Castles I Want To Live In!

I keep wondering why I don’t live in a castle with servants and my own lady’s maid.  I suppose it’s because I don’t have any money to speak of.  The one thing I do have is an imagination which I use quite often to pretend I live in a castle and honestly that’s good enough for me.  I love my life but once in a while I wonder what it would be like.  This is why I have been watching Masterpiece Theater period pieces.

This week I watched the first season of Downton Abbey.  It takes place in a castle in England around the year 1914. If you haven’t seen it make a point of putting it on your list of things to watch on TV.  I really am enjoying it.  It also gives you a chance to see how the upper class lived during that period when “War was just an inconvenience”.

The above photograph shows the main Saloon of Highclere Castle where Downton Abbey was filmed.  Last Night I roamed around for an hour on the website for Highclere Castle.   Today I watched the 1996 version of  “Jane Eyre”,   one of my favorite movies of that type.  This was filmed at Haddon Hall .    Of course, I had to visit that website too.

Haddon Hall

Now I am on a binge to watch more period pieces and to check out the castles where they were filmed.   If I can’t live in one I am happy to visit them online.  Maybe someday I will get to visit England and tour a castle.

Years ago I read all of Jane Austen’s books along with all the books by Emily, Charlotte and Anne Bronte.  I have always been interested in classic literature.  Masterpiece Theater  has put many of those books to film and I intend on watching them all.  When I go on a binge about some subject you can’t stop me.  I think I may have to make up a Bucket List.

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Hannah
    Jan 09, 2012 @ 20:47:20

    I really would have loved to live back in the time of Jane Austen novels. I imagine myself as a wonderful Emma, or Jane Bennett. They may not have lived in castles per se, but I love the old stately homes they had. And how they would visit other homes and “take tea” and play the pianoforte. So lovely!

    Sometimes I think I was born in the wrong century!

    Reply

    • joanharvest
      Jan 09, 2012 @ 21:34:38

      I agree with you Hannah. It doesn’t have to be a castle. It is that period in time that is lovely. So different from the way we live now. If there was a time machine I think I would rather go back then forward.

      Reply

  2. Joy
    Jan 09, 2012 @ 20:55:15

    I want to live there too Joan. It’s gorgeous.

    Reply

  3. Just a Mom
    Jan 09, 2012 @ 21:19:48

    I have a thing for castles too! Lake Tahoe has an old house in a cove called Emerald Bay that is castle like. The lady who owned it even put a Tea House out on an island from the main house. She would take a boat over in the afternoons for her tea.
    If you ever get a chance to go to Connecticut, they have Gillette’s Castle. William Gillette built this in 1914-1919. This is a favorite place of mine to visit whenever I get to go to Connecticut. Here is a link: http://www.ct.gov/dep/cwp/view.asp?A=2716&Q=325204

    Reply

Leave a Reply

