How fast does your ketchup flow?

There once was a government study done on the flow rate of  ketchup.   Did we really have to pay someone to find out how fast ketchup flows?  Remember when it was spelled catsup–not any more.  Catsup came from the word Catchup  which goes back as far as 1690. Catsup came in use around 1730.  Now, all the major companies who make it call it ketchup.

Any product that a manufacturer wants to call ketchup has to follow a strict set of guidelines that the FDA came up with.  There is a very narrow range for the flow rate.  Hence the government study.  The first ketchup didn’t even have tomatoes in it.  So I’m wondering if  I made a ketchup like  product and called it catsup–would I have to follow those guidelines or could I make it really thin or really thick?

I love my job.

Ketchup Conundrum mustard spaghetti sauce grey poupon condimentshistory antropolgy investigation whatever

And don’t forget…

071130_ketchup

Now you may ask  “Why is she writing about ketchup?”.   I honestly don’t know.  I do know that there is a helluva lot of information on line about ketchup.  I’m thinking I better learn about mustard.  How could I not?

This is interesting.  Let’s compare bullets to ketchup.

50KetchupStandard

I guess I’m just trying to keep busy to pass the time away so I started thinking about ketchup.

Ketchup isn’t just for eating anymore

1.   cleans copper

2.  makes great fake blood

3.  helps remove skunk odor

4.  wash your hair in it if your hair turns greenish from chlorine

5.  polishes silver

6. speed painting — and here’s the video that shows you how



14 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Just a Mom
    May 27, 2009 @ 11:01:39

    Hmm… it polishes silver you say? I might just have to give that one a try!
    I can’t wait to see what you can do with mustard! Hey why your’e at it why not check out Mayo!
    You crack me up🙂

    Reply

  2. Joy
    May 27, 2009 @ 12:39:36

    You crack me up too Joan….Catsup!!! I remember that!! LOL!!!

    Removes skunk odor??? Really?? As in ON an animal? That is really good to know. I’ve hear tomato juice so I believe it. Living where I do, this seriously is good to know.

    You’re a regular knee slapper Joan.

    Reply

  3. birdpress
    May 27, 2009 @ 18:41:42

    I have tried using ketchup as fake blood, and I have to tell you, I was really disappointed. It’s too watery and the color is not right at all. Plus it smells like Ketchup.

    Ketchup ≠ fake blood.

    Reply

  4. JavaQUEEN
    May 28, 2009 @ 00:34:25

    Nice speed painting there at the end- LOL!

    Reply

  5. ms firefly
    May 28, 2009 @ 03:36:40

    i like the speed painting too, that was fun!
    and i’ll check cleaning my silver with ketchup, i hope it’d be a success!

    Reply

  6. javajunkee
    May 28, 2009 @ 08:12:45

    LOL hhhmm now this is an interesting topic! So somebody really gets paid? NO SHIT? I want that job! you know what I hate is that if you forget to shake the bottle you get that fine runny line when you first squeeze the bottle. I HATE THAT!!! YUCK…where the hell is quality control?

    my 17 year old son puts ketchup on EVERYTHING. It makes me want to chuck cookies.

    Reply

  7. thebeadden
    May 28, 2009 @ 11:49:29

    Another fricken government study on useless stuff! I wonder how much that cost American taxpayers?

    I am going to try that on my silver! cool!

    Reply

  8. Doraz
    May 28, 2009 @ 14:12:11

    WOW, what a video! I have trouble with crayons! What a talent! Thanks! Loved the informative post!

    Reply

  9. starlaschat
    May 29, 2009 @ 15:49:04

    Wow I have a sudden urge to paint with Ketchup. I worry about anything that can clean silver or copper. hhmm??

    Reply

  10. mrsvierkant
    May 29, 2009 @ 21:37:49

    Thanks for letting me “catch-up” with all the ketchup/catsup facts that you’ve found. 🙂 The kids and I did an April Fools joke with a bandage and ketchup and fooled my hubby big time!

    Reply

  11. writer chick
    May 30, 2009 @ 14:16:47

    Only you Joanie could make ketchup/katscup interesting. Though I have to agree, you have too much time on your hands.😉
    Annie

    Reply

  12. Emerald
    May 30, 2009 @ 15:04:16

    Talea and I take turns buying bottles of ketchup at work – with all the grilled cheeses and toasted westerns we eat for breakfast, we can never run out! And those girls at the counter are so stingey with the packets of ketchup…

    Reply

  13. javajunkee
    May 30, 2009 @ 22:15:24

    oh wait they’ll bump this up a step by taking it on the next space mission and use a gazillion dollars to see how quick it pours and in what direction.

    Reply

  14. thebeadden
    Jun 04, 2009 @ 14:01:35

    I tried the ketchup on my silver and it worked! A lot of elbow grease but that was because I hadn’t cleaned it in a dogs age. But I can see it working great if you polish more often that I do. Thanks again for the tip!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

