Easter

Whoever is still checking this blog will be surprised I posted two days in a row.  Like I said I really miss blogging but now that I think of it I really miss my blogging buddies.

I’m going to attempt to make the rounds and visit everyone on my blogroll.  Just don’t hold your breath.  I might be a little slow about it.

I titled this post ” Easter”  because I couldn’t think of anything better to call it and then I started thinking of the Easter Bunny.  Seriously, the Easter bunny?  I thought this was supposed to be a religious holiday.  When did the Easter bunny come into play?  I understand the whole Santa Claus business but I’m not getting the Bunny Business.

Well, I just got back from Wikipedia– my go-to website for quick info.  Come to find out, the Easter bunny is German. Didn’t know that.  Here is a quote from Wiki: “” The Easter Bunny or Easter Hare (sometimes Spring Bunny in the U.S.)   Maybe I’ve been neglecting the news but it is definitely news to me that the Easter bunny is sometimes called the Spring Bunny.   Sorry, but I am going to continue to call him the Easter bunny.  That’s right, I am politically incorrect.  On the other hand if you,  my dear reader,  prefer Spring Bunny, be my guest.

Anyway, the whole egg thing and bunny thing comes from Germany and if you are interested to learn more you can go to Wiki.  I’m sort of  bored by the whole thing.  On to something else.

I had to throw in the cartoon.   I didn’t get any candy for Easter.  That is probably a good thing.  I did get a lovely Easter basket from my daughter.

I hope you all had a great Easter and thought of more than the bunny.

11 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Hannah
    Apr 04, 2010 @ 23:04:53

    Hi Joan!! Great to see you blogging again. I do understand though, as I’ve lost my enthusiasm for it as well. So much easier to just write a status update on Facebook!

    I never really “got” the whole Easter Bunny thing. It makes less sense down here as it’s not even Spring! It’s Autumn! So there are no bunnies or daffodils or chicks hatching, LOL! We focus on the Jesus aspect of Easter in our family, so I’ve never worried myself too much over not understanding the bunny thing! I just told my kids the other day that the Easter Bunny wasn’t real. Mean, huh?! But thanks for sharing your information about where it originated; quite interesting!

    Happy Easter!

    Reply

    • joanharvest
      Apr 05, 2010 @ 00:10:22

      I don’t know if I have ever told you but I think you are the most awesome mother and wife. Your family is very fortunate to have you. The way you love your family is always wonderful to read about in your posts. It’s so important to spend as much time as possible with family and I can see that you do. Happy Easter!

      Reply

  2. Slamdunk
    Apr 04, 2010 @ 23:26:28

    Loved the cartoon–very funny…

    Reply

  3. c
    Apr 05, 2010 @ 09:30:31

    Hello, Joan! Boy, is it nice to read you again. I hope you had a lovely Easter with your family.

    Reply

    • joanharvest
      Apr 05, 2010 @ 11:39:43

      Hi c, It’s great to see you. I hope things are going well for you. I’m going to check out your blog to see if you are still writing. You have such a great way with words.

      Reply

  4. starlaschat
    Apr 05, 2010 @ 09:50:52

    Aaww beautiful Easter basket from your daughter pretty and sparkly how nice. Glad to see you blogging. I stepped away from blogging for a long spell as well. I missed my blogging buddies too, funny how that is. It is nice to see you ;+). I’m glad your still here and doing well.

    Reply

  5. Joy
    Apr 05, 2010 @ 10:27:12

    Here’s the old Joan I love and miss. What a knee slapping post. Hilarious.

    I can not tell a lie. I adore the Easter Bunny. I’m one of his helpers. I can’t resist the urge to spoil everyone around me on any given holiday. I just think time goes by so fast so why not give the little ones good memories they will have their whole lives.

    You basket is gorgeous. You have a wonderful daughter.

    Reply

  6. Doraz
    Apr 05, 2010 @ 17:44:45

    I have missed you when I come by! I am refusing to go on Facebook! I have an account, but I will not do more! lol🙂 I just can’t! I do not have the time to extra stuff. I will stop in and I hope you have time to do the same! I love seeing you around the blogging community.🙂

    Reply

  7. trishatruly
    Apr 05, 2010 @ 18:30:23

    I am such a sicko, Joan. Every time I see a dead rabbit by the side of the road I am tempted to stage it with plastic colored eggs all around it so that it looks like the Easter Bunny got run over by a Mack truck.

    I know…I can’t help it. It’s who I am. 😆

    Reply

  8. bluejeansue
    Apr 06, 2010 @ 12:30:43

    Love it, Joan. Germans (yay! can u tell I have German blood in me?) gave us lots of stuff apparently. (The Christmas tree is another of their goodies.) Never heard him called the Spring Bunny either…just shows to go ya, huh! We never know it all.

    Lovely angel – is it made of natural materials? The bottom looks like could be corn husks. No fuss, no muss – and nonfattening!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

