Illegal Handicapped Parking

OK, I am going to get on my soapbox.   I went to the local convenience store tonight to pick up some Diet Coke.  The store has 2 handicapped spaces.   A lot of the spaces were filled including both handicapped spaces.  My problem was a woman without a handicapped placard parked in one of  the only two available handicapped spaces.  This may sound cruel but her fat little daughter could have walked the distance much easier than me.

I can’t believe that someone would actually counterfeit disabled parking placards.  What a freakin’ dumbass lazyass thing to do.

Counterfeit

I,  actually, earned my handicapped placard by putting up with lots of pain.  I don’t understand why this woman thought she was exempt from parking in a handicapped space.  You would think she would have realized her fat little daughter should be walking for her health when she went into the store for a shitload of crap.

This behaviour will be ingrained into her daughter who will act just like her mom–a rude insensitive person.

Do you remember The Eagles song “Teach Your Children Well”?  What happened to that philosphy?

19980729_disabled-parking-only

Obviously I had to give her a tough time so I parked behind her and started waving my placard at her and sort of yelling at the same time but I was nice I didn’t use profanity.  Dumbass isn’t profane is it?  Then I pulled up so she could move her car.  While she was doing that I made sure she saw me take down her license plate number.  Of course I can’t do anything with it because the island doesn’t have volunteer handicapped ticket people like Falmouth did.

OK, I’m done.  I feel better.

17 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. kilax
    Jun 30, 2009 @ 20:24:26

    She must think she is so smart. That makes me so sad. Her daughter WILL be just like her.

    Reply

    • joanharvest
      Jul 02, 2009 @ 20:43:12

      We teach by example. This means I can’t swear ever in front of the new baby. Sarah told me I’ll have to put money in a swear jar if I do. You have to set a good example if you want your children to be respectful of others.

      Reply

  2. Hannah
    Jun 30, 2009 @ 21:31:50

    It makes me angry when people without the disabled placards park in the disabled carparks. My Mum had one for awhile after she had surgery on her foot, and I know how much effort it was for her to walk from her car. It really upset me to see able bodied people using those spots simply because they are lazy.
    Good on you for taking down her plate number, even if you can’t do anything about it. Hopefully just the sight of you doing that will be enough for her to think twice next time.

    Reply

  3. Eric Richardville
    Jun 30, 2009 @ 23:48:54

    That is really lazy. Karma has an interesting way of rearing its head though.

    Reply

  4. Anonymously Secret
    Jul 01, 2009 @ 02:49:29

    That fat girl needs to do a little work. It’s not that hard to walk a little further just to get some “shitload of craps” from the store. Won’t they think about the disabled who have to crawl their way through the parking lot?

    Reply

    • joanharvest
      Jul 02, 2009 @ 20:47:04

      I don’t know how some people can be so thoughtless of others and only think about themselves. I’m no martyr but I do try to put myself in someone else’s place.

      Reply

  5. Just a Mom
    Jul 01, 2009 @ 09:14:57

    Good for you for yelling at her! You should try and get them to do the volunteer handicap ticket program. All you have to do is tell them it will bring the city more revenue and I am sure they will get it going!

    Reply

  6. starlaschat
    Jul 01, 2009 @ 16:03:52

    I agree with Eric pay backs a bitch. Life has a funny or not so funny way of working these things out.

    Reply

  7. Doraz
    Jul 01, 2009 @ 19:55:40

    jOAN…i AM RIGHT WITH YOU ON THIS SUBJECT! i GET so UPSET WHEN STUPID PEOPLE THINK IT IS THEIR right TO PARK IN HANDICAPPED, IF THEY FEEL LIKE IT! sOME OF THE KIDS AT MY SONS SON ACTUALLY HAVE THEIR GRANDPARENTS , SO THEY CAN FIND A SPACE TO PARK ON CAMPUS INSTEAD OF THE STRREETS! i WAS SO MAD WHEN i HEARD OF THIS! mY KIDS JUST LOOKED AT ME AND AGREED! gOOD LUCK!🙂

    sORRY ABOUT THE LETTERS…TOO LAZY TO FIX! hOW IS THE BABY DOING?

    Reply

    • joanharvest
      Jul 02, 2009 @ 20:52:48

      Lilah is doing great. I need to take more videos of her.

      Some people think just because they have money they can get away with anything.

      I am always turning the caps lock on by mistake.

      Reply

  8. Joy
    Jul 02, 2009 @ 10:57:03

    This is such an irritant to me. What about people parking in “NO PARKING” lanes in front of stores? Or people who s-l-o-w-l-y drive up and down each isle just to get a spot close to the door and your behind them? I hate that. If you’re able, park your damned car and walk. What’s the difference if you take another 30 steps? Those extra steps to a handicapped person could be life threatening.

    You had a good rant today too🙂

    Reply

    • joanharvest
      Jul 02, 2009 @ 20:54:40

      Too many people just don’t seem to care any more and that is sad. It’s caring about others that makes us human. What do we turn into when that stops? Nothing good I’m sure.

      Reply

  9. Emerald
    Jul 03, 2009 @ 13:40:10

    Don’t you just love how people walk around with this air of “Oh hi, I’m me, the rules don’t apply.” I don’t care if your kid is fat or you sprained your ankle -THAT PARKING SPOT IS NOT FOR YOU!!! I don’t drive, so I think the closest comparison I can make is people who are sitting in the subway seats CLEARLY marked with ‘please offer this seat to elderly persons, disabled persons, or anyone requiring assistance’ and then stare dead ahead as someone who could really use that seat comes in and falls in someones lap when the train starts to move. Jerkfaces, the lot of them.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

