11, 2012 @ 22:13:15

    I know Peter, it is so hard. Are you still not eating meat? All we can do is keep trying.

    Reply

    • Peter Parkour
      Jan 11, 2012 @ 22:23:09

      I just got back on that wagon, Joan. Had I been on it this whole time, I wouldn’t have a problem. If you ask me, going vegan is the answer. It’s amazingly easy once you’ve made the transition, and that’s coming from a super picky eater that lived his whole life eating nothing but meat, pasta and fast food.

      Reply

  5. disseminatedthought
    Jan 11, 2012 @ 22:13:25

    Orange Tic Tacs and checking my blog view stats every twenty-five seconds. I’m a view stats junkie, but at least I have a fresh, tangy orange breath.

    Reply

  6. joanharvest
    Jan 11, 2012 @ 22:23:06

    It’s very important to have tangy fresh breath when you check your stats. You might start breathing hard if your stats are high and if your breath was sour or downright nasty all that heavy breathing would send everyone around you running for the nearest window. It’s winter now and you might catch a cold which could turn into pneumonia and then you might end up in the hospital all because you didn’t have Orange Tic Tacs. You better keep sucking on those Tic Tacs.

    Reply

  7. Hannah
    Jan 12, 2012 @ 01:23:10

    You are doing well, Joan! I am so impressed with your determination. It must be hard to resist the games that you have played for such a long time, but I know you can do it.

    I am definitely addicted to food. I’m trying really hard to break that addiction and to simply see food as fuel, but it is a constant battle. The group you mention on FB has been a great help and support to me, so I am really glad I have such a wonderful bunch of people cheering me on (as I am them).

    Reply

  8. Hannah
    Jan 12, 2012 @ 01:24:05

    Oh, and I am also addicted to running! But that is a good thing, which is why I didn’t mention it before. Good to have a healthy addiction for a change🙂

    Reply

  9. Claire
    Jan 12, 2012 @ 11:30:54

    We are a lot alike, Joan. I am also addicted to food, particularly popcorn. I feel guilty every time I make it. Would be fine if I only had it once a week. Every day is a bit of a problem. And I don’t just have 2-3 cups, I have a whole friggin bowl – with melted butter. Dang. I also am addicted to Facebook. I just love going on there a million times a day to see who said what or who posted what interesting link. I wish I could get addicted to running or something healthy. I just get too physically tired. I love my bike though. I could easily get addicted to that. I guess that is healthy. Good topic, Joan.

    Reply

  10. javajunkee
    Jan 12, 2012 @ 12:46:35

    I’m addicted to want to get a lot of things done..to the point that I’m so distracted by what I “want” or need to do that I don’t get anything done.😦

    Reply

Leave a Reply

