A Man Obsessed

In February of 2008 my wasband, now known as Grampy,  wrote a post here about his adventure with a squirrel.  It was a true story and evidently his adventure with that squirrel has come back to haunt him.

In Grampy’s last adventure he tried to electrocute a squirrel.  This time he is trying to frighten one to death.  Not only that, he is trying to teach his 13 day old granddaughter, Lilah, how to rid our yard of all squirrels.

We have two squirrel proof bird feeders that our highly intelligent squirrel has completely conquered.  Now Grampy is convinced that our wily squirrel is a relative of the squirrel he tried to electrocute those many years ago.

A couple of days ago Grampy came home with a large ball of twine.  He proceeded to tie one end to the pole holding the bird feeder and brought the other end into the house.  Whenever he sees a squirrel near the base of the feeder he pulls the twine , the feeder shakes,  the squirrel jumps about 4 feet into the air and proceeds to run like hell because he is so scared.  Grampy stands there and howls with laughter as the frightened squirrel stares at him from the tree.

Squirrels are very persistent and our furry culprit never seems to want to give up.  Every time I turn around Grampy is at the door pulling that string.  He’s convinced that the squirrel will finally give up.  I have my doubts.

Short Grampy video

Later on Grampy brought Lilah outside to show her how to throw rocks at near squirrels to scare them.

After Grampy and Lilah came in the house they both decided to relax.

barry % lilah

17 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Doraz
    Jun 25, 2009 @ 23:38:18

    Joan, I just loved this story and the picture and video. You captured the moment…several times! That picture of grandpa and Lilah is FANTASTIC! I can’t stop smiling! Thanks….🙂

    Reply

  2. jeanette
    Jun 26, 2009 @ 00:53:53

    Those squirrels are very stubborn by nature ; )

    Love the pic of Grampy and Lilah, those moments are to treasure for sure.

    Reply

  3. Anonymously Secret
    Jun 26, 2009 @ 04:10:32

    I read the story about him trying to electrocute the squirrel. That was freaking hilarious!

    Awww, a grandpa and Lilah moment. How cute! Lilah’s so small and tiny!

    Reply

  4. Just a Mom
    Jun 26, 2009 @ 10:30:03

    Too funny!

    Reply

  5. starlaschat
    Jun 26, 2009 @ 12:20:23

    That was a funny story! Looks like squirrel fishing, LOL I’ll have to read the other story about electrocuting the squirrel. The last photo was adorable those really are the moments of life that make living special.

    Reply

  6. croneandbearit
    Jun 26, 2009 @ 13:57:43

    If only this tactic would work on some of my neighbors…

    Reply

  7. Maureen at IslandRoar
    Jun 26, 2009 @ 14:24:58

    Funny! And love that adorable tie-die sleeper!

    Reply

  8. pamajama
    Jun 26, 2009 @ 14:44:15

    I am in love with your ex-husband, Grampy. Anyone willing to waste time doing such ridiculous endeavors goes straight to my heart. And you — for taking video and posting it — one notch higher:)

    Reply

  9. birdpress
    Jun 26, 2009 @ 16:58:37

    That video was hilarious! OMG, I laughed out loud for real at his evil laugh at the end of it. 😆

    Reply

  10. Tony
    Jun 26, 2009 @ 19:16:19

    We don’t have squirrels here in Tasmania, but they are so unbelievably cute that it’s hard to imagine them being pests

    Reply

  11. David
    Jun 26, 2009 @ 19:22:30

    Hee hee! That was funny. Grampy would appreciate the sight I happened to see the other day when I stepped out back to take a leak behind the compost pile (a time-honored method of animal repelling) … I heard a snapping branch sound in the pine trees by the garden. Then a gray squirrel comes thudding to the ground and runs away! How often do you see a squirrel fall out of a tree? If only Oliver could have seen that. He would PLOTZ!

    Reply

  12. Eric Richardville
    Jun 27, 2009 @ 20:36:46

    Absolutely loved it. The picture of them relaxing is so cute. I love it.

    Reply

  13. mrsvierkant
    Jun 28, 2009 @ 14:07:51

    ROFL! I love his laugh.😀 Maybe Grampy can come and get rid of the rabbit in our yard that keeps eating my hubby’s black eyed susans.

    Reply

  14. laura
    Jun 28, 2009 @ 15:09:02

    My dad has that same wicked sense of humor (I think you read my post about the Amish ladies leaving their pies to cool in the outhouse and my dad spent the day encouraging everyone to buy one. See what I mean about the sense of humor?) Anyway that picture of Grampy and Lilah is too precious and I love the tie-dye onsie.

    Reply

  15. laura
    Jun 28, 2009 @ 15:09:59

    My dad has that same wicked sense of humor (I think you read my post about the Amish ladies leaving their pies to cool in the outhouse and my dad spent the day encouraging everyone to buy one. See what I mean about the sense of humor?) Anyway that picture of Grampy and Lilah is too precious and I love the tie-dye onesie.

    Reply

  16. odette
    Jul 01, 2009 @ 10:19:47

    that tie-dye onesie is a winner, lilah is soooo cute in it!
    great laugh from grampy too! ^-^

    Reply

  17. mrssnell
    Jul 03, 2009 @ 23:15:32

    So not fair to make me laugh so hard I get hiccups at midnight. LMAO

    Happy Fourth to you and family, Joan. Hope Lilah enjoys her very first Independence Day holiday (and doesn’t freak out with the resounding boom of fireworks. If she can handle Grampy, I’m guessing she’s already well equipped to deal with fireworks. LOL!!!)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

