Fat –Weight Watcher ideas!

Yup, I’m fat.  I’m not plump or chubby or large.  I’m freakin fat as in really fat or at least I was two years ago at 350 big ones.  Granted I’ve slimmed down some but I still need to lose a good 100 pounds.

scared-cat-cartoon-kitty-frightened-of-fat-lady-from-behind

For me Weight Watchers has been key.  I never could have done it without the meetings.  Losing weight is  hard.  I don’t care what some skinny woman says.  IT IS HARD!!  But not impossible.  I have lost at least 1000 pounds over the years using every fad diet around.  Obviously, none of them worked but weight watchers does (for me).

I have about 30 or more recipes that I have adapted to weight watchers that even the rest of the family loves.  I also have found some good low point snacks.  I thought I would share a few of them with you.  They are not mind bending recipes or snacks but they are tips that work for me.

  • I don’t care what anyone says water does NOT fill me up.  Maybe for about 2 minutes but that’s it.
  • Vitalicious muffins and brownies are a great snack.  OK, the brownies do not taste like Duncan Hines but if you heat one , add fat free cool whip and strawberries you have a 1 weight watcher point snack. www.vitalicious.com. I buy the mix because it’s cheaper to make them than to buy them all made.  The ingredients are healthy and with 6 grams of fiber they help fill you up. Vitalicious makes a blueberry muffin mix which you can turn into awesome pumpkin muffins for 2 points.  The recipe is on their website.
  • Kozy Shack chocolate pudding is another healthy product which tastes great for 1 point.  www.kozyshack.com
  • Lay’s ruffle potato chips makes a fat free chip.  A 1 ounce bag is 1 point  BUT it contains Olestra which can give some people diarrhea. Fortunately 1 ounce doesn’t bother me.  1 oz is like a small bag of chips.  I dip them in salsa which is 0 points.
  • I slice yellow squash and dip the slices in salsa for 0 points.
  • Orville Redenbacher makes mini bags of 94% fat free popcorn that you pop in the microwave for 1 point. It’s good too.
  • I have to eat lots of protein in the morning.  Protein will fill you up longer than carbs will.  It’s a fact.
  • For breakfast I eat 2 egg beaters & 1 turkey sausage patty stuffed between 2 slices of weight watchers multi grain bread.  Total points is 4.  I usually add veggies to the egg beaters for 0 points.
  • Sometimes instead of using bread I will use a 1 point wrap which do exist.
  • If I am feeling lazy I will eat a Jimmy Dean breakfast sandwich D’lite.  I eat the turkey sausage ones for 5 points. It’s an English muffin, cheese, egg beaters and a turkey sausage.
  • I make sure to eat lunch so that I am not starving at supper.
  • I also eat berries for snacks.  Berries have less sugar than most other fruits.
  • Weight watchers makes some good ice cream for 1 or 2 points if I’m craving the cold stuff.

I think I have more ideas but I can’t remember them right now.  I have to go harvest my corn at Farm Town on Facebook.

farmtown

31 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Hannah
    Jun 06, 2009 @ 05:23:12

    Those are awesome ideas, Joan! Salsa is AWESOME! Zero points and sooo tasty. I love it with rice crackers (1 point for 10 crackers). Such a great snack.
    I wish we could buy some of the brands you mention. Our choices are quite limited. But I do love the WW desserts. Do you have the ice cream sundaes and the cheesecakes? Soooo nice! I usually write down 2 points for my dessert first thing in the morning so I make sure I allow for it during the day. It’s my “treat” for the day, after dinner while watching TV.

    Reply

    • joanharvest
      Jun 06, 2009 @ 12:35:55

      I’ve never seen the sundaes or cheesecakes. 10 rice crackers is good for one point. Good to know. I wonder what other weight watcher products I’ve never seen. I just bought their shredded Mexican cheese which is great. You get a lot for 2 points. I use their bread because two slices is only 1 point. I plan my points for the day too so that I always have a good snack at night. Sometimes 2 snacks.

      Reply

  2. Diane
    Jun 06, 2009 @ 05:35:35

    Weight Watchers is a real blessing for you…ir’s more about being conscious about what you are putting into your body than constantly being involved with “I’m dieting…I’m dieting.” What a great program.

    I had an interesting diet experience. http://www.drhoffman.com has the salad and salmon diet on his website, on the top banner on the sight. Saw Dr. Hoffman (a few thousand dollars, but a gift from my son) who tailored nutrients after doing my bloodwork. I lived on organic turkey and chicken breast, salmon and cod with organic vegetables, both poached in a bit of water with herbs or baked with olive oil. When? breakfast, lunch, dinner…breakfast, lunch, dinner…breakfast….boring? Oh, yes, but my cholesterol went from 254 to 175 in one month. Still take lots of nutrients but not one prescription medication, which, at 80 years old, ain’t bad. This diet was about 2 years ago, but I still eat this way about 70% of the time. Known to whip up a bunch of popovers for breakfast now and then…..

    Reply

    • joanharvest
      Jun 06, 2009 @ 12:22:16

      No prescriptions at that age is awesome. I know with myself I need a very varied diet which is why I think weight watchers works . My cholesterol has gone down 60 points and my blood sugar 40 points. We also eat organic foods and I love salmon. We eat a little beef but not much mostly chicken. I do love my egg beaters for breakfast and there is actually a healthy brand that I use. The Vitalicous company uses all natural ingredients in their brownie and muffin mixes so I can get my sweets in a healthy way. You are so right it isn’t a diet it’s just eating as healthy as you can.

      Reply

  3. sheng
    Jun 06, 2009 @ 07:39:56

    Oh, i am addicted to Farm Town too, maybe we could be neighbors? Haha… I’m neighbors with JavaQueen, hahaha…

    Reply

  4. Just a Mom
    Jun 06, 2009 @ 09:23:39

    Thanks for the tips! I love salsa. I cut up celery and dip it in salsa for a snack. Sometimes my body needs to have that crunch or it doesn’t think I have eaten. Strange but true!

    Hi, I’m Just a Mom and I’m a Farm Town addict. Somebody please help me. I keep singing The Farmer in the Dell and yesterday I drove by a real farm and I had the sudden urge to pull over and look for the Harvest button!

    Reply

    • joanharvest
      Jun 06, 2009 @ 12:25:18

      Another Farm Town addict. I guess we will have to start group meetings for Farm Town Anonymous. The first thing I did when I got home was to see if I had crops to harvest. But it is so much fun!!!!!

      Reply

      • javajunkee
        Jun 06, 2009 @ 15:07:48

        where is the meeting? I’ve got it bad. I’m twitching and my feet are swelling and please help me!

        Reply

        • joanharvest
          Jun 06, 2009 @ 15:17:31

          We’ll have to meet at the Inn at Farm town. We can drink and try to figure out how to not farm so much. Once we’re drunk enough it won’t matter anyway. Then we’ll hit an AA meeting because of all the drinking.

          Reply

  5. Joy
    Jun 06, 2009 @ 10:17:49

    I too thank you for the recipes. I’m always looking for a good snack and that yellow squash looks really good to me. Thanks for these.

    I’m Joy, also a Farm Town addict and I’m proud to be your neighbor😉 I gotta go. I have grapes ready to harvest😉

    Reply

    • joanharvest
      Jun 06, 2009 @ 12:28:25

      The funny thing is that Farm Town isn’t some high tech computer game that costs $60 and has awesome graphics. It’s just this simple game that gets you hooked. Who would have thought that harvesting rice and planting tomatoes could be so much fun. It’s crazy.

      Reply

  6. starlaschat
    Jun 06, 2009 @ 10:18:32

    So that’s the Farm Ive been hearing about! Over at Javajunkee she’s been talking about how much fun the farm game is.

    Great List, I appreciate and hear the resolve in you voice, well words that you are clear on what you are ready to accomplish. Sounds like weight watchers is really a great program. Way to go!!! I know you can loose the weight you want.;+)

    Reply

    • joanharvest
      Jun 06, 2009 @ 12:31:17

      You must get on Facebook and join the Farm Town community with Javajunkee, Java queen, Joy, Just a Mom, Trisha, Birdpress and I. It really is fun. You too can stay up until 3AM harvesting corn.

      Reply

      • starlaschat
        Jun 06, 2009 @ 15:33:38

        OMG 3am LOL What and miss my precious sleep. I feel so tempted. Looking at the other girls and thinking Hmm just one little harvest wouldn’t hurt now would it? LOL

        Reply

      • javajunkee
        Jun 07, 2009 @ 14:48:15

        OH SHIT…2 nights I stayed up until 3am. This brings back the days/nights of Firefly ..the first chat program I was ever introduced to. My bff and I would stay up until 3am “chatting” to people and then have to get up at like 7am to do the whole “mom” thing. But we were like 10 years younger then….I am going to crash soon. And then a night with way too many kinds of alcohol last night..I need a nap and there is the field to tend to and…jobs to do and …………..HELP ME!

        Reply

        • joanharvest
          Jun 07, 2009 @ 15:18:40

          I wish I had been there last night. Sounds like fun. Hope you feel better!! It was much easier to party when I was younger but it ‘s not going to stop me.

          Reply

  7. birdpress
    Jun 06, 2009 @ 12:51:52

    Great tips here, Joan! You have gotten some healthy habits. Any chance I can get you into the green smoothie thing with me?😉 I’ve been having them every day. I got a bunch of different fruits to blend in and for the greens I use either spinach or kale, and sweeten with splenda. I have this either for breakfast or as a snack. Or both, because usually I make enough for two servings.

    Have you ever tried mashed cauliflower instead of mashed potatoes? It’s yummy and low in carbs and calories. I like to make cauliflower “rice” Just pulse it in a food processor until it resembles rice, then microwave until it is soft. I like to do this and then add black beans and salsa or canned, seasoned tomatoes, then put it into a low-carb wrap. (I usually mix in parmesan cheese too, because I like parmesan cheese in just about everything.) You can also use romaine lettuce leaves instead of wraps if you want to be really good!

    Reply

    • joanharvest
      Jun 06, 2009 @ 13:29:16

      Thanks for the tips. I am definitely going to try the cauliflower ideas. I have been thinking about making smoothies too. I would probably add a protein powder because I always seem to fill up best with protein. Thanks four your tips. I can always use new ideas.

      Reply

  8. birdpress
    Jun 06, 2009 @ 12:52:43

    Oh yeah, and obviously I am a Farm Town addict too, LOL. I have that stupid song stuck in my head right now.

    Reply

  9. Doraz
    Jun 06, 2009 @ 14:30:26

    Farm Town sounds like fun. It is great that you can all be neighbors and grow your stuff~~~
    Joan…I REALLY appreciate all the helpful hints you gave on losing weight. You are truly giving yourself the best gift in life…taking care of yourself, and all of us, so we are around a bit longer in this crazy world! I wish you all the success to reaching your goal~~~~🙂

    Reply

  10. thegirlfromtheghetto
    Jun 06, 2009 @ 14:55:25

    Ok, I never blog about weight because my hubby reads my blog and I don’t like the fact that I’ve gained a scary amount of weight in a very short time. I hate reminding him of it, esp. since he has a perfect muscluar body and I have become a fat tub. BUT, I went on a new ADHD medicine, and even though I have to drink water constantly, and it makes my head hurt a bit, not only is it helping me, but I love it because I’ve lost like 12 pounds on it in three weeks. I adore food, I have a love affair with it, it is all I think about. I can remember the best meals of my life, when and where they were had -Bruno’s in Venice, August 2005 and an Italian Monestary, Florence, with strolling opera singers in the hills, same week.) If a friend goes to a wedding, I have to hear every detail about what she ate. Seriosly, I have food demons. Being an Italian, I honestly believe that I was born into it. Hubby is the same way, so it is hard for me.

    Joan, weight loss is a way of life, never a diet and I know that you know this. You look so good please keep that in mind. Three times in my own life Hashimoto’s has caused me to gain weight rapidly, and this last time it has been impossible to take off, because I get dizzy with exercise, and even standing almost all the time. I’m pushing myself to walk my two miles daily, because my doctor’s at Mayo told me I HAVE TO. My heart can’t handle stress, and I have to raise my heartbeat, it is very slow.

    Tell yourself that it down to life and death with you, because you KNOW that being lighter will help with the back and other health issues. This is what I do, and once I get in my zone, I’m unstoppable. I’ve had to quit things like caffeine and pop for my stomach troubles, and now sweets for weight loss. Even my dear love of red sauces and tomatoes have to be in moderation. I never thought I’d see the day switching sour dough english muffins to whole wheat.

    Sorry to go on and on, but I want you to feel better. I make this black bean and corn salsa recipe and put it on top of a salad and use a low fat cilantro dressign from Trader Joe’s and it is yummy and filling. Try all recipes.com for more healthy meal choices, and good luck.

    Reply

  11. museditions
    Jun 07, 2009 @ 02:31:34

    Thanks very much for sharing some of your favorite strategies! I think it’s a great technique to plan on one or two night-time snacks, so you know you have that to look forward to.
    I hope you’ll forgive me for this…I’m not on Facebook, and don’t know about Farm Town, but since you mixed it in with this post, I started calling it ‘Fat Farm Town’ in my mind.😳 It does look seriously fun.
    You are doing great! Good for you! And that baby is going to allow you even more exercise, yay!

    Reply

  12. mrssnell
    Jun 07, 2009 @ 17:20:25

    Joanie, I hope you don’t mind if I share your post with my eldest stepdaughter. She’s always looking for tips like this and reported to us today that she has now, (so far) lost 36 lbs.
    She’ll just love these tips!

    Reply

  13. mrssnell
    Jun 07, 2009 @ 17:22:19

    PS, we love those Baked Lays! That’s all we buy for the house!

    Reply

  14. laura
    Jun 07, 2009 @ 18:57:30

    Thanks for the muffin and brownie tip! I don’t ever have that stuff in my apartment for the sole reason; I’ll eat all of them! It would be nice to have one guilt free. And water does not fill me up either. Never has. Just makes me pee like crazy! Now, envision yourself one year from now and keep up the good work.

    Reply

  15. mrsvierkant
    Jun 07, 2009 @ 22:24:18

    LOL at the comic Joan, that’s great. 😀

    I’m on facebook, you can look me up. I don’t do Farm town though. I’m a little nervous about the Apps. My anti virus software found trojan horses and viruses… yikes!

    Just add an Angela before my last name and you’ll find me.

    I love your WW tips. Water doesn’t work for me either. I like light rye crisp crackers with fat-free cream cheese (I think that’s one point for two crackers.) Fills me up pretty well, when I have the munchies. 🙂

    Reply

  16. fightingwindmills
    Jun 08, 2009 @ 21:39:56

    You eat yellow squash raw? I’ve never heard of that, but it sounds plausible. I love the cartoon that goes with your post. How is Sarah doing?

    Reply

  17. javajunkee
    Jun 08, 2009 @ 22:50:44

    hey how come we don’t have a b’day party going on over here??? Happy Birthday Joan!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

