Happy New Year and Some Updates for Those of You Not on FaceBook.

 

My blogroll just got a lot smaller.  I just visited everyone on my blogroll and ended up deleting more than half of it.  So many people have closed their blogs.  I was happy to see those who are still blogging.  I am going to go back and read some more blogs tonight.  I had time to read a few but not all.

I am on Facebook daily so some of you know what I have been up to.  For those who aren’t on FaceBook here is a little recap of 2011.

I still live on the Vineyard with my daughter, her husband and my 2 1/2 year old granddaughter, Lilah.

 

My daughter is pregnant with a boy who is due to pop out on April Fools Day.  How appropriate!

My son, who is a heroin addict, has been living in a rehab for over 5 months.  He is taking his sobriety very seriously for the first time in 10 years.

I have had many medical scares this year that all turned out unfounded.  This year I have had a pap smear, a colon ultrasound, a colonoscopy, a mammogram, an EKG, an echocardiogram, a nuclear stress test and lastly an angiogram. I am due for cataract surgery in February and I desperately need a new knee which I have been putting off because I remember too well what a pain in the ass it was getting my right knee replaced. And speaking of a pain in the ass my broken ass is doing well. (I shattered my tail bone a couple of years ago). Point being is I am not taking any more tests for a long time.

My doctor was convinced I was going to have a heart attack.  She even gave me nitroglycerin.  Turns out my arteries are whistle clean as my cardiologist told me after the angiogram and I was led to believe I might even have to have bypass surgery.

The wasband is still around and being the most generous ex-husband ever. A couple of months ago he surprised me and took me and his girlfriend to see Steely Dan in Boston.  We had a great time.

I can’t think of anything else right now but I hope to be blogging more often.

 

20 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Sarah
    Jan 05, 2012 @ 15:01:18

    My due date is NOT April Fools Day it is March 31st…..thank you very much!

    Reply

  2. Hannah
    Jan 05, 2012 @ 15:32:12

    March 31st is a GREAT day to have a baby – it’s my birthday!🙂
    I used to be eternally grateful that I wasn’t born 10 hours later … because then it would have been April Fools Day!

    So glad you are back blogging again, Joan. It has been great keeping in touch over Facebook, but your blog posts are great and I always enjoyed reading them. I love that your wasband took you and his girlfriend to a concert. I think it is so great that you guys still get along so well.

    Reply

    • joanharvest
      Jan 05, 2012 @ 19:10:15

      I somehow read that your birthday is March 31st just today, I think it must have been in your year end review. I hope he is born that day so he doesn’t get teased about April Fools day.

      The wasband is a good guy. He bought me a bunch of stuff for Christmas including a food processor I had been wanting.

      I do hope to blog more often. Thanks for stopping by.

      Reply

  3. Just a Mom
    Jan 05, 2012 @ 17:02:23

    Glad you are back to blogging. I miss your blog posts too!

    Reply

  4. Peter Parkour
    Jan 05, 2012 @ 18:11:02

    Great little post, and I’m looking forward to more. I’ve missed you over at my blog, but I’ve missed you over here even more. 🙂

    Reply

  5. Joy
    Jan 05, 2012 @ 22:01:20

    It’s so good to see you back Joan. I’ve missed you so.

    Reply

  6. Joy
    Jan 05, 2012 @ 23:14:43

    We never stopped. Blogging is my first true love and unless I’m dying, I’ll be blogging. I love the conversation. I don’t feel so alone in the world. Look what good friends we have.

    Reply

    • joanharvest
      Jan 06, 2012 @ 11:37:26

      You are so right, Joy, about meeting good friends. Well, I am going to put a good effort into blogging more often because I really liked doing it when I did it.

      Reply

  7. Care
    Jan 07, 2012 @ 11:37:24

    Whoooo. #sighofrelief
    I am still listed in the blogroll! Of course, I will come read your wise words. 😉
    Happy New Year!

    Reply

    • joanharvest
      Jan 07, 2012 @ 22:46:44

      Of course you are on my blogroll. I baked a pie the other day for the first time in many years and I thought of you while doing it. Are you still baking pies? I know you are still reading books.

      Reply

  8. anonymum
    Jan 07, 2012 @ 17:19:21

    Thought I would drop by for the first time in a long time, and I’m pleased to see not a lot has changed. Your place is still as welcoming as ever, and you still have a way about you that makes people want to come back.
    These are all good things.🙂
    Amazing the time we find when we throw in the time wasting FB games isn’t it??😉

    Reply

    • joanharvest
      Jan 07, 2012 @ 22:44:42

      I’m glad you did drop in and thank you for the compliments. I really appreciate that. I am so glad I quit the FB games. They took up way too much of my time. I really enjoyed blogging but stopped when my granddaughter was born and I just never seemed to get motivated to blog. We’ll see how I do this time around.

      Reply

  9. laura
    Jan 18, 2012 @ 09:30:11

    I can’t believe your granddaughter is 2 1/2!! My son will be 29 on April Fool’s Day which also happened to be Good Friday that year.
    I’m glad to hear your son is doing well. I had no idea there were rehab facilities that allow someone to stay for months at a time. The only ones I know of charge $10,000 a month! And out patient re hab isn’t much cheaper (I guess we all know someone who needs help don’t we?).

    Reply

  10. starlaschat
    Jan 21, 2012 @ 12:28:31

    Very Cute picture! Its been awhile since Ive seen a picture of Lilah the picture made me think of the song by Stevie Wonder Isnt she Beautiful…. Congratulations on soon to be addition to your family. Glad your health is well you are the only person I know who has broken her ass before. I am not on face book I had heard the games can be addictive so I figured best to just not get started. Twitter a very short stint. I bored myself with my own tweets I would rather blog.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

