Blank Mind and Happy New Year!

When I was blogging a lot I seemed to always have something to write.  I am sitting here now trying to come up with a topic and my mind has gone blank like it does so often lately.   So I am going to just write whatever I have been thinking about.

Writing the above paragraph made me think about my brain.  I guess that is where you store all  your memories.  So how come you can remember something one day and forget the next and then remember it again a week later?  That is very annoying.  If the memory is there why can’t I just call it up whenever I want?

So I went to How Stuff Works and read a bit about brain and the memory.  Now I realize I really don’t want to know.  It’s too complicated and I don’t want to have to remember any more stuff.

The best thing I have done all week is quit all my Facebook games.  It was so hard to do which made me realize I really was addicted to them.  I had been playing Frontierville for more than a year.   I can’t even imagine how many hours I put into building a fake town.

Now I have lots of free time.  The question is what should I do with it.  I don’t want to just end up watching TV.  That’s mostly a time waster too.  When I finally get my cataract removed I do want to start reading again.

I hope you all have A Happy New Year!!  I don’t want to over blog so I will end this now.

10 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Just a Mom
    Jan 01, 2012 @ 20:18:24

    Joan, only you can take a blank mind and turn it into a good post!
    I’m sure you will find something constructive to fill your new free time. If nothing else go for a walk every now and then.

    Reply

  2. Peter Parkour
    Jan 01, 2012 @ 22:11:40

    Congratulations on kicking the habit. If you do watch tv, just make sure it is a documentary about something worth knowing about. Then blog about it. 😉

    Reply

    • joanharvest
      Jan 03, 2012 @ 14:48:27

      When we downsized our cable we were left with no good stations. I can’t get the History channel or the BBC station, my two favorites. But I am sure I will find something to blog about.

      Reply

  3. Hannah
    Jan 02, 2012 @ 23:19:07

    Good on you for quitting the FB games. I had to do that a while ago with Scrabble, although it is a good game for exercising the mind, it was eating into my workday and I had too many games on the go at once.
    Looking forward to reading more blog posts from you now that you have a bit more time🙂

    Reply

    • joanharvest
      Jan 03, 2012 @ 14:51:05

      I only play 4 games of scrabble and I really only do about 2 moves a night on each compared to the 4 hours a night on the other games. I seriously want to do some scrapbooking. I have all the supplies.

      Reply

  4. Doraz
    Jan 03, 2012 @ 08:33:21

    Happy New Year. Whatever you do, I am sure you will be doing it with style…and a smile, remember?? lol

    Reply

  5. joanharvest
    Jan 03, 2012 @ 14:51:58

    These days, Doraz, I am always smiling. I hope you also have a Happy New Year!!

    Reply

  6. javajunkee
    Jan 04, 2012 @ 22:29:34

    LOL the only game I’m playing right now is Words With Friends..at least like you said that one takes some mind power🙂 glad to see you back!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

