Waiting for a Buddy and Mon Petite Chou!

I’ve been home a week and have rested like I was told to do but I did  make supper 4 or 5 times for everyone.  I guess you can’t keep me out of the kitchen.  I can’t drive until after my post-op doctor’s visit which isn’t until April 28th.  Sarah did take me for a drive on the weekend just to get me out of the house.  I’m really not in any pain, just a lot of knee stiffness and boredom.  I didn’t have any motivation to blog.  I didn’t feel like I had much to say. I’m getting over that.

I think I have post-op blahs which I guess is a real thing.  I’m waiting for a buddy to perk me up. Last night was enjoyable though.

Everyone had a late supper last night except for me.  Surgery did not take my appetite away. As a matter of fact on the evening of the surgery the nurse told me I couldn’t eat. I was pissed because I was hungry. Anyway, last night the four of us hung out at the kitchen table after supper and we gabbed for hours. It was so nice.  I haven’t eaten with people as a family in years and I really enjoy doing it.  We make a point of eating together every night.  I think it’s nice to bring up children that way too.  A lot of the talk was about new baby. Only 10 more weeks-give or take.

The kids really want to keep new baby away from sitting in front of the TV.  You see so many parents use television as a babysitter. I think I will have the toughest time not having the TV on during the day.  But this will encourage me to listen to music.  New baby will have to get use to rock & roll.

Here is a photo of my pimped out walker.  I haven’t done too much to it.  I didn’t want to get carried away.  I though if I did the family may not want to be with me in public.

dsc00820

Over the weekend Obie brought the last of our stuff which was  still at the old house. This is a photo of our living room here.

dsc00824

The majority of the bins are filled with books.  I hope to donate some of them to the library.

I am planning Sarah’s baby shower. It is going to be somewhat unconventional. Sarah and Obie want to invite all their family including husbands and children.

Sarah took this photo of herself this morning at work. 30 weeks pregnant!

30-weeks

Your pregnancy: 30 weeks


See the big picture

How your baby’s growing:

Your baby’s about 15.7 inches long now, and she weighs almost 3 pounds (like a head of cabbage). A pint and a half of amniotic fluid surrounds her, but that volume will decrease as she gets bigger and takes up more room in your uterus. Her eyesight continues to develop, though it’s not very keen; even after she’s born, she’ll keep her eyes closed for a good part of the day. When she does open them, she’ll respond to changes in light but will have 20/400 vision — which means she can only make out objects a few inches from her face. (Normal adult vision is 20/20.)

When I was a child my mom used to call me “Mon Petite Chou”–My Little Cabbage.  New baby weighs about 3 pounds,  just like a head of cabbage.

18 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Little Miss
    Apr 01, 2009 @ 16:27:44

    Your pimped out walker made me smile. Sarah’s baby belly is so cute. You all must be so very excited. I’m excited for you.

    Rock and roll is a good thing to be raised on, I say.

    Reply

  2. dragonfly3085
    Apr 01, 2009 @ 17:00:37

    I’m glad your home and your walker looks great! Those totes look like they’re from CVS — are they? lol I’m such a work nerd I’m always trying to find the connection

    Reply

  3. Hannah
    Apr 01, 2009 @ 18:28:10

    The walker looks GREAT!! I love the ribbons you weaved through the basket. And did I see some bling? LOL🙂

    Wow, Sarah is 30 weeks already? It feels like the time has flown by. Her belly looks great, I bet you are so excited to meet bubs!

    Reply

  4. thebeadden
    Apr 01, 2009 @ 19:41:39

    ((((Joan)))) I see the crochet pill!! How cool.
    You’ll have to wait a bit for my addition to your pimped out walker. I thought I have some things done on time, while you were still in the hospital, but I always seem to fall behind.

    Sarah is just all baby. She still is so thin everywhere else! Lucky woman!

    I hope you are healing and feeling well. I must be great to be home.

    I left some jokes at the Oriel to cheer you up!

    Reply

  5. javajunkee
    Apr 01, 2009 @ 22:33:09

    I love the pimped out walk! I thought we’d have some flashing lights or something😉 You should put a pair of deer whistles on the sides just to “f” with people!🙂

    that picture of sarah carrying the baby makes me want to go back to when I was carrying my little girl (now 21) SIGH!

    I better stop before I go all melancholy on your ass!

    can’t wait to see you with a buddy. You’ll get one soon!😉

    Reply

  6. mrsvierkant
    Apr 01, 2009 @ 22:59:12

    Well, I have to say I love the pimped out walker.

    Can’t believe Sarah is 30 weeks already! I love the picture of her belly.

    I hope the shower goes well.

    (((Hugs))) for you.

    Reply

  7. museditions
    Apr 02, 2009 @ 01:43:01

    The rock ‘n roll baby is coming into a great family!
    I have a friend who’s in a walker all the time. She is also a social director. She posts large flyers about upcoming activities on her walker basket so people look at them as she moves down the street. Your rig reminds me of her; you walker-women are a hoot.
    Glad you are not in pain, but just bored. We can remedy that!😀

    Reply

  8. jeanette
    Apr 02, 2009 @ 02:23:06

    Your walker looking good! BTW Welcome back! : ) : )

    Reply

  9. JavaQueen
    Apr 02, 2009 @ 05:03:14

    Nice pimpn’ walker Joan! OMG, Sarah’s baby belly is BEAUTIFUL! OMG, she’s getting so close now! How exciting for her, her huz, you, and the whole family- a new baby! I’m so happy for you all!

    Reply

  10. David
    Apr 02, 2009 @ 05:27:36

    Yeah, nice job on the walker. Understated pimpin’ … very tasteful.

    Nice healthy looking baby belly there too. You refer to baby as she … is it a girl?

    Anyway, I hope your healing is as miraculous as that grandchild.🙂

    Reply

  11. Joy
    Apr 02, 2009 @ 10:27:03

    I’m so glad things are getting back to “normal” for you. Did you get both knees done or one? How long will you need the walker? It’s adorable. I love it.

    In all seriousness, I think that normal family mealtimes are a staple in life. We still do that. We often eat with Toby and Sue just because they live on our land. I find out EVERYTHING just by the way I ask questions and dig in. Kids will talk to you without knowing they are doing it and I love knowing about everyone’s day. I think it’s great if you are planning to do this. I think this move was so good for your family in so many ways. Sarah looks wonderful.

    I just have to tell you one thing that made me really laugh and think of you. When you had YooHoo in the car and she was laughing at you, that happened to me only I didn’t “know” she laughed and in your video, it was really her making that sound. I’d put her in my purse and when I went to pick her up, I hit her tail the right way and she started “talking” and I about had a heart attack and then thought of you so “we” had a nice little laugh me and you!!! Could you feel it???

    Get well girly.

    Reply

  12. Just a Mom
    Apr 02, 2009 @ 11:30:43

    I love the witch on your walker!
    Sarah and the little cabbage look great!
    I am a firm believer in family dinners! That is the only way, in my little opinion, to keep in touch with everyone.
    Good luck on the no TV during the day! I planned on doing that with my oldest daughter but I think it only lasted for a month!

    Reply

  13. birdpress
    Apr 02, 2009 @ 15:48:28

    Cool walker! And super-cute baby belly!!! I’m glad to hear you are enjoying your family time.

    Reply

  14. Red
    Apr 03, 2009 @ 09:19:18

    ehehhee.. i love the pimped out walker. why dont folks do that more often? i’ve never ever everrrrr seen a pimped out walker. and you have one. and i know you. and i can say, i know this hip, hip Lady with one wicked awesome walker.

    pregnant bellies are so beautiful.

    Reply

  15. croneandbearit
    Apr 03, 2009 @ 17:52:09

    I’m so happy you’re home and doing well. I love your tricked out walker! Now, do all your phys therapy exercises faithfully and you’ll soon be running like a gazelle in no time girl! Also, be careful not to overdo like me – I tend to feel much better and then do too much and take two steps backward – so you be a better patient than I have been!!! Hugs!

    Reply

  16. widdleshamrock
    Apr 03, 2009 @ 19:04:47

    Awww Joan, it is so exciting isn’t it? The 10 weeks will just fly by.

    Loving the walker. Very, very cool.

    Reply

  17. Wendy
    Apr 03, 2009 @ 20:30:03

    The walker looks great! I see the witch!
    I used to have a boyfriend who called me “Mon Petite Chou” and now that I know what it means, I’m a little perplexed.

    Reply

  18. thegirlfromtheghetto
    Apr 04, 2009 @ 23:36:55

    I’m digging the walker. I think you need a horn attached! And Yoda has lovely eyes, are they green?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

