General Toes Day 3

So tonight I tried making a new recipe.  It’s a weight watchers recipe called General Tso’s chicken.  I have had this before in Chinese restaurants and I love it and so does Sarah so I had to try it.   I never pronounce that general’s name correctly so I call him Toes.  Well, Sarah and I loved it, though I will make some small changes next time.  I will include this recipe here.  First I will tell you what I ate so far today.

  • Breakfast sandwich–I have this for breakfast every day because it fills me up and I like it.  I have made it myself from scratch but the Jimmy Dean D’lite sandwich takes two minutes to nuke and making it myself, well, it’s just not happening.  5 points
  • coffee 3 points
  • Lunch -Lean Cuisine pepperoni pizza.  I love these pizzas.  Granted I could eat 4 or 5 of them but I will settle for one.  7 points
  • Dinner-  Toes chicken  6 points.
  • snack -Smart Ones peanut butter sundae  3 points
  • snack:  lentil chips and cottage cheese  3 points
  • Vita brownie and whipped cream  2  points

Total 29 points

At the end of the recipe I will tell you what I will change next time.

General Tso’s Chicken
POINTS: 6
3/4 cup(s) canned chicken broth, reduced-sodium
1 1/2 Tbsp cornstarch
2 Tbsp sugar
2 Tbsp low-sodium soy sauce
1 Tbsp white wine vinegar
1/2 tsp ground ginger
2 tsp peanut oil
2 medium scallion(s), chopped
2 medium garlic clove(s), minced
1/2 tsp red pepper flakes, or 1 dried chili pepper, minced
1 pound(s) uncooked boneless, skinless chicken breast, cut into 2-inch pieces
2 cup(s) cooked white rice, kept hot

    In a medium bowl, whisk together broth, cornstarch, sugar, soy sauce, vinegar and ginger; set aside.Heat oil in a wok or large skillet over medium-high heat. Add scallions, garlic and red pepper flakes; cook, stirring frequently, 2 minutes. Add chicken; sauté until browned all over, about 5 minutes.Add reserved sauce to pan and simmer until sauce thickens and chicken is cooked through, about 3 minutes.Serve chicken and sauce over rice. Yields about 1 cup chicken with sauce and 1/2 cup rice per serving.

I  was going to make a vegetable to go with it but I didn’t have time because Sarah had to go back to work .  The General’s chicken usually has broccoli in it but it wasn’t included in the recipe and we had just had broccoli a couple of days ago.  Next time I will add broccoli to it.  After Sarah and I each took a cup of the dinner there wasn’t much left so Obie will be eating something else when he finally gets home. The broccoli would have stretched it out more.  It just seemed like a lot of chicken to be eating.  The flavor was really good though so I will make it again. Oh, the 6 points includes the 1/2 cup of rice.

So I still have a few points to have another snack later tonight.  I think I will take a photo of the recipes I make after this.  I swear, if I wasn’t blogging about what I am eating I would probably be staring into the fridge for more food.

10 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Hannah
    Aug 19, 2010 @ 03:05:09

    Ooh, thanks for the recipe!! I love trying new WW recipes and when they come with a favourable review, it’s even better! I will definitely be giving this one a whirl.

    Can you please tell me how you make the breakfast sandwich when you DO make it from scratch? We don’t have a lot of the “lite” products you have, and I’ve never heard of Jimmy Dean. But it sounds like a nice filling breakfast and I could probably have it at the weekends (not every day because I’m only allowed 18 points a day, and I usually only use 3 or 4 at breakfast otherwise I don’t have enough for my dinner).

    Reply

    • Sarah
      Aug 19, 2010 @ 08:42:27

      I buy an english muffin with a lot of fiber in it so it is 1 point. I use only the white from an egg which is 1 point. I use a low fat cheese for 1 point and low fat turkey sausage. Put it all together and you have a sandwich. Keep in mind that protein fills you up more than carbs. You need both but I high protein breakfast will fill you up for longer than say cereal of a muffin or pancakes.

      Reply

  2. jodes22
    Aug 19, 2010 @ 08:30:41

    That sounds yum! Glad to see you back!

    Reply

  3. Just a Mom
    Aug 19, 2010 @ 08:31:06

    Joan I love that you are doing this! I tried doing this before but I couldn’t keep it up.
    This recipe looks awesome. One question, I don’t think I have used ginger before is it an over powering spice? My kiddos are picking so I was just wondering if I should omit that or not.

    Reply

    • joanharvest
      Aug 19, 2010 @ 16:14:18

      Well, I hope I can keep it up. My life sort of depends on it. I know if I lose weight I will have a better chance of getting really old. Hopefully that’s a good thing.
      I love ginger but it does have a strong taste if you use too much. Personally, I think the 1/2 tsp just gives a hint of ginger. I might use a little more next time because I am such a fan of it. Also the red pepper flakes are hot. I didn’t use as much as they said I should.

      Reply

  4. Joy
    Aug 19, 2010 @ 17:53:05

    Boy, this sounds just ymmy. If you had a picture here I’d ask to put it on our blog. We’ve started doing recipes a few times a week but so far, no low cal ones though I wish I knew more. This sounds deLISH.

    BTW, Joan’s right. Too much ginger is too much but when you get the right amount, I love it.

    Reply

    • joanharvest
      Aug 19, 2010 @ 20:04:47

      I actually decided today to start taking photos of the foods I make so hopefully tomorrow I will remember. Anytime you want a recipe to post on your blog just let me know.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

