Memories

Memories.  I have none.  Seriously, my memory is failing me.  It is failing me at an alarming rate.  At least,  that is how it seems to me.   The worst part of it is when my daughter tells me something and I completely forget the next day.  That’s when I hear her say  “Mom, don’t you remember?  I told you yesterday.”  Well, if I remembered I would know wouldn’t I?  But I don’t so it seems obvious to me that I don’t remember.  DUH?   The question is:  Is this normal or am I well on my way to Alzheimer’s?

So I went to Wiki for the answers.  I started reading and was bored within 30 seconds and I had forgotten everything I read within 60 seconds.

What next?

The Persistence of Memory by Salvador Dali

This piece of art means nothing to me.  It came up when I put in an image search for memory.  I guess I should study this painting to discover my memory again.  I only wish my memory was persistent.

Now I know what you are thinking.  Post-it notes.

No,  they don’t work for me.  First,  I can never find them.  Second,  I can never read my own handwriting.  Third,  I forget to use them.

What else is there to say?  I don’t know.  I can’t remember.

10 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Peter Parkour
    Jun 04, 2011 @ 20:56:22

    Whatever the case, keep a good group of people around you/in touch with you, and they’ll remind you of anything worth remembering, and don’t even worry about forgetting the stuff not worth remembering.😛

    I think it’s perfectly normal. It happens to just about everyone at some time or another. Take me for instance, it’s happening way too soon for me, but happening none the less. The one that drives me nuts if forgetting words; potholes in a conversation.😐

    Don’t forget me, Joan. I’ll stop by from time to time to remind you.😉

    Reply

    • joanharvest
      Jun 04, 2011 @ 22:07:49

      Oh Peter, Thanks for the pep talk. Sometimes I need one. I forget words all the time too. My daughter and her hubby love Jeopardy I watch it too and I feel like I know the answers but just can’t remember the words. Whatever, I’m happy in the world that I can actually remember.

      Reply

  2. mvobsession
    Jun 05, 2011 @ 09:34:32

    Loved your post – at least I think I did…lol.

    Reply

  3. Anne
    Jun 05, 2011 @ 17:17:46

    Wow, did this hit home. Joan, I just had a neuro psych exam that took over 5 hours. I’m 41 and was extremely worried because when speaking most of the time I know the word I want to say but instead it gets lost mid-sentence. At home it’s frustrating but my family can see when I’m at my worst and they know what I’m going through. My girlfriends are the best- they know what word (s) I need and they shout them out. At work before going to talk to my boss I have learned to jot down the main points so I dont look like a floundering idiot. I cannot remember things people said to me the day before. I forget things that i’ve tried so hard to remember. I’ve seen hundreds of movies but forget whether I’ve seen them and I never remember the ending. Remembering a date? Forget it. I write it down but forget to look on the calendar. I also get big events jumbled together…then I’m flat out confused. Most days are spent in a constant state of frustration- but there are days when it’s way worse.Every once and a while I’ll have a day of great clarity- It’s such an empowering feeling…then it goes right back to wherever my memory hides. My psych Dr. told me before the testing she was surely a result of my depression. I didn’t believe depression could cause this! The neuro psychologist diagnosed with PTSD from sexual abuse as a child. From that horror stems depression and anxiety. Basically, all of my memory tests were parallel or excellent compared to others in my age group. So, $4,500 later – my memory is A-o.k. There is just a big crank in my wheel.

    Reply

    • joanharvest
      Jun 05, 2011 @ 18:20:13

      Seriously, what you describe is me. I was very depressed for a long time but about 3 years ago I started taking Zoloft and it made a huge difference in my life though I still have some anxiety caused by my drug addicted son. I used to get severe panic attacks many years ago but I have them under control. Most days I am convinced I have Alzheimer’s. I am the same as you with movies and books. It really is very frustrating. Thanks for sharing your story. It makes me feel better.

      Reply

  4. thebeadden
    Jun 13, 2011 @ 16:15:27

    (((hugs))) Joan. I forget things all the time and it makes me feel so stupid. I heard that it is normal for people with thyroid issues. It sucks. Sometimes I just stand there and try to remember what it was, that I was going to do. Sometimes I blame it on having too many things on my mind.

    It doesn’t happen all the time or seem near as bad as what you are experiencing. Geez, I don’t even know what to say. Good thing you are still happy. 😉

    Take care and I’ll pop by to check in more often.

    Reply

  5. The Girl from the Ghetto
    Aug 03, 2011 @ 15:10:42

    Oh, no! I am so sorry you are having memory troubles. I hope it isn’t affecting your ability to recognize dumbasses. (A hopefully much-appreciate moment of levity!)

    I don’t know if this helps you, but I’m so jacked up with my own memory I do and forget all sorts of things. I forget to pee, to eat, to read my friend’s Facebook walls. (That seems to be a major crime to them, but I can’t help it,lol!) Now I’ve been diagnosed with some stupid seizure disorder, and I won’t take the meds ’cause I already tried them for athritis pain, so I don’t know if all my memory loss is from stress, lack of sleep, other illnesses, or some new thing in my brain no one has figured out yet. I’m done with doctors, and if no one can handle someone who used to have a near perfect memory who now is a big dummy, too bad.

    I hope you find some peace or happiness while you are going through all this. I know I am NOT, and how bad that sucks.

    Reply

    • joanharvest
      Aug 06, 2011 @ 00:16:57

      Somehow my memory has sharpened when it comes to hunting down dumbasses. Unfortunately it’s not too sharp in other aspects of my life but I always seem to find the good in everything. Now when my daughter asks me to do her a favor and I don’t feel like it I can just say “Sorry Honey, I forgot. You know that bad memory of mine.” The thing I forget the most is conversations with certain people. Probably because they bore me to death. Thanks for stopping by sweetie!!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

