2 Weeks From Today

2 weeks from today I will turn 60.  That thought hit me on the head like a brick  yesterday. So I am back to weight watchers after a 3 month hiatus.   I went to my first meeting yesterday.  I checked on line to be sure it wasn’t canceled because of the holiday and  headed out.  I arrived to see the leader on her cell phone by her car and a somewhat empty parking lot.  She hadn’t posted the fact that the meeting was canceled.  She was kind enough to weigh me in.  I really haven’t lost any weight in the past year but on the other hand I haven’t gained much.  My highest weight a little over two years ago was 350 pounds.  I weighed in today at 266 pounds.  My goal is to be under 200 pounds by Christmas.

Every Monday I will be posting how I do.  I really have to get back on track.  I invested way too much time and effort on this soI have to keep up.

Also 2 weeks from today my granddaughter is due to be born.  I need to be in better shape if I want to keep up with her.  It’s been almost 11 weeks since I got the new knee.  It is so nice to not have that knee always hurting.  If anyone is questioning whether to get a total knee replacement I would definitely recommend it.  I still have the back problems and need to get another facet block.

One more note about 2 weeks from today.  Johnny Depp was born.  Woo Hoo!!!!!

I have to clear my head right now.  That writer’s block thing is hanging around me.

writers-block

29 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Davis
    May 26, 2009 @ 12:04:29

    I’m on a similar quest to yours — good luck to us both

    Reply

    • joanharvest
      May 26, 2009 @ 13:42:27

      Either you’re trying to lose weight or you have writer’s block which I doubt. I couldn’t have lost what I lost without weight watchers. But yes, good luck to us both.

      Reply

  2. Joy
    May 26, 2009 @ 12:23:58

    That cartoon is great. I loved it. I think you have accomplished a great deal Joan and I don’t think you should beat yourself up. Just get back on that horse. You have had a lot of change in the last little while and I’m thankful that you didn’t “gain” much. You have come so far so I’m very happy you have decided to get back to WW. If I could have one wish it would be to have 1/8th of my grandchildren’s energy and I would have more if I lost a good 40 pounds too. I have to get back on track myself.

    WooHoo…only two more weeks!!! Awesome on both counts. I can’t wait to hear what her dear little name is going to be. Do you already know?? We knew for sure with the oldest grandson. He was named pretty much right away. The granddaughter we “kind of” knew but they didn’t really want to say. The youngest grandson they couldn’t decide so his name got drawn from a cup. Toby won the draw but I think even if he’d have lost, Sue would have given in because he wanted a JR in the worst way.

    I can’t wait for two more weeks!!!!!

    Reply

    • joanharvest
      May 26, 2009 @ 13:45:11

      I guess the kids have narrowed down their list of names. The problem is they won’t tell even me. They want to wait until they meet her before they pick out her name so we all have to wait. I can’t wait to seeher and know her name.

      Reply

      • Joy
        May 26, 2009 @ 13:55:30

        Toby and Sue were like that too as far as the name went. We knew a couple of the choices but I also knew which one it was going to be and I have to say, I love Trinity Joy. But they wanted to see her before they decided “for sure.”

        Reply

  3. writer chick
    May 26, 2009 @ 12:47:07

    Hey Joanie bah-Boanie –
    Good girl! Wow, you’ve lost a lot of weight already. I’ll bet getting back to it, won’t be nearly as tough as the first time out. I know you can do it – I’m rooting for you.

    Can’t wait for your little grand daughter to come out to say, hi. Will you start her blogging right away or wait until she can actually talk? 😉
    Love
    Annie

    Reply

    • joanharvest
      May 26, 2009 @ 13:53:21

      That baby will start blogging right away. I should probably give her a page or blog of her own. I’m afraid if I don’t my blog will turn into a grandma blog. I don’t want to bore everyone with 100 baby pics every time I blog or stories about how she is the smartest and cutest kid in the world. I think there are a lot of blogging grandmas out there who would argue that statement. But I do want to chronicle her growing up so a separate page would work well.

      The biggest thing I have to do with the weight loss is back off on the snacking at night. I’m still eating good weight watcher meals which is why I don’t think I’ve gained in the past year.

      Hugs & jugs
      Joanie

      Reply

  4. Just a Mom
    May 26, 2009 @ 12:56:23

    Way to get back up on that Weight Watcher’s horse instead of eating it! 🙂 If I don’t see updates on Mondays I will have to bug you via e-mail. Don’t make me do that now!

    I hope you enjoy your last two weeks of being a 59 year old non-grandmother!

    Reply

    • joanharvest
      May 26, 2009 @ 13:55:26

      Please do bug me if I don’t update. That’s why I decided to tell everyone that I’m going to WW again. I need back up.

      60 sounds so old I’ve decided to stay 59.

      Reply

  5. birdpress
    May 26, 2009 @ 14:10:10

    You are doing great, Joan! I’m sure you will be in great shape to help take care of little baby Melon. 🙂

    You are in the right season to be dieting with all the fresh fruit and veggies. I am sure you must have some good farmer’s markets where you are. I eat a ton of fruit and veggies and never count calories. It’s helped me to maintain my weight, even when I want to eat all the time.

    I’m currently on a fruit smoothie kick and I just made Josh and me delicious watermelon/banana smoothies. They were so yummy! Even Josh kept saying how good it was. 🙂

    Reply

    • joanharvest
      May 26, 2009 @ 14:33:51

      I went to a vegetable market yesterday. They had lots of organic stuff. It was great. Late last night I was hungry and I sliced up a small yellow squash and dipped the slices in salsa. It was yummy and didn’t use up any of my points. I’m back to eating strawberries and blueberries again too. It’s great that summer is coming.

      Reply

  6. teeni
    May 26, 2009 @ 15:32:27

    Sixty, Schmixty. It’s just a number. I have to say that you look way better now than you did five years ago and you are healthier too! That is what counts, right? Plus, oh my goodness, so many good things to still look forward to for you!

    🙂 🙂 🙂

    Reply

  7. theramblinghousewife
    May 26, 2009 @ 16:39:21

    Wow! Kudos to you for maintaining most of your weightloss! (That is truly the hard part!) I am trying to locate the motivation to lose the rest of this baby weight!

    Losing weight is the hardest, darn thing so you should be commended!

    Happy Early Birthday, Lady! With that “grandgirl,” on her way, this one is sure to be the best year ever! 😉

    Reply

  8. Hannah
    May 26, 2009 @ 17:01:48

    I was wondering if you were still doing WW … now that you mention it, I do remember you saying something about taking a break. But to have not gained much after 3 months, well that is awesome!!! Maintaining is harder than losing (trust me, I am in the maintaining phase now and it sucks bigtime) so you have done amazingly well to keep the weight off. I know you’ll get to your next goal, and you are already looking fabulous and will most definitely be a fabulous, funny and funky 60-year-old granny!! Go you!

    Reply

  9. trishatruly
    May 26, 2009 @ 18:35:17

    Joan, your beautiful smile and positive outlook make you appear years younger than any calendar date!

    You make being 60 look GOOD!

    Reply

  10. Anja
    May 26, 2009 @ 21:21:57

    Teeni is right. 60 is just a number. Being healthy and happy is the way to go.

    Reply

  11. mrsvierkant
    May 26, 2009 @ 22:07:40

    I love the cartoon. 🙂

    (((Hugs))) and supporting thoughts as you return to WW.

    Wouldn’t it be something if that grandbaby arrived on your birthday? What a present! 🙂

    Reply

  12. Hay
    May 26, 2009 @ 23:53:57

    Two weeks is going to FLY by Joan, and you’ll be holding that precious girl. Wow.

    Reply

  13. odette
    May 27, 2009 @ 01:53:31

    oh advance happy birthday joan, and i hope the little one arrives on the same time! ^-^

    i’m looking forward to read her blog, i know she’s going to rock the blogging world too!

    Reply

  14. javajunkee
    May 27, 2009 @ 08:17:35

    joan you have been and are an inspiration to me. You set goals and you go until you meet them.

    and about that little baby …I can not wait to see the first picture of you posted with that little bundle in your arms!

    Reply

  15. Doraz
    May 27, 2009 @ 10:22:30

    Glad to see you back in full swing! Love your writing! You will be unstoppable! GO! *(*

    Reply

  16. Gary
    May 27, 2009 @ 10:25:07

    Hi Joan!

    We have close birthday’s Joan! My birthday is the 19th of June. I won’t say what year, it’s not important. LOL

    Good luck at WW, I wish you ALL the best!

    Reply

  17. mrssnell
    May 27, 2009 @ 13:42:27

    Aw, Joan, 60’s not old at all. It’s like the new 40. 🙂 You already know I have nothing but praise for WW, and you’re gonna do just great! (Just don’t be paying my bad-for-you recipes any mind at all. lol)

    PS, thanks for the link, I’m getting ready do the same in my sidebar.

    Reply

  18. laura
    May 27, 2009 @ 22:05:24

    Even if you’ve slid off the track a bit, you’re still wayyy ahead of the game. Jump back on and don’t look back. Looking forward to seeing that new baby!!

    Reply

  19. kilax
    May 29, 2009 @ 15:36:59

    June 9th? My mom is turning 50 this year and we are throwing her a party. Are you hoping the baby will be born on your birthday?

    Good luck with WW! Your goal seems very reasonable. Are you excited about it?

    Reply

  20. thegirlfromtheghetto
    May 30, 2009 @ 08:57:53

    Joan, i am so glad you are back to WW. I’ve lost 5 pounds this week myself and I’m thrilled. Look at how far you have come. Now that your knee is better, you can exercise a lit more to help the weight loss! So glad for you.

    Also, happy 60th in two weeks!

    Reply

  21. starlaschat
    May 30, 2009 @ 11:07:36

    Funny cartoon about writer’s block. Blogging is nice for accountability I find saying what I am planning to do sometimes puts it in stone a bit. I feel more accountable, it is helpful. Congratulations of already loosing so much weight that is fantastic. We have been working on adding more fruits and veggies to our diet. Cant wait to hear more about the new angel baby and her name. How sweet, and lucky, to have the arrival of one who I am sure will be so precious. I am Looking forward to hearing more.

    Reply

  22. starlaschat
    May 30, 2009 @ 11:09:53

    Happy almost Birthday Joan! I would sing but I am the worst, off key is my key. Oh well hope you have a special day!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

