I Need A Walker

So the deal is I have to get a walker.  We all know my favorite disabled accoutrement is my cane and I have some cool canes.

5-canes

Have you ever tried to buy a cool walker?  I doubt it because they don’t make them cool. They are made to make you look as elderly and disabled as possible.

inv60061

S0, your mission for tonight,  if you are willing to accept it is:  Help me come up with some ideas to decorate it.  They have to be fairly easy because I’m fairly lazy but come on folks,  we know I need cool stuff.   A  plain walker just won’t work for me.

I am due to be released on Wednesday.  I sure hope so.  I WANT TO GO HOME!!!!!

dsc00668

My boy, YODA

dsc00629

Oh, BTW,  I got this beautiful basket from Joy Erickson. She knows I am on weight watchers and got me something I could actually eat and love.  Thank you so much, Joy.  I did have to share some of it.  There isn’t much fresh fruit around here.

dsc00784

I have also received many cards and e-mails and I want to thank you all.  It really means a lot to me.

I think I am healing very well.  I do have to stay an extra couple of days because I haven’t reached the 90 degree angle that they want my knee to bend at.  I’ve reached 70 degrees though.  I am on a CPM machine every day for  6 hours.

16497143_scaled_450x240I am on it 3 times a day for two hours each time.  It basically moves your knee for you. I also have physical therapy twice a day.

I had to change rooms a couple of days ago because I hadn’t slept in 4 days because of my snoring roommate.  The first night after I switched rooms I slept for 6 hours straight which is a record for me.  I still feel tired but much better.  You certainly don’t come here to rest.

I don’t have much else going on.  I’m going to bed early tonight.  Nighty Night!!!

35 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Hannah
    Mar 22, 2009 @ 01:32:02

    So, Operation Pimp My Walker is underway!! I have some cool scrapbooking stuff that would look AWESOME on one of those (my Grandma has one, so I’m familiar with how they work … I’ve had a turn on it, LOL). I reckon you should visit a local craft/art/scrapbooking store and just buy up large!! Ribbons would be cool, for a start. Maybe some tasteful stickers? You can get glittery ones! I can also see some wooden letter spelling your name, but painted in fun colours, stuck on it somewhere. You should definitely get some of those adhesive rhinestones, you could totally make a really cool feature with them. Lots of bling!

    Reply

    • joanharvest
      Mar 22, 2009 @ 07:15:06

      “Operation Pimp My Walker” I love it. Those are great ideas. I have some scrapbooking stuff. Definitely rhinestones and my name. of course, should be on it. I am going to have the best walker ever.

      Reply

  2. mvobsession
    Mar 22, 2009 @ 09:38:23

    How about a bicycle horn and a rear-view mirror🙂

    Reply

    • Joy
      Mar 22, 2009 @ 11:07:34

      I was thinking one of those bike horns too. She’s gotta have one of those.

      Reply

      • javajunkee
        Mar 22, 2009 @ 12:55:17

        I think you need your own specialized license plate for the front of the basket. And how bout along with the bike horn you get one of those like walkie talkie things on the front for the people who aren’t smart enough to move for the horn.
        “move it or lose it dumbass”! And instead of using golf balls on the legs..go all bad ass and use soccer balls or something.

        Reply

  3. birdpress
    Mar 22, 2009 @ 10:12:40

    “Operation Pimp My Walker” !!! I love it!

    (Please don’t go overboard so that it is gaudy.)😉

    First, you need a color scheme! We don’t want it to be all rainbow puke colored. Stick to maybe three colors you like together and go from there.

    How about some pretty ribbons weaved through that basket for starters?

    Reply

  4. Amy Hunter
    Mar 22, 2009 @ 11:05:51

    I had a similar thought to mvobsession. I was going to say to get bike headlights to attach to the front. Just think–built in night light!

    Maybe even a couple of turn signals? And a way to attach your cane to the walker so you can still whack people, when needed. Like if they disrespect your turn signal. I mean, come on, if you signal your turn, shouldn’t they get out of your way?

    I hope you get to go home on Wednesday! Not fun to be cooped up, I’m sure.

    Reply

  5. Joy
    Mar 22, 2009 @ 11:09:42

    I’ll think more about this and come back. How long will you have to have it?

    Reply

  6. javajunkee
    Mar 22, 2009 @ 12:56:04

    sorry this went up at the top under joys !

    I think you need your own specialized license plate for the front of the basket. And how bout along with the bike horn you get one of those like walkie talkie things on the front for the people who aren’t smart enough to move for the horn.
    “move it or lose it dumbass”! And instead of using golf balls on the legs..go all bad ass and use soccer balls or something.

    Reply

  7. starlaschat
    Mar 22, 2009 @ 13:58:15

    Let see. First I’d paint glossy pink, OK My husband just said does she even like pink. I don’t know do you like pink? OK start over First paint it what ever color you like and make sure it has a hand break and a seat. They work good. Second I’d keep joke books and pictures in the basket so you have something to read if you need a break and if you have a seat well you could kick back and eat some fruit that Joy gottch how nice was that.;+) She so nice. anyway and for the finial touch whcih you might not like is wire on a couple of fake flowers bright colors of course . That’s my idea if you hate don’t tell me LOL.

    Reply

  8. mrsvierkant
    Mar 22, 2009 @ 14:35:50

    I think you need a personalized license plate, and a sassy bumper sticker or two. 😀 I love the rhinestones idea, but I’m easily distracted by sparkly things.

    Reply

  9. teeni
    Mar 22, 2009 @ 18:09:53

    OMG – Finally, a real reason for all those different colors they make out of duck tape! You could totally use those to pimp your walker! And you will also need one of those big Harpo Marx horns to put on it. 😉

    Reply

  10. Sarah (joanharvest's daughter)
    Mar 22, 2009 @ 19:27:54

    I’m squashing the horn idea….she isn’t going anywhere with it but the kitchen and bathroom and I don’t want to be honked out of the way =) Since I’m sure I’ll have to do most of the decorating i like the rhinestone idea like the ones you can put on cell phones. I also think a big name plate will be necessary. I’m sure we’ll have fun with it.

    Reply

    • joanharvest
      Mar 22, 2009 @ 20:17:23

      I knew she’d squash the horn. She knows me oh so well.
      I wouldn’t be able to stop myself from blowing the horn all the time. I have to admit she probably will do the actual decorating. I can always rope her into helping me with my projects. It would have been fun though to sneak up behind her and honk away.

      Reply

    • Joy
      Mar 23, 2009 @ 11:52:46

      How funny!! I love it. Squashing the horn!! LMAO!! I love rhinestones too and you could do something really cute.

      Reply

  11. javajunkee
    Mar 22, 2009 @ 21:40:32

    well if it had wheels you could have done the card thing in the spokes…. how bout the intercom strapped to the front then you can tell her to move it or lose it!

    you could get some of those reflective strips and then they’d see you coming at night.

    Reply

  12. Just a Mom
    Mar 23, 2009 @ 10:29:00

    You need a sign that says: “I don’t brake for Dumbasses!”

    Maybe you could attach a strobe light on it!

    Reply

  13. trishatruly
    Mar 23, 2009 @ 11:02:20

    Joan, I sent you an email with some veerry intersting pics of Pimped-Out Walkers! Hope you get some ideas!!

    Love ya!

    Trisha

    Reply

  14. teeni
    Mar 23, 2009 @ 17:22:30

    Aw, nuts. Sarah squashed the horn idea. Sounds like she is starting to be a mom already! LOL. 🙂

    Reply

  15. thegirlfromtheghetto
    Mar 23, 2009 @ 19:47:50

    Wow, I love that one of the bloggers sent you a gift basket. How awesome of her. I think you should decorate it with a sign that says “Just because I use a walker does not mean I’m old.” And, if no kids are around, you can have a separate sign for idiots that simply says “Dumbass!”

    I like your cane collection. Hell, I’d want the basket if I had to use a walker, it looks useful.

    Reply

  16. Eric "Speedcat Hollydale"
    Mar 23, 2009 @ 22:09:11

    The snoring roommate must have drove you crazy … hope you get some more good rest😉

    Reply

  17. widdleshamrock
    Mar 23, 2009 @ 23:54:35

    lol. I am loving the ideas here.

    How about weaving ribbon in and out of the basket sprongs?

    I must say, I do think the horn is a must.

    Reply

  18. jeanette
    Mar 24, 2009 @ 02:35:41

    Can’t wait to see the Walker all pimped up! A personalized license plate is a must though, LOL!

    Reply

  19. Emerald
    Mar 24, 2009 @ 11:33:32

    Oh! Oh! I’m all over this! Okay, okay, so first you pick your favourite colour, and you get some fabrics or nice paper that goes with that scheme. Got any favourite wall paper? Done. Okay, now you mod-modge the entire thing so you have a lovely pattern all over your brand new accessory – it’s really pretty easy if you haven’t done it before, and I’m sure the family/friend circle would love to help. Now the fun part – get some of those fun little magnets with pics from the 40’s/50’s that say things like “It’s been lovely but I have to scream now.” and “Coffee! – do stupid things faster and with more energy!” and glue-gun ’em to the front for instant flair!

    People will know to get out of the way for your sassiness!😀

    I guess you could also try hot glueing on some strong magnetic strips and seeing if you could make the magnets interchangeable, but I don’t know how well they would stay on in your daily activities.

    Either way, whatever you do choose, I’m sure it’ll look fab!

    Reply

  20. JavaQueen
    Mar 26, 2009 @ 03:59:46

    I say ya hang a pair of truck balls from it and call it a day😉
    http://javaqueen14.wordpress.com/2009/03/15/i-couldnt-make-this-up-if-i-tried/

    Reply

  21. IdeaJump!
    Mar 26, 2009 @ 12:05:34

    FUN! You gotta get some bling on that walker.

    (actually, I have seen a cool walker/contraption – I’ll ask my 91 yr old ‘student’ at the nursing home where I teach ‘internet class’ what the brand is… It’s really styling! I’ll try to remember to take a pic of it.)

    Reply

  22. Red
    Mar 26, 2009 @ 15:13:32

    Whatever you do .. please don’t put tennis balls on the feet of ’em .. only old people do that🙂

    Reply

  23. David
    Mar 27, 2009 @ 05:54:18

    Dammit! Just a Mom beat me!

    How about Get out da way dumbass!??

    And Red is right. No tennis balls.

    What about a little bicycle bell instead of a horn?

    Welcome home Joan. I hope you won’t be needing the walker for too long.🙂

    BTW, what is that little number tag thingy at the top of the right column here on your blog?

    Reply

    • joanharvest
      Mar 27, 2009 @ 10:55:07

      Hi David! “Get out da way dumbass” I love it. I have to get to work on the walker before it’s time to get rid of it. That number is how many people are visiting my blog.

      Reply

  24. Wendy
    Mar 27, 2009 @ 14:21:01

    You need a basket for your walker. Did anyone suggest basket yet? And how about an “on-board video camera”?

    Reply

    • joanharvest
      Mar 27, 2009 @ 18:37:17

      It does have a basket which I want to decorate. I love the idea of an on board video camera. I am so not the most creative person. I wish you were here.

      Reply

  25. allison
    Mar 29, 2009 @ 01:57:46

    Here’s my idea for your new walker. Spray paint it in neon colors. All colors. Then stick big paper flowers all over it, and add a bicycle bell and horn. After that, see if you can connect a CB to it and a huge antenna. That should do you for a while.

    Glad to see you’re coming along nicely!

    Reply

  26. Leah
    Mar 31, 2009 @ 14:31:41

    I found you from Joy’s blog, where I saw your comment about what you like to read. Anyone who reads Jane Austen is a friend of mine.😀 I’ve been checking out your blog, and it’s great! You have a nack at writing. I look forward to reading.😀
    http://www.lifeaccordingtoleah.wordpress.com

    Reply

    • joanharvest
      Mar 31, 2009 @ 22:21:13

      Hi Leah and thanks for stopping by. I just love to read. I drive my family crazy when I am in the reading zone because I can truly tune them all out.

      I’ll be stopping by to visit you and thanks for the compliment. I really love blogging though I haven’t done much because of the surgery but I will be back very soon.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

