What should I post about?

I have some free time because Sarah took Lilah to a friend’s house.  So I am sitting here wondering what I should post about.  I am going to do my best to NOT write about the baby but I am finding that very difficult.  She is so damn cute. 

Anyway,  I find it hard to come up with something else because the baby is such a big part of my life right now.  What I am coming to realize is that I need to get out of the house and do some fun things or some crazy things so I will have fodder for my writing.

The problem with getting out of the house is where to go.  This is an island and not a very big one.  You can’t even buy liquor in this town.  It is a dry town.  I didn’t realize there were any dry towns left in the US.  Wouldn’t you know I’d end up in one.  Not that I drink a lot but drunks are definitely fodder for writing about dumbasses. I wonder why I keep using the word FODDER?

“A 2004 survey by the National Alcoholic Beverage Control Association found that over 500 municipalities in the United States are dry, including 83 in Alaska. Almost one half of Mississippi‘s counties are dry. Its alcohol laws are similarly complex. In Florida, five of the 67 counties are dry (they are Lafayette, Liberty, Madison, Suwannee, and Washington) all of which are located in the northern part of the state, an area that has cultural ties to the Deep South.”

The above is from Wikipedia.  I learn something new everyday.

Back to the drunks. So I just started looking up images for drunk folks.  Unfortunately, I found most of them very pathetic. Here is the difference between a funny drunk photo and a pathetic.  Of course, this is just my opinion.

FUNNY

PATHETIC

You never know where writing will take you.  I started off  wondering where I could go for some FODDER for my writing ( fodder again?) and I end up writing about drunks.  Hmmmm!!

23 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Joy
    Jan 24, 2010 @ 17:41:48

    I’ve sure missed your posts Joan. I really miss everyone. It would appear our little blogging family is all either taking a hiatus or have just stopped blogging and I miss everyone so much. I do like some Facebook games but would much rather read everyones blogs. It seems more real to me.

    I’m so happy that you’re so happy. Lilah is just simple gorgeous and I know how busy you are taking care of her. Kuddo’s to you my dear, I couldn’t do it. You’re so lucky you and Sarah get along the way you do because there is NO WAY I could live with my mother. Often times I wish I could but one of us would be dead in no time.

    Dry island huh? No Miller High Life? If I come, I’ll have to bring my own to give you some dumbass shit to write about.

    Thanks for posting. It was great to “see you.”

    Reply

    • joanharvest
      Jan 25, 2010 @ 00:41:30

      I am glad I can keep up with a few of you on Facebook. I miss everyone too. We have a wonderful group of bloggers. I am very fortunate that Sarah and I get along so well. We have a really good time together. Tonight we made babyfood. We make all of Lilah’s food ourselves. No jars here. We made Pears tonight. Every night we make something and freeze it. We have pears, sweet potatoes, carrots and peas in the freezer, all made from fresh organic vegetables. We always have a great time making her food. Yes, when you come here, and I am sure you will some day, we will have a high old time. My SIL brews beer and he is good at it. Much better than store bought.

      Reply

  2. Doraz
    Jan 24, 2010 @ 19:25:46

    Hi Joan…
    Thanks for stopping in and bringing me up to date with what is happening in your FANTASTIC world! You are making sooo many wonderful memories out your way! You have a very special family that deserves the very best life has to offer! Keep your sense of humor going! Hope all is going well with Weight Watchers. I am on a daily ride with that! LOL🙂 Stay well and happy! Regards to all!

    Reply

    • joanharvest
      Jan 25, 2010 @ 00:35:28

      Hey sweetie! I’ve missed you. Things are great and I am back to trying to losing the pounds, It is certainly a bumpy ride. I am making memories for sure only I hope I can remember them.

      Reply

  3. Claire
    Jan 24, 2010 @ 20:00:37

    I started reading this post and felt like you got up in my head and started describing my life! Right up until the living on a dry island and all that. My little granddaughter isn’t even here yet and she’s taking up a lot of my time. That and work.

    Don’t you just LOVE being a grandma? I think it’s even better than being a mom.🙂

    Reply

    • joanharvest
      Jan 25, 2010 @ 00:32:57

      I remember you telling me how awesome it was to be a grandma. Wow, were you right. I honestly can’t think of anything better. Not even Pizza. I am looking forward to your granddaughter. I can imagine all the wonderful clothes you will be making for her. Boys are wondeful but I love the girlie clothes.

      Reply

  4. laura
    Jan 25, 2010 @ 00:38:34

    C’mon! You can write about your granddaughter all you want if it means you’ll write something! And you live in a dry town??? Thanks for the warning! If we ever sail up that way I’ll keep this in mind.

    Reply

  5. joanharvest
    Jan 25, 2010 @ 00:45:06

    Hi Laura!! I hope you are doing well. I sometimes feel that all I do is write about Lilah. It’s so hard not to but I don’t want to bore people but she is just so damn cute. I suppose all grandmothers say that. I sure wish you would sail up here. It is a sailor’s paradise. Let me know when.

    Reply

  6. Tasneem R
    Jan 25, 2010 @ 02:15:41

    Hi Joan ! Nice to see you ! Well that’s fine if you write about Lilah , in fact I always visit your blog just to hear from you about Lilah !

    Baby Talk
    Are you helping the speech development of your baby?
    http://www.3smartcubes.com/pages/tests/babytalk/babytalk_instructions.asp

    Reply

  7. jodes22
    Jan 25, 2010 @ 10:19:04

    THIS is exactly why I love reading your blog, Joan! One never knows exactly where the journey of your word is going to go, but it’s for sure as hell is going to be funny!!

    Thanks for the chuckle!

    Reply

  8. Just a Mom
    Jan 25, 2010 @ 10:22:37

    Only you can have writer’s block and come out with a great post!
    I lived in a dry town for a year. The funny part was one block away in the next town you could buy booze!
    Thanks for putting a smile on my face!

    Reply

  9. thegirlfromtheghetto
    Jan 26, 2010 @ 02:04:44

    I miss your posts, too Joan, but I think being with your family is much more important.

    Utah is a dry place, too. Had a friend that lived in Cedar Breaks, and we always had to bring like six half gallons from Vegas to get him through a few months, lol! I had no idea your island was dry, either, but then again all I know of it is from Summer Sisters by Judy Blume.

    Reply

  10. Gary
    Jan 26, 2010 @ 11:14:09

    Hi Joan! Great to see a new post from you! I agree with Heather. Only YOU can somehow turn writers block into a great post about drunk dumbasses. LOVE IT! ROFL!!!

    Reply

  11. Peter Parkour
    Jan 28, 2010 @ 02:05:12

    Wow! Not only did you publish a new post, you even commented on some of the comments.😛 Always good to see you around, Joan. Always good to hear about whatever it is you think too.😉

    Reply

  12. teeni
    Feb 03, 2010 @ 13:37:48

    So good to see a post from you! I will have to remember to bring the booze when Care and I come to visit you! LOL!

    Reply

  13. Di
    Feb 09, 2010 @ 01:28:48

    Oh my you live in an alcohol free town Joan. A few of my mates could do with living there Hehe !!

    Blogging is on and off as is facebook as is life I quess.
    Lovely that we are still around Joans of Mums.

    Love Di. x

    Reply

  14. Wendy
    Feb 18, 2010 @ 14:13:19

    The Pathetic photo should have been disturbing but it made me laugh right out loud, proof that I’m a real sicko I guess.🙂

    Reply

  15. David
    Feb 22, 2010 @ 20:28:27

    It’s so great that you make all the baby food! And I think you could brew beer from the extra fodder. Oops I think I might be cross commenting on your Facebook posts. It’s all one big happy internet!

    Reply

  16. croneandbearit
    Feb 23, 2010 @ 11:59:46

    My Fodder used to fall down when he drank too much. ooooh sorry, very bad pun. I need to find you on FaceBook! Hugs!

    Reply

  17. Romi
    Feb 24, 2010 @ 09:51:42

    I think your writing ends up being funny no matter what direction you take it in😉

    Anyway, I hope you’re continuing to have a blast with Lilah (I’m sure you are), she is beyond frickin’ adorable!🙂 )

    Reply

  18. thegirlfromtheghetto
    Feb 25, 2010 @ 22:02:49

    I love the new banner Joan!

    Reply

  19. Doraz
    Mar 24, 2010 @ 23:25:40

    Just stopping in to say Hello!
    Hope all is going well and all is happy!🙂

    Reply

  20. souldose
    Mar 25, 2010 @ 03:13:41

    You really should post more because you’re one hell of a writer, you make the post interesting and even if it was long I was gonna read with gusto

    Reply

Leave a Reply

