Would You Do This To Your Child?

I am sure many of you are familiar with the TV reality show called “Toddlers & Tiaras.   If you are not,  the show revolves around little girls about 5 or 6 years old entering beauty pageants.  It is not a show I watch because the idea of it makes me sick. I am not even going to put the video that I just watched on my blog.  I will however put a link.  Watch it if you dare.  It is ridiculous and disgusting and even frightening.  I might have nightmares for weeks now that I’ve seen it.

http://www.nydailynews.com/entertainment/television/toddlers-tiaras-shocking-sneak-peek-shows-young-contestants-drinking-special-juice-eating-pageant-crack-stage-article-1.1001915?localLinksEnabled=fa

It seems in the last episode they showed a woman giving her child “special juice” before the pageant.  The juice contains high amounts of caffeine and sugar so that the child will be more energetic on stage.  Evidently, parents of these little ones are even giving them Red Bull.

This show is on TLC  which is a Discovery channel.   I always thought that TLC stood for “The Learning Channel”.   What exactly are we supposed to learn from this TV show?    The parents of these little girls ought to be ashamed of themselves.

10 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Just a Mom
    Jan 08, 2012 @ 16:42:59

    There is a lot to learn from this show: how not to treat innocent little children!
    My youngest daughter watches this and most of the time I think she watches it just to laugh at me while I am screaming at the tv! Personally I think that crap borders on child abuse!

    Reply

    • joanharvest
      Jan 08, 2012 @ 19:21:34

      Sarah and I were talking about how it is so abusive to a child to do this to them. It’s so shocking that if it’s on you almost can’t help but watch.

      Reply

  2. Peter Parkour
    Jan 08, 2012 @ 16:43:45

    Agreed, I’m aware, it makes me sick, and I’m not about to click that link. Wrong on so many levels.

    Reply

  3. Claire
    Jan 08, 2012 @ 21:24:33

    I won’t watch those shows. I didn’t watch Kate + 8 either. I think it’s exploiting children pure and simple. It’s disgusting and I don’t know what can be done about it. It’s just awful.

    Reply

  4. Care
    Jan 09, 2012 @ 11:15:22

    NO way will I watch this. OR Dance Moms. yikes!!

    Reply

  5. Joy
    Jan 09, 2012 @ 17:49:55

    We did a post on this show a while back and we were all in agreement with you. I think it is child abuse. I’m not sure how you could treat a child that way and say you love them. I’d hate to see if you didn’t! I won’t click the link. Dressing them up to look like hookers is one thing. Drugging them is another. I don’t want to see it.

    Reply

    • joanharvest
      Jan 09, 2012 @ 19:50:33

      I don’t blame you for not wanting to see the video. I didn’t finish it myself. If less people watched the show they would take it off the air. I honestly can’t see a show like this being entertaining. As children they have no say in the matter. I keep imagining Lilah being put through that and then it horrifies me even more. Instead Lilah plays at home with her toys and me and we visit her friends and she is happy, so happy.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

