Hurricane Earl

I guess Earl is headed our way.   We won’t really know how close he is going to get until Thursday night.  I know they are already pulling boats out of the water.  It seems the summer is going to end early around here.   Tourists would normally stay through Labor Day but it seems many are going to leave early.

The last hurricane to give us a lot of damage was Hurricane Bob in 1991.  I was divorced at the time and Sarah and Damon were 12 and 10 years old.  It was just the three of us. I thought about leaving and going to my sister’s house one street over but decided to wait it out at home.  Just as well she had a tree land on her house and I didn’t.   I could hear the tall skinny white pines falling down all over the street.  There were a lot of them.  I guess that’s why they called my street White Pine Lane.  One also fell on the house across the street from us. 

At one point it got so bad that we went in the basement.  Damon fell asleep.  He would always fall asleep when he was scared.  When the eye of the storm was over us we stepped outside for a few minutes.  Most of the neighbors came out too.  A tree across the street fell even though there wasn’t any wind.  Everyone started running  to their respective homes.

By evening it was over with and we decided to take a ride into town to make sure my store was still standing..  Wow, we were dumbfounded at all the trees and wires that were down. We finally had to go back home because so many streets were blocked with trees and branches.

We lost our electricity for a full week.  Without electricity we had no water ( we had an electric water pump), and no stove.  I had filled up the bathtub so we could use the water to flush the toilet.  We cooked on a camp stove and at night I had kerosene lanterns.  Every night the three of us would play cards and games.  We had a cooler that we had to fill every day with ice that was 10 times the normal price.   We lost all of our food in the fridge.   Fortunately, I had my health food store so we had all the water and dry goods we could possibly want.

PATH OF EARL

Well, It is what it is.

7 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Joy
    Sep 01, 2010 @ 07:34:36

    I thought about you last night when I saw the path of this storm. Aren’t they scary? People who’ve never been through something like this don’t understand it at all. I’m terrified of tornado’s because I lived through one when I was very young. Take care and stock up on all the stuff you can and think you’ll need. Meanwhile, I’m crossing everything I can for you guys.

    Reply

    • joanharvest
      Sep 01, 2010 @ 20:46:02

      To be honest, I am much more afraid of tornadoes than hurricanes. When the kids were younger I had many tornado dreams where I couldn’t find the kids just before a tornado was coming. I’ve been through many hurricanes. I think the one in 1991 was the worst and it was only a category 2. Hurricane Carol his in 1954 and I don’t remember much of it. Well, we’ll see what happens.

      Reply

  2. Just a Mom
    Sep 01, 2010 @ 10:04:25

    I hope you guys stay safe. I have a love/hate relationship with Hurricanes. When I was a kid and carefree I was one of the idiots that liked to go down to the beach a few hours before one hits or wander out when the eye comes over. But now that I have kids I can’t do that! I have to worry, and boy do I do that, about their well being.
    I lived in New Hampshire in 1991 when Bob hit. I kid you not I was out in the storm sellig Kirby Vacuums during the storm! The last house I stopped out I dumped stuff all over the carpet and then the power went out! The ladyfelt so bad for me she bought one! That was my last day as a Kirby salesman!
    We went through Ike in 1998 and we lost power for about a week. We were lucky because we had a generator. We had the fridge, the tv and a fan hooked up to that baby! We were king of the neighborhood!
    Stay safe you guys!!

    Reply

  3. Nicki
    Sep 01, 2010 @ 16:35:47

    Stay safe!

    Reply

  4. Peter Parkour
    Sep 16, 2010 @ 11:54:18

    Did the store have a refrigerated section?😐 And how did this storm turn out for you? I’m guessing you’ll tell me in a post I have yet to get to.😉

    Reply

Leave a Reply

