Screaming for Food!

Not having been around infants for a while I had forgotten some of the interesting things they do.  Lilah is helping me remember.  Every three hours you can count on Lilah to let me know she’s hungry.  She doesn’t just cry she screams. 

I started thinking about how life would be if we all screamed when we were hungry.  Imagine what suppertime would be like.  The children would all be in the kitchen setting the table screaming as they do it.  Mom would be finishing up supper screaming as loud as the children.  Dad would walk in the door after work screaming louder than everyone.

In the summer you would hear all your neighbors screaming  unless you had a noisy air conditioner. Restaurants would be brimming with folks sitting at their tables screaming.   Ear plug companies would be making millions even in this economy.

And what about the person who never screams.  You would know they pig out on food all the time and you would know if  people were skinny they were bulimic.  You wouldn’t be able to hide it. 

 

Hungry Woman!

screaming 2

 

 

Imagine not being hungry at breakfast and attending an early morning business meeting.  Suddenly you are starving and of course screaming.  There’s no food.  You have to leave the meeting.  You’re fired for not eating breakfast.

Wow, I guess I really am overtired.  I’d better go to bed.

16 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Hannah
    Aug 19, 2009 @ 00:07:26

    LOL, Joan! The world sure would be a funny place if everybody screamed when they were hungry🙂 And LOUD.
    I hope Lilah is doing well, apart from the screaming. Which is normal for one of her age, of course😉

    Reply

    • joanharvest
      Aug 19, 2009 @ 00:25:15

      I actually don’t even mind her screams. That baby can do no wrong in my eyes. I’m probably the only one in the house who thinks her screams are cute. I also think I’m a little deaf and don’t hear them as loud as everyone else.

      Reply

  2. jeanette
    Aug 19, 2009 @ 01:08:12

    Sometimes it is a bit unfare, you know😉 Because at Lilah’s age is totaly ok to scream if your hungry or if you want something, but getting older it’s not. Wouldn’t it be just great to just to once in a while be able to do the same thing ? Just scream your heart out😀 Have to admit, that sometimes I do that but it’s all in vain though *lol*

    Reply

  3. Just a Mom
    Aug 19, 2009 @ 09:19:00

    You mean it’s not normal for the kids to be screaming while they set the table? What the hell did I do wrong raising my kids now?!🙂

    Reply

  4. birdpress
    Aug 19, 2009 @ 17:27:44

    That’s funny! I get cranky when I’m hungry but I haven’t considered screaming before…

    Reply

  5. Jen512
    Aug 19, 2009 @ 18:06:37

    Hahaha, and what about when we need to go to the bathroom? More screaming!

    Reply

  6. mrsvierkant
    Aug 20, 2009 @ 22:22:46

    ROFL! 😀 She’s just letting you know who’s boss that’s all. 😉

    Reply

  7. kilax
    Aug 21, 2009 @ 07:21:24

    I just sometimes wish I had a baby’s/kid’s intuition when it comes to food – they eat when they are hungry and get upset when their stomachs are empty. I eat for SO MANY MORE reasons than that!

    Reply

  8. Emerald
    Aug 22, 2009 @ 15:51:32

    Sometimes I think it’d be a good idea to just let out whatever it is we want. How much happier would I be if I could walk around all day screaming? “I’M HUNGRY!!! I’M TIRED!!! WHY IS IT ONLY FOUR OCLOCK!?!?! WHY DO SIT IN AN OFFICE SHUFFLING PAPERWORK I DON’T CARE ABOUT?!? WHY CAN’T I WORK OUTSIDE TODAY???”

    Of course I can’t speak for how happy others would be😛

    Reply

  9. Lupusranting
    Aug 25, 2009 @ 08:45:05

    I scream for ice cream!

    Reply

  10. widdleshamrock
    Aug 26, 2009 @ 21:43:41

    lol, good point Joan.

    I might do it tonight before dinner and see what happens…

    Reply

  11. Anonymously Secret
    Aug 28, 2009 @ 01:16:57

    My mum will have a splitting headache everytime I scream. Poor her.

    Reply

  12. thegirlfromtheghetto
    Sep 02, 2009 @ 12:18:42

    I am so hungry right now I COULD scream for food. I am very glad we humans came up with a language. I have a hard time hearing screams from non-babies and/or kids. Adults scream at my work daily and I’m not going to be missing that!

    Hope you are doing well. Seen any good movies lately Joan?

    Reply

  13. sarah
    Sep 12, 2009 @ 09:37:23

    dear joan
    i am not sure where or why i came across you…i think i was looking for a picture of a dog typing and i found a post you put up somewhere a year ago when damon was in alaska. i was really touched by it…so i read your recent blog and got an update.
    i just thought i tell you i think you’re great. especially a great mother.
    well, i am female, a mother, 61, need a knee replacement, live in romania where i teach english in an international school. thats enough.
    glad things seem to have calmed down in yo9ur life. lilah looks lovely.
    god bless.
    sarah

    Reply

    • joanharvest
      Sep 15, 2009 @ 20:35:11

      Hi Sarah–Thanks for finding me. Thank you for the kind words. I really appreciate them.

      I am really glad that I got my knee replaced. I plan on doing the other this winter.

      My son Damon just got a job and started today. I am really hoping it works oput for him.

      Please stop by again.

      Reply

  14. Tony
    Sep 18, 2009 @ 03:46:01

    Ha Ha really funny Joan. I almost get to the point of screaming for chocolate if there’s none in the house & I want some. I just scream on the inside

    Reply

Leave a Reply

