I’m up for a makeover!

I don’t usually post rants but I have to say this.  The following are before and after photos of the singing sensation, Susan Boyle,  who was discovered by the TV show ” Britain’s Got Talent”.

Before

makeover

After

06_susan_boyle

I have been reading comments about this transformation on various websites.  I am amazed at what some people have to say.  Personally, I think she has a wonderful voice and why wouldn’t she want to have a make over.  I know I would. Many people are actually putting her down for doing this.  Some say by doing this she is not being herself.  Of course, she is still herself.  You don’t change just because you had your eyebrows shaped and your hair done.

I used to get  a haircut every 6 months because I was too cheap to pay for going more often.  Now I get a haircut every 8 weeks be cause of my daughter’s generosity.  Do I like this better?  Hell Yes!  We know nothing about this woman’s thoughts and why she does what she does and it’s none of our business.   I don’t know where people get off criticizing someone like they have  with this woman and her makeover business.  Give the lady a break.  She probably just wants to change her look.

Anyone out there want to give me a makeover, be my guest.  Maybe I’ll even sing for you.

23 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. lupusranting
    Apr 24, 2009 @ 14:46:57

    Amen, sister! We ALL deserve a little (or a lot) of pampering and making-over from time to time. 🙂

    Reply

  2. teeni
    Apr 24, 2009 @ 15:57:54

    Hallelujah! Thank you for saying what I was thinking. Maybe people are just going too far off to one side because they feel a need to reinforce the thinking that her looks shouldn’t matter because she has a killer voice. And although I feel that is true, it doesn’t mean that she shouldn’t be able to change her looks if she wants to! It’s not like she went all Joan Rivers on us – sheesh – like you said – she just got her eyebrows shaped and her hair done. She’s still the same person. Oh, and once I have my cosmo license I’ll give you a makeover any time you like if that is what you want. 🙂

    Reply

    • joanharvest
      Apr 24, 2009 @ 16:19:51

      I just might take you up on that makeover. It would be fun as I am sure it was fun for Susan Boyle. Looks don’t mean anything but feeling good about yourself does.

      Reply

  3. Little Miss
    Apr 24, 2009 @ 16:16:02

    Sing away, baby. You deserve a makeover, and if I had a few extra $ I’d throw them your way.

    Seriously – I totally agree with you. I’m still me even when I get my nails done and hair colored/cut. In fact, I’m *MORE* me after all that. She probably was unable to afford all that before, and what woman in their right mind would turn down free pampering?

    A good hair cut, well fitting clothes (I didn’t say expensive), and clean shoes makes anyone walk taller and prouder. And she has a lot to be proud of.

    Reply

    • joanharvest
      Apr 24, 2009 @ 16:23:25

      Thanks Little Miss! Susan Boyle does have a lot to be proud about. I know even if I could sing I wouldn’t have the nerve to get on stage. But no one will be seeing me on stage any time soon. I can’t carry a tune at all.

      Reply

  4. birdpress
    Apr 24, 2009 @ 19:05:56

    No shit. It’s not like she went and got boob implants and liposuction. (Although if she wants to, hell, it’s her money, right?) People go on those makeover shows on TV and everyone embraces it like it’s such a great thing to do. Why not her? Let her strut her stuff. She looks nice.

    Reply

  5. kilax
    Apr 24, 2009 @ 22:38:19

    Give her a break people! Ugh. I agree with you 😉 I would LOVE a makeover. I am still the same but it makes me feel brand spanking new!

    Reply

  6. museditions
    Apr 25, 2009 @ 02:59:15

    Agree with everyone. Have you ever watched that show “Extreme Makeover”? Sometimes it is a bit, um, “extreme”, but most of us don’t have access to those sorts of resources. Expensive and time consuming. Now that Ms. Boyle has some attention and advice about how to dress, etc., why should she not enjoy that? 🙂

    Reply

  7. duskydi
    Apr 25, 2009 @ 03:59:48

    I just love Susan Boyles twinkly natural energy, what ever she looks like is okey by me. That smiile from her soul out weighs any look.

    I have actually fallen in love with Susna Boyle, Joan no kidding when I saw her I saw your twinkly energy to. 🙂 Shes beautiful.

    Love in beauty
    Di x

    Reply

  8. Amy Hunter
    Apr 25, 2009 @ 10:22:33

    I agree with you, Joan. Good for her, and who is to say she *isn’t* “being herself” with the new look? I’m frumpy myself most of the time, but I sure can clean up when circumstances require it. That’s not betraying who I am, if who I am *is* to go with the flow.

    Anyway, my guess is that the show encouraged her to stay her frumpy self for her first appearance. For all we know, she might have wanted to have the makeover before that first night. I bet she was frumpy at the audition and wowed them, and they thought it would be great if the audience could experience the same thing so they told her to wait to clean up.

    Reply

  9. Doraz
    Apr 25, 2009 @ 15:49:54

    I think it is wonderful that she decided to give it a try. It is not like she had to, she wanted to. Good for her! She deserves a break, just like the rest of us! Great post!

    Reply

  10. thebeadden
    Apr 25, 2009 @ 23:03:43

    Sorry to be such a stranger to your site lately. But when I read this I had to comment. Holy crap! People are actually bitching about a makeover?

    Get a fricken life! With all the things happening around the world, people are concerned about a women getting her hair and make-up done.

    That is what is wrong with this world. You know, don’t worry about the chemicals and GM foods, or our civil rights being taken away. And people dying all over the world from a number of different things. Let’s all bitch about a dye job and some make-up. What does that say about our society?

    OMgosh Joan, I do not get it…

    Reply

  11. Hannah
    Apr 26, 2009 @ 00:30:25

    You know what? She really doesn’t look all that different. She’s obviously wearing make up and has had her hair cut & coloured, and new clothes, but she is still HER! I can’t stand the makeovers where people actually turn out looking like a totally different person. THAT is fake, and not being themselves. Susan Boyle is still Susan Boyle, just a bit more glamourous! I love her new look, but thought she was totally fab before too 😉
    I agree with you 100%, Joan!

    Reply

  12. Joy
    Apr 26, 2009 @ 12:06:40

    I love this woman and the first time she opened her mouth to sing, I got goosebumps on my goosebumps and I can’t even begin to tell you how many times I’ve listened to her sing that song. It gets me teared up every single time.

    I think it’s wonderful that she went and got all dolled up. Why the hell shouldn’t she? Like everyone has said, we’d all do it. I sure don’t look the same when I change the cat litter as when I go to a wedding. Who among us doesn’t try to look nice when they go out?

    I agree with Amy Hunter. I think they wanted us to have the “shock” that they had. They wanted us to have the whole “effect.” To make us ashamed that yes, we do judge a book by it’s cover. I hate it but I’ve done it and I’m ashamed when it happens. They say that her “effect” will be gone if she doesn’t stay the same is bullshit. The “effect” won’t be there now because we’ve heard her beautiful voice. The next time she’s up there, we know what to expect. You know, people are ninnies!!

    Reply

  13. Trackback: Did Someone Say Makeover? « Little Miss Sew N Sew
  14. theramblinghousewife
    Apr 26, 2009 @ 21:28:58

    I’m with you! I’d take the make-over any, old, day! There is nothing wrong with wanting to look your best (Even though I seldom do…lol) 😉

    Reply

  15. sheng
    Apr 27, 2009 @ 06:07:00

    coolness, nice makeover for Susan…

    Reply

  16. starlaschat
    Apr 27, 2009 @ 12:45:01

    I think it’s silly. It’s not like it’s a radical make over she looks great. I could use a little make over Ive been cutting my own hair I could use a new hair style. Good for her she looks great.

    Reply

  17. PiedType
    Apr 27, 2009 @ 16:55:28

    I think Amy’s right. I’ll bet Simon Cowell wanted her to look as frumpy as possible to make a better show. All the more to poke fun at, or all the more surprise if she really could sing.

    As for the makeover … you can bet if I suddenly became a worldwide sensation, I’d be spiffing myself up real fast, too. I think she looks great and projects herself as exactly what she is. Good on ya, Susie B!

    Reply

  18. michaelm
    Apr 27, 2009 @ 20:54:49

    I totally agree with you, J
    This woman has probably been living in hell for sometime.
    She has the voice of an angel and why the hell shouldn’t she treat herself.
    She blew me away, personally.
    I say to all the naysayers, “Piss off!”
    Leave the poor (rich, now) woman alone.
    Great post.
    ~m

    Reply

  19. IdeaJump!
    Apr 28, 2009 @ 08:07:46

    You TELL ’em Joan!

    Reply

  20. Jen512
    Apr 28, 2009 @ 09:24:47

    I think her new look is fab. I especially like the shiny coat and burberry scarf. She still looks like herself, and those caterpillars had to go eventually (I actually think they took them too thin, but it’s hard to get them right the first time, I’m sure she’ll grow them back a bit).

    It’s probably the first thing I would do if I suddenly had a little more money and fame.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

