Curiosity Bordering on Stalking

I am an extremely curious person.   I consider being curious a good trait in a person.  Curious people want to learn.  Curious people want to know why.   Being a curious person and trying at the same time to not interfere with people’s lives can be very difficult.  It can involve binoculars, hidden cameras, recording devices and much more.

Car Remote Camera with Recording (DVR)

Seriously, I wish I had some of those tools but everyone knows me too well to buy any of them for me.  I have to make due with what I’ve got.

Yes, I have hidden in the bushes to spy on neighbors.  Yes, I have listened to mobile phone conversations on police scanners before some stupid law passed preventing me from doing it anymore.  Yes, I have followed police cars with their sirens on.  Yes, I still have a police scanner.  Yes, I have steamed open someone’s mail and resealed it so they would never know.

The way I figure it if neighbors are going to do strange things in front of their windows then they obviously want to be seen.  If people are going to have cell phone conversations knowing anyone could be listening then they want to be heard.  If police don’t want to be followed then they should shut their damn sirens off.   OK, so steaming open the letter wasn’t too cool.  I’ll give you that one.

Just remember, in this day and age, if I’m not watching you someone else is.

16 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Peter Parkour
    Jan 06, 2012 @ 15:31:13

    😯 Totally freaking me out here, Joan. Curiosity is a good thing, but positive focus is good too. 😉 With great curiosity comes great responsibility. :mrgreen:

    Reply

  2. iliketoads
    Jan 06, 2012 @ 15:51:01

    I totally get it! I’m watching you too.😉

    Reply

  3. javajunkee
    Jan 06, 2012 @ 19:16:38

    I love it!! And one of the most fun conversations I over heard was on an old black and white tv..it was the neighbors down the street in my old house fighting. I picked it up while surfing channels.🙂

    Reply

    • joanharvest
      Jan 06, 2012 @ 19:45:19

      I knew you would appreciate this. I have heard some fun cell phone conversations but this was about 15 years ago when you could pick them up on police scanners.

      Reply

  4. Just a Mom
    Jan 06, 2012 @ 21:13:04

    When my youngest was a baby and we had the baby monitor I could pick up phone calls and even another baby monitor down the street. I used to love listening to that thing!

    Reply

  5. Joy
    Jan 06, 2012 @ 22:48:14

    Oh god Joan!! I’m SO damned glad you’re back. This is as good as a dumb ass post.

    Love the new profile pic too. You look terrific.

    Reply

    • joanharvest
      Jan 06, 2012 @ 22:56:19

      Hi Joy. The profile pic was taken just a couple of weeks ago. I did put some of that weight I lost back on but I am working on losing again. I still have a net loss of 60 pounds. I am glad you enjoyed the post but the search for dumbasses is a never ending search.

      Reply

  6. Trisha
    Jan 08, 2012 @ 15:49:07

    Not only are you funny but you are honest and that makes it all even funnier! Comedy is about taking the mundane, everyday things in life and pointing out the humor in it. You are terrific at this!

    Glad to see you writing again, sweety!

    Reply

    • joanharvest
      Jan 08, 2012 @ 16:23:13

      Thank you, Trisha. Let’s face it, the majority of life is very mundane so why not get a laugh out of it. It’s better then being perpetually serious.

      Reply

  7. Hannah
    Jan 08, 2012 @ 17:11:59

    LOL, you stalker!😉
    But you strike me as the nicest kind of stalker. One who is just protecting others from the crazy. And I’m betting you’ve come across plenty of crazy … there are nutters out there, for sure! I actually think it would be better to know for certain that your neighbours were loco than to just suspect as much, so good on you for keeping such a good eye on things!

    Reply

    • joanharvest
      Jan 08, 2012 @ 19:16:53

      I definitely have come across lots of crazy. Before living on the island I lived in a neighborhood that had a few problems so I was always on the lookout to be sure my kids were safe.

      Reply

  8. javajunkee
    Jan 12, 2012 @ 12:48:18

    LOL i had to come back and reread this one🙂 this still makes me laugh

    Reply

Leave a Reply

