Nothing In My Head

I think that inactivity is a dumbing down of the brain.  I haven’t been able to do much with the knee thing, back thing, ass thing going on and I’m really feeling stupid.  There just doesn’t seem to be much going on in the deep recesses of my cerebellum. Couch potatoes must be morons.

empty-head

I started doing stuff last week, cooking mostly and dishes but was told by my visiting nurse and Sarah  not do so much and ask for help.  I don’t know why but I hate asking for help.  As Sarah used to say when she was little  “I do it by myself”.

AudraRox_ICDIBM_8p_FNL.indd

I find it odd that with such an empty head you would think I would be able to remember things better.  There’s not so much to get in the way of my memory but alas my memory still sucks.

Anyway, I’m trying to think of activities besides reading and television to get my brain going again. Knitting and puzzles just don’t cut it for me right now. I’m thinking I might try my hand at art.

Art is the process or product of deliberately arranging elements in a way that appeals to the senses or emotions. (Wiki)

That sentence is way over my empty brain.  The question is “What appeals to one person may not appeal to another.”  So if it doesn’t appeal to everyone is it still art?  I actally don’t know what I am writing about anymore.

I have this watercolor kit I bought a while back.  I think I may try my hand at. I just wish I didn’t draw like a 5 year old.

I really have no idea what this post is about.  Oh, so if I arranged chocolate on a plate would that be art.  It sure appeals to my senses and emotions.

14 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. starlaschat
    Apr 06, 2009 @ 17:19:13

    Art Great Idea!!! My favorite art when feeling brainless is Abstract. Because it is what is and you don’t need to explain it. I began my interest in painting with Abstract watercolor. All you need is watercolors watercolor paper and a spray bottle. Spray a little bit of water on the watercolor paper choose colors that make your mood Happy, take a big blob on your brush and set it on the place you just sprayed and watch it spread. This is especially fun when feeling brainless. Add a couple of colors and then move on to the next one. The object is fast fun and not worrying that it has to look like anything. I have had hours of fun doing this. It’s also fun to do this to a little music. You’ll feel like bungee jumping in no time it just takes time to heal be gentle with yourself I know it’s hard I mucked up my shoulder falling on the ice a couple of winters and it about drove me nuts.

    I think abstract is a great idea but I don’t think bungee jumping is in my future. I don’t even fly in an airplane. My daughter wants to bungee jump but I told her never to tell me before the fact.

    Reply

  2. Hannah
    Apr 06, 2009 @ 18:03:27

    Being creative is a wonderful thing to do when your mind feels empty. I scrapbook, as you know, but also enjoy painting and drawing. I would love to see some of your artwork! It sounds like the perfect hobby for you at the moment, and I’m sure it will be a lot of fun at the same time :-

    I may be too embarrassed to show anyone. On second thought nah!!! Maybe some dumbass will think it’s great and give me money. Stranger things have happened.

    Reply

  3. thebeadden
    Apr 06, 2009 @ 18:08:58

    It must be had on you to have to be still and take it easy. I am glad you were told that you better ask for help! It’s your time to heal and relax.

    Painting. How wonderful! Enjoy and have fun with it.🙂
    I am sure you will anyway.

    I don’t like sitting still and worse I can’t drive a car yet. I guess I’ll try my hand at art. What’s the worse that can happen. I still want to try my hand at beading.

    Reply

  4. mrsvierkant
    Apr 06, 2009 @ 19:30:14

    Blogging is an artform, isn’t it?

    Some blog bling is coming your way, as soon as I get it posted. 🙂

    I love me some blog bling. Good point, I agree, Blogging is an art form and really fun.

    Reply

  5. starlaschat
    Apr 06, 2009 @ 20:02:38

    I had another idea/thought Ive been laid up a couple of times and I know it can drive a person wacky. I use to have a hard time sleeping so I would get old magazines from the library and cut out cool pictures and glue them on mat board or foam core. anyway that was pretty fun.:+).

    This is a great idea. I could even incorporate photos I’ve taken. Plus I have a mess of magazines. Thanks Starla.

    Reply

  6. HermanTurnip
    Apr 07, 2009 @ 01:19:07

    The toughest part of any project is just getting started. As your lawyer, I’d advise that you jump on in feet first into whatever catches your eye, and darn the consequences…

    Since you are my lawyer and I pay you so well I think I’ll follow your advice. You haven’t steered me the wrong way yet. 😉

    Reply

  7. Just a Mom
    Apr 07, 2009 @ 09:52:39

    Hey, if they can make the kids use noodles and kidney beans to make a drawing of a turkey every Thanksgiving then I say go for it with your chocolate art!🙂
    I hate to ask for help too! Come hell or high water I can do it!

    Maybe I can come up with a whole new art form using chocolate !!!!

    Reply

  8. Joy
    Apr 07, 2009 @ 10:02:29

    I would say that beauty is in the eye of the beholder. Whatever floats your boat and satisfies you, is art to you and I think that’s all it’s about. I guess if it makes you feel happy to do something, it doesn’t need it’s own word.

    Good advice!! The heck with what anyone else thinks. I’m doing this for myself anyway.

    Reply

  9. lupusranting
    Apr 07, 2009 @ 14:00:15

    I started painting with acrylics last year. I LOVE LOVE LOVE it! My stuff is all totally abstract. It is a great creative outlet. Regardless of the medium you decide to use, enjoy doing something just for yourself. You don’t need to show it to anybody, if you prefer.

    I think a good memory is totally overrated anywho. What matters is being happy and living in the moment!

    Enjoy 🙂

    Reply

  10. trishatruly
    Apr 07, 2009 @ 14:17:20

    Art can be anything that creates an emotional response; even hate or disgust! (Many of my canvases have gotten THAT reaction!)

    Don’t worry about it. If it speaks to you, then be proud of it!

    Starlaschat had a great idea with that collage thing! Just the act of looking through the magazines with a different eye, to colors and patterns and words can put the zing back into your creativity! Also consider labels from cans, tags from clothing, and packaging! I keep a box filled with that sort of thing for the times when I feel a collage coming on!

    Also, Joan, there’s a GREAT music site :

    http://www.pandora.com

    where you can create your own radio station with music you pick! That can lead you to finding new music which really gets my creative juices flowing! (yeah, I know…she said juices…flowing..hehehehe)

    Have fun!

    Reply

  11. duskydi
    Apr 07, 2009 @ 23:01:58

    Hi Joans of New Knees,

    What about listening to songs and making nice CD’s for people for little presents.

    Ask for help silly sausage.

    Much Love
    Di x

    Reply

  12. Doraz
    Apr 08, 2009 @ 09:46:53

    Maybe a future post can be a display of your creations, that is if they do not get eaten first!!!!

    Reply

  13. kilax
    Apr 11, 2009 @ 08:15:21

    Please arrange the chocolate on the plate, take photos, and post it! I read a lot of food blogs, and think the presentation of food can be art.

    It IS art if no one likes it. You can be the only one who likes it, and it’s still art. Sometimes, I even consider our blogs art forms. They are an expression of ourselves!

    I love this post. You make me laugh!

    *hugs*

    Reply

  14. Trackback: Feeling Stupid…Revisited | My Extraordinarily Ordinary Life

Leave a Reply

