Word Of The Day (filed under things I don’t get)

Portly

What do you think of when you see that word?   I think of fat men. I’m just being honest here.  I don’t think of fat women.  Fat men get to be described as portly.  Fat women get to be described as fat women.  What’s up with that?

“Fat bastards” help other portly men lose weight

I saw the above article about portly men and it got me thinking about the word.  The following is a definition of the portly:

  1. Comfortably stout; corpulent.
  2. Archaic. Stately; majestic; imposing.

Give me a freakin’ break.  Not only are fat men portly they are comfortably stout and they are usually considered gentlemen and now they are stately?   Yes, you’re damn right that’s archaic.

portly

synonyms for FAT: fat, obese, corpulent, fleshy, portly, stout, pudgy, rotund, plump, chubby. These adjectives mean having an abundance and often an excess of flesh. Fat implies excessive weight and generally has negative connotations: was getting fat and decided to exercise. Obese and corpulent imply gross overweight: “a woman of robust frame . . . though stout, not obese” (Charlotte Brontë). The dancer was corpulent but surprisingly graceful. Fleshy implies a not necessarily excessive abundance of flesh: firm, fleshy arms. Portly refers to bulk combined with a stately or imposing bearing: “a portly, rubicund man of middle age” (Winston Churchill). Stout denotes a thickset, bulky figure: a painting of stout peasants. Pudgy means short and fat: pudgy fingers. Rotund suggests roundness of figure, often in a squat person: “this pink-faced rotund specimen of prosperity” (George Eliot). Plump and chubby apply to a pleasing fullness of figure: a plump little toddler; chubby cheeks.

Who would have thought there were so many words for fat.

So from now on I’m not going to consider myself fat.  I am woman!! I am Fleshy!  I don’t know if fleshy is any better but it sounds a little more sexy than fat.



11 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Just a Mom
    Apr 07, 2009 @ 13:37:49

    When I hear the word portly I think of Port Wine Cheese. Don’t ask why because I have no clue!

    I’ve always liked the word pudgy. Again don’t ask why I have no clue!

    I’d rather think of port wine cheese than a fat man. Pudgy always reminds me of a sweet grandma.

    Reply

  2. lupusranting
    Apr 07, 2009 @ 14:09:43

    I prefer “full figured” instead of fat when referring to women, including myself! But hell, fat is easy enough to spell 🙂

    Yes, I have always used the word fat when referring to my portly self for that exact reason : I can spell it and I don’t need a spell checker and it rhymes with cat.

    Reply

  3. trishatruly
    Apr 07, 2009 @ 18:12:01

    I prefer “voluptuous”! Or maybe “Reubenesque”.

    Give me a break. I read somewhere back in the ’70s (it’s not so true today) that the richer the woman the thinner she was, but the more successful a man was the fatter he became.

    I am definitely going with words like “curvy” or “womanly”.

    I can if I want to!
    😛

    Reply

  4. joanharvest
    Apr 07, 2009 @ 18:28:46

    I love that ” I can if I want to” Damn straight!! I like voluptuous. That sounds good.

    Reply

  5. Emerald
    Apr 07, 2009 @ 19:28:52

    I’m “I dunno, I wear what fits? I’m definitely curvy…but not plus sized, so…eh?”, it’s quite a mouthful!😛

    I’m so lucky to have a southern man who is allll about the curves. Even I won’t tolerate muffintop, but he swears it’s the greatest thing ever, because “women are *supposed* to be squishy!” Heart!

    Plus, it’s really hard to figure out your ‘size’ when you’re a different size in every store. And I think US/Canada sizes work way differently too…

    Reply

  6. Hannah
    Apr 07, 2009 @ 20:38:51

    Joan, you are so funny!!! Nobody else could write a hilariously funny post about synonyms for “FAT”. Nobody.

    I agree, “fleshy” does sound almost sexy. Probably because it is considered sexy to show lots of flesh. “Curvy” is one with a lot of positive connotations.
    Oh, but “corpulent” is a great one. Mostly because 99% of people wouldn’t even know that it meant fat.

    I don’t like the term “full-figured”. What does that mean? That skinny people don’t have a whole figure? That they are missing some of it? “Plus-size” is another one that grates on me.

    Reply

  7. Doraz
    Apr 08, 2009 @ 09:42:24

    When people use the word PORTLY, I think of PORKY the pig!!!
    Weird, huh?🙂

    Reply

  8. Joy
    Apr 08, 2009 @ 11:56:47

    I’m laughing my ass off. I remember when I was pregnant, my grandma said to me “Joy, you look so good “fleshy” like this!!!” I was FAT!!! Only you could write a post like this on FAT and have us all laughing.

    Reply

  9. javajunkee
    Apr 08, 2009 @ 23:05:25

    hey I got to use your word “fleshy” on gary’s page today.🙂 he was quite impressed with it.

    Reply

  10. kilax
    Apr 11, 2009 @ 08:12:14

    Comfortably stout?!?! I hate to say it, but it seems to be yet another way of saying it’s okay for men to be heavy, but not women. I think of portly in the same terms – relating to men.

    Reply

  11. teeni
    Apr 13, 2009 @ 11:15:50

    I have nothing to add to this except maybe that I now realize I am “pudgy.” Thanks a lot, Joan! LOL.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

