A Reason to Blog: My Weight Loss Journey with Weight Watchers. DAYS 1& 2

A couple of years ago I lost 80 pounds through Weight Watchers.  Then, as things spiralled around me including moving to an island to live with my daughter and her husband, dealing with my heroin addicted son, becoming a grandmother ,  my weight took a back seat.   Now my son is sober for 4 months and doing very well;  I love living with my daughter and hubby; and most of all I love caring for my granddaughter, Lilah.  

I also realize I have no clue about punctuation.  Look at the previous paragraph.  I’ve used colons, semi colons, commas and periods and I used them sort of randomly.  Whatever!  This isn’t about punctuation.

Now I am ready to take on weight watchers again.  My daughter is joining me for a while to get the baby fat off.  With her support and your’s my dear readers I will succeed.

So, yesterday I ate:  (I just love those colons.)

Day 1

  • Jimmy Dean
  • coffee  3 points  (only because I love those General Foods International Swiss Mocha coffee. It’s 1 point per cup)
  • Lunch.  Sarah and I went to lunch at the same place that Obama ate lunch when he was here last year. “The Slice of Life”. I had a grilled turkey/mozzarella/pesto sandwich.  It came with a little coleslaw.  It was delish.  It was also 15 points.
  • supper;  I forgot what I ate but it was 7 points.
  • snacks:    One was Popchips for 1 point.  They are awesome.  One was a Smart Ones Peanut Butter Sunday for 3 points and the other was a Vitalicious brownie with strawberries and Fat Free whipped cream and that was only 2 point.

Total for yesterday 36 points.  I am allowed 30 points a day so I am deducting 6 points from my extra 35 points that I get each week.

Day 2

  • Jimmy Dean breakfast sandwich  5 points
  • coffee 1 point
  • lunch :  I had a Lean Cuisine for 8 points
  • supper;  I had a teriyaki turkey burger.  2 points for the burger, 2 points for the Alvarado Street Burger Bun  (These are awesome)  Reduced fat cheddar cheese for 2 points so 6 points for the burger.  I also use a WW recipe for the teriyaki turkey burger.   We also had a salad: 2 points for the  avocado.  The Raspberry Vinaigrett was 1 point. The rest of the veggies was 0 points.  We also had 10 Popchips for 1 point.
  • snack:  Smart One PB ice cream sunday, 3 points
  • snack:   The Mediterranean Snack Food Co Cucumber and Dill Lentil Chips, 22 chips = 2 points.  Fiber 1 Cottage cheese, 1 point.  I did add onion, apple cider vinegar and herbs de Provence to the cottage cheese for some flavor.
  • Vita brownie and whipped cream  2 points

Total 30 points. 

So, there you have it. I’m going to post this now but I may add to it later.  It needs some humor.  Ha! Ha!

14 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Sarah
    Aug 17, 2010 @ 22:44:14

    Well for supper on day one we ate the apple chicken with broccoli and mashed potatoes

    Reply

  2. javajunkee
    Aug 17, 2010 @ 22:47:24

    ohhh it’s good to see you here. I think you are an amazing and beautiful woman, friend, Mom, grandmother etc.

    I think this is not only a great way to see how you are doing but maybe it will get us all back together over here on the blogs! I may take your lead here and write something!

    I LOVE you soul sister!

    Reply

  3. Just a Mom
    Aug 17, 2010 @ 23:45:37

    Good luck Joan! I am trying to get my butt back in the swing of things as well! Let me tell you when you break 3 ribs and bang up your knee from a biking accident at the age of 39 it takes awhile to recover. But after 4 months I am recovered and I now need to lose the 30-40 pounds my lazy sore butt gained!

    Reply

    • joanharvest
      Aug 17, 2010 @ 23:53:36

      I somehow missed the fact that you had an accident. OUCH! I am glad you are recovered now. Well, I can attest to the fact that WW works. My daughter wants to lose about the same as you. My sister fell a few months ago and broke her hip. She found that it took her a lot longer to heal than she thought it would.

      Reply

  4. Hannah
    Aug 18, 2010 @ 03:10:50

    First of all, that is such great news about Damon!!🙂

    Secondly, I think it’s amazing that you are rejoining WW right when I have decided that I also need to go back! Remember you inspired me the first time around, and again you are going to inspire me now and keep me on track. I’ve regained a little of what I lost 2 years ago and need to get it off before my clothes don’t fit! I threw out my “fat” clothes AND my “in between” clothes and am determined NOT to buy anything that’s not in my current size. So if I want to wear clothes, I need to nip this gain in the bud. NOW.

    So glad we can help each other out again! You sound like you are doing great so far🙂

    It’s extra special that Sarah is going with you, it’s always easier to lose weight with somebody else (especially when you live with them).

    Reply

    • joanharvest
      Aug 18, 2010 @ 20:35:35

      I agree. It will be much easier doing it with Sarah. It’s nice to have that support from your friends too. You and I can certainly help each other with ideas. I did it once so I know I know I can do it again.

      Reply

  5. Claire
    Aug 18, 2010 @ 08:00:15

    Love this! You are going to do great. I love that you are blogging what you ate. It gives me ideas of things to eat. I get so bored with figuring out what to eat so I usually eat the same things all the time. Slows down the weight loss.

    Reply

    • joanharvest
      Aug 18, 2010 @ 20:37:25

      I know I have told you this before but I have to say it again. You are my inspiration. You have done a wonderful job at getting healthy in so many ways. It can really get difficult to come up with new ideas to keep the boredom away.

      Reply

  6. starlaschat
    Aug 18, 2010 @ 11:27:28

    It’s so nice to see you Joan! I’m looking forward to you blogging. I’ve missed you! I know you will do great with WW. I think it helps to have the household on the same page. I think it helps to be doing it together. I’m also glad to hear about the good news of your son.

    Reply

  7. Joy
    Aug 18, 2010 @ 19:16:19

    I agree that I’m so happy for Damon. Just look how well he’s doing.

    It’s so good to see you back. I can’t wait to hear more from you.

    Reply

  8. joanharvest
    Aug 18, 2010 @ 20:42:31

    Hi Joy, Things are going very well here. I think I can, no, I know I can do this. I really do miss blogging. I was playing about 30 games and now I am down to two. They were taking over my life.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

