They say all things come in threes!

October 6th

About a week ago I went to the doctor because I was having stomach pain which I thought was an ulcer from taking too much Advil and Tylenol.  My Doc decided to have a CAT scan done on me that day.  Six hours later the scan was done and I got to go home after drinking way too much Barium which sucked by the way.

The next day the Doc called me with the results.  Seems I have a nodule on my adrenal gland,  a cyst on my pancreas and an inflammation on part of my lower left intestine.

After explaining  that the CAT scan can only tell them so much  the Doc told me I will have to have more tests.  She also mentioned the C word.  I guess any or all of these things could be Cancer.

November 12th

Here I am a month later. I just don’t know how time gets away from me.  I thought I had started this post a week ago, not a month ago.

I had an MRI done which showed I did NOT have cancer of the pancreas. Now I must have a colonoscopy done.  I have to wait until December 2nd.   By then it will have been two months since all this started and I still have stomach pain.  WTF!!   The colonoscopy will settle the issue of the thickening of the intestine.   Still don’t know about the  adrenal gland nodule.  Nor do I know when something will be done about it.

The medical community is very annoying to me right now.   I still have to have my left knee replaced and I also have to have the cataract removed. 

On the other hand,  how can I not be happy when I look at Lilah!

12 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. starlaschat
    Nov 12, 2010 @ 18:03:43

    Your right such a beautiful snuggle bug. Made me smile too just looking at her picture. Sorry to hear your having health difficulties. It’s amazing how frustrating going to doctors and trying to figure things out can be. I hope you get relief soon.

    Reply

  2. Gary
    Nov 12, 2010 @ 21:19:55

    Sorry to hear of your stomach pain Joan but glad to hear you don’t have cancer on your pancreas! Best of luck with your colonoscopy and adrenal gland! I hope everything works out ok for you!!🙂

    Reply

  3. Trisha
    Nov 12, 2010 @ 22:13:30

    Joan, you don’t know how much I worry about you and these dreaded tests. I pray that it all turns out to be exactly what you originally thought: you’re simply taking too much Advil or something.

    Meanwhile, you do have that beautiful grandbaby to look at and to love and be loved by. What a blessing. Now THAT’S something to stay healthy for!!
    Love you , Joan!

    Reply

  4. sheng
    Nov 13, 2010 @ 02:46:27

    Whatever you are going through, i hope things go better. i miss your posts Joan! Have a happy weekend!

    Reply

  5. Just a Mom
    Nov 13, 2010 @ 09:05:06

    Hang in there Joan! My prayers and good thoughts are with you always!
    Lilah is lucky to have you and she is probably lucky you don’t have good knees that way she can out run you!

    Reply

  6. schweetnsour
    Nov 13, 2010 @ 19:24:22

    Joan, I’m so sorry that you are having to go through all this. It sounds scary and frustrating! Just know there are so many people who love and adore you. I will also send up good thoughts and prayers. And, yes- by looking at that little sweet baby girl…. it’d be hard to not be happy. It’s so obvious that she is a pure joy in your life. Keep us posted. Love you! xoxoxoxo ~SS

    Reply

  7. laura
    Nov 14, 2010 @ 23:14:06

    First of all, Lilah is too stinking cute! Secondly, I’ve had two colonoscopies and if they knock you out, they’re easier than having your teeth cleaned. I’ve no doubt you’ll be fine but please keep us informed, and I too miss your posts!
    Take care.

    Reply

  8. jodes22
    Nov 15, 2010 @ 14:35:22

    She’s too freakin’ adorable, Joan!

    I’m glad it’s not pancreatic cancer. As always, you are in my prayers.

    HUGS to you and Lilah-loo.

    Reply

  9. Kate
    Nov 18, 2010 @ 03:43:53

    Lilah has grown so much ! It’s sad to hear about you having so many health problems:( Take care .
    Women’s Health Quiz
    Are you taking care of your health?
    http://www.3smartcubes.com/pages/tests/women_health/women_health_instructions.asp

    Reply

  10. Care
    Nov 19, 2010 @ 07:22:41

    OH Joan, may the medical community be responsive and successful in helping you be the best you can be! It IS frustrating, I know.
    She is a beautiful kid and her gma is AWESOME. 🙂

    PS did you really win $ as your tweets say?! or have you been hijacked? sigh…

    Reply

  11. The Girl from the Ghetto
    Dec 11, 2010 @ 01:22:04

    I am thrilled to hear you don’t have pancreatic cancer. Yikes Joan! I myself have cysts all over my insides and no one ever tells me why this happens, but all I know is I get them on my ovaries, my liver, & my kidneys. Every two months or so one will rupture and it is like deathly painful–I wonder if you have intestinal cysts. Or, since there is a nodule on the adrenal gland, I’m wondering if you should see and Endocronologist. You know I am the queen of medical conditions & office visitsl, so I can’t help but play Dr. House and try to diagnose you. I hope you find relief from your symptoms soon.

    I have nodules on my thyroid, and I want to share a wonderful thing my Endocronologist once told me, which helps me worry less. When you hear doctor’s say the words nodule and cyst, try not to worry, as they are small and typically just something to watch over. Once a cyst/nodule gets over 3mm (or is it cm?) it turns into a tumor, which can be benign, or of course, possibly scary cancer.

    Reply

  12. Sherifa
    Dec 31, 2010 @ 15:06:07

    “On the other hand, how can I not be happy when I look at Lilah!”
    she is sooo cute❤ you can't not be happy
    Wish you are feeling better now.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

