Am I Crazy?

I’m thinking I might be crazy or I wouldn’t be disappointed because   Hurricane Earl is losing strength.  I don’t want some killer storm.  I don’t want anyone hurt or to lose their home, etc, etc.  I just like a good storm. 

I love that we will all hunker down and hopefully play Trivial Pursuit.  I’ll somehow cook a good meal and we will turn something negative into a good thing.   Tomorrow morning I will make Greek Stifado.  We have a gas stove so we should be able to heat it up in the evening when the hurricane hits.  Greek Stifado is a fabulous dish. You have to like onions, wine and beef and if you do you will love this.  I’ll post the recipe tomorrow.

It seems to me that when you lose electricity everyone sort of bands together.   It’s very boring to sit in the dark alone but when you are all together you can make it a fun thing.  I was disappointed that the wasband and Leslie wouldn’t be here.  To me the more the merrier.

My fondest memories are of blizzards with the kids going out to sled while I roast a chicken in the oven.  That is a tradition for us. SNOW = roast chicken with stuffing and gravy, mashed potatoes, corn,  butternut squash and biscuits.  Sarah still loves it when it snows and I roast a chicken.

The more I write the more I realize that when there is bad weather we all join together and spend time together.  I think that is why I love storms so much.

Wow, I just saved a lot of money for therapy sessions.  Maybe I am not crazy.

SARAH”S  JEWELRY STORE THIS AFTERNOON

16 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. maleesha
    Sep 02, 2010 @ 21:56:38

    I love storms and bad weather too…there is something exciting about “surviving” that we don’t get to experience much in our lucky, lucky society.

    Reply

  2. javajunkee
    Sep 02, 2010 @ 21:57:33

    no, you are not crazy! you are a cool mom and grandma who finds the good in a bad situation and makes it a memory!

    Reply

  3. Jen512
    Sep 02, 2010 @ 23:59:57

    Yep, not crazy. Nobody likes an anti-climactic moment. Although in your case maybe it’s a anti-climatic moment…get it, climate? Okay, okay, bad pun.

    Reply

  4. Just a Mom
    Sep 03, 2010 @ 06:01:27

    Well if you are crazy then I am right there with you! It’s amazing how much fun it is when there is no power. Wow you just gave me a thought… at least once a month I am going to go out and throw the breaker and have a power free evening. I wonder who would kill me 1st the husband or the kids!🙂
    Stay safe and have fun!

    Reply

  5. starlaschat
    Sep 03, 2010 @ 08:48:43

    I think events like big storms can draw people close. I think Earthquakes can be like that too, it littlerly shakes up your world and the day to day. I could imagaine hanging out with you guys playing games, cooking,talking. Glad your safe.

    Reply

  6. lupusranting
    Sep 03, 2010 @ 12:07:40

    You are totally not crazy, Joan. I love a good storm too. We have tornadoes all the time in Missouri. When I was growing up, I used to watch the weather roll in all the time with my father. If the storm sirens started up, we’d actually go outside, even though my mom was hunkered down in the basement with a radio and candles. Rain, snow, wind … bring it on!

    Reply

  7. Tasneem R
    Sep 04, 2010 @ 06:08:31

    Wow you’ve a foodie reason for liking the storm ! LOL !
    Yeah I too find it boring to sit alone in the dark when the power current is gone but when everyone is jumbled in a room , it feels fabulous ! Roasted chicken sounds yummy!
    Looking forward for that recipe which you mentioned.
    Here’s a fun test – Are you Relatively Perfect?- See yourself as your family sees you
    http://www.3smartcubes.com/pages/tests/perfectrelative/perfectrelative_instructions.asp

    Reply

  8. Doraz
    Sep 06, 2010 @ 16:39:26

    Joan. I know that you will do whatever it takes…always. I also thought of you when I heard of the news. I am happy to see that things do seem in order and you have got it down. You have the best attitude around.🙂 Thank you for stopping in and wishing me a Happy Birthday. I appreciate your kindness. I hope you and your family stay well and happy. Thank you for sharing your photos with us all.

    Reply

  9. Doraz
    Sep 10, 2010 @ 17:30:13

    Something silly I got sent…hope you laugh*

    RETIREMENT is DIFFERENT for EVERYONE

    One day, while going to the store, I passed by Lanark Lodge. On the Front lawn were six old ladies lying naked on the grass. I thought this was a bit unusual, but continued on my way to the store.

    On my return trip, I passed the same nursing home with the same six old ladies lying naked on the lawn.

    This time my curiosity got the best of me, & I went inside to talk to the Nursing Home Administrator.
    ‘Do you know there are six ladies lying naked on your front lawn?’

    ‘Yes,’ she said. ‘They’re retired prostitutes & they’re having a yard sale.’

    Reply

  10. Peter Parkour
    Sep 16, 2010 @ 12:00:03

    If and when I go back to eating meat I’m gonna have to make it to your place for a good storm. Love me some roast chicken.:mrgreen:

    Reply

  11. MusEditions
    Sep 23, 2010 @ 18:24:08

    Glad it went away, and it’s been good to see you back!🙂

    Reply

  12. starlaschat
    Sep 29, 2010 @ 07:23:40

    Come out come out where ever you are. Is the sun back out?

    Reply

  13. The Girl from the Ghetto
    Oct 18, 2010 @ 13:33:35

    I’m all about storms; although we don’t really get hurricanes here in Michigan. But we had that bitchin’ blackout in 2003 and EVERYBODY hung out in the streets, grillin’ and chillin’ together and it was fun.

    I love it when people are forced to put down technology and go offline!

    By the way, I love that photo, how awesome are those owners?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

