Musings at “The Home”.

.  The following are a few of the things I spent my time doing today.

  • Going to pee and  having a nurse pull down my pants.  OK,  maybe the guys would like it but I didn’t.
  • Having the woman across the hall say “I don’t want to wake up dead in the morning.”
  • Having my roomie  moan the better part of the evening.
  • Waiting for the nurse to come and take care of my roomie  who moaned the better part of the evening.
  • Watching my roomie look for her phone while she was talking on it. (This gave me 15 minutes of rapturous gaiety)
  • Wondering how long it will be before Sarah and Obie figure out that they like having me in the home.
  • Wondering why I can walk on my leg but can’t lift it off the bed.
  • Tired of looking at my roomie’s underwear–while she is wearing it.
  • Wondering why the hell they wake me up at 5:15 AM every morning.
  • Wondering if they are going to serve that yellow stuff  for breakfast again.
  • Wondering what that yellow stuff is they serve for breakfast.
  • Wondering how I could end up in the same room I was in when I had pneumonia two years ago. ( 120— REDRUM)
  • Wondering what I would be doing if I didn’t have all this stuff to wonder about.

My blood really is red.

dsc00746

My roommate’s side of the room.  I couldn’t get out of bed to take a photo of my side.

dsc00772

My chair is on the right.  I don’t sit in my chair.  It gives me ass pain.

dsc00773

Lunch

dsc00775

Flowers from my niece, Emily, and her hubby, John!!

dsc00764

Visitors–Pam and Brady!

dsc00778

I guess I really do have a lot of time on my hands.

21 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Red
    Mar 15, 2009 @ 23:53:03

    Im so happy to hear you’re doing okay, Joan . . I’ve worried about you. And Ive missed you.
    Get plenty of rest and dont be chasing down too many male doctors!

    Reply

  2. Hannah
    Mar 16, 2009 @ 03:48:27

    Oh Joan, I love that a blog post about your stay in the hospital is more entertaining than all the other blogs I have read today! You have such a great attitude. Your lunch looks absolutely delicious, how will you ever cope going home and not getting to eat that amazing hospital food?!?!?! Yikes!

    Take care of yourself … and I hope you don’t get too bored! Are you going home soon?

    Reply

  3. trishatruly
    Mar 16, 2009 @ 05:32:26

    Thank goodness for computers, eh, Joan??😀

    Your “musings” cracked me up!!!

    I hope they’re giving you good pain meds!

    Take care of yourself, my friend!! Feel better soon so you can get home to Yoda and that beautiful house! Sara and Obie probably don’t know where they’re at without your warm presence and good cooking!

    Reply

  4. kilax
    Mar 16, 2009 @ 07:15:22

    You poor thing! What are they doing waking you up at 5:15?! That probably makes staying in the hospital worse – you have to stick to their schedule instead of your natural one. Of course, I don’t know how much sleeping you are able to do in the am with Moanie McRoommate!😉 Feel better!

    Reply

  5. Diane
    Mar 16, 2009 @ 08:58:07

    You’re Walking!!!! Lovely….

    Sarah and Obie?…could have left you in Falmouth with a few phone calls each week. You have to know you will be welcomed back to your new home with open arms. I’m sure they can’t wait any more than you can.

    Reply

  6. Just a Mom
    Mar 16, 2009 @ 13:35:09

    “Watching my roomie look for her phone while she was talking on it. (This gave me 15 minutes of rapturous gaiety)”

    Glad to see that you are feeling good enough to laugh at your roomie! Too bad you didn’t get some video of that!🙂

    Reply

  7. allison
    Mar 16, 2009 @ 15:03:04

    Sounds like a grand ol’ time at the House! Wish I was there. Anyway, *I* was wondering, why the hell you’re in that bed and not up and around and back home where you belong, blogging, and making us laugh and smile?

    Come on girl, get up! Up, I say! Move it or lose it! Damn. Sigh.

    It usually works with the husband. 😦

    Reply

  8. javajunkee
    Mar 16, 2009 @ 18:47:10

    I am trying not to laugh..really I am but you talking about your roomie made it so I have to laugh. You haven’t caned her yet??

    I will give you a reason to get up…so you can put saran wrap under the toilet seat for your roomie!🙂

    you didn’t take yoohoo to stay at the home with you? She could have been loads of fun in there. You could have blamed all kinds of pranks on her.

    Reply

  9. Romi
    Mar 16, 2009 @ 20:09:00

    Hey Joan, just wanted to pop by and see how you’re doing! Sorry they keep feeding you the yellow stuff but it’s nice to know you are being taken care of and I bet you’ll be lifting that leg out of bed in no time!😉

    Reply

  10. thebeadden
    Mar 16, 2009 @ 21:17:11

    “wake up dead!” hahahaha! Are you in a hospital or a looney bin? It sounds like you have to hurry up and heal, and get the hell out of there before these patients rub off on you!

    Just kidding, Joan.😉 It’s great to see you are doing well and in good spirits.

    Your lunch…could it be more bland. I mean really, a touch of colour would be nice. Nothing like adding to the drab. But those beautiful flowers make up for it.

    Take care and get well. ((((hugs and healing))))

    Reply

  11. David
    Mar 17, 2009 @ 06:02:02

    Funny list Joan.🙂 That’s amazing that you can walk so soon after surgery!! It was a total knee replacement? Incredible!

    Thanks for the great photos. Hope it helps to document it. It always worked for me when my family has been in the hospital. I haven’t had my turn as a patient yet (unless you include my colonoscopy).

    Here’s hoping that your roomie gets some nicer panties, and that you’re getting a nice glass of water to go with that bread!

    Healing vibes to you … ♥🙂 ♥🙂 ♥🙂 ♥🙂

    Reply

  12. Joy
    Mar 17, 2009 @ 11:43:36

    Only you can make me laugh this way Joanie. Good Gawd!!! I’m in stitches here.

    Why is it they wake you up so damn early in the hospital??? I think it’s a hurry up to wait kind of deal.

    Thanks for the note. Miss you lots and can’t wait to see you around everyday again.

    Reply

  13. Sandra
    Mar 17, 2009 @ 17:29:03

    Haha, what a great post, Joan!

    You keep taking care of yourself and keep exercising that wonderful sense of humour of yours and I’m sure your recovery will be extra speedy. 🙂

    Reply

  14. museditions
    Mar 17, 2009 @ 17:44:53

    Of course S & O want you back home! They can’t have eaten anything since you left!😉
    Your post makes ME want to go home right now—and I AM home.
    Glad your spirits are good and your leg works. Here’s hoping they spring ya soon!

    Reply

  15. javajunkee
    Mar 17, 2009 @ 18:00:12

    ok..you know what sucks..is when they wake your ass up out of a good sleep to give you a freakin’ sleeping pill. WTF?

    Reply

  16. sheng
    Mar 17, 2009 @ 21:17:34

    I hope you feel better now Joanie, way to go!

    Reply

  17. croneandbearit
    Mar 17, 2009 @ 21:24:50

    Good Lord woman, be thankful the nurse actually pulled down your pants! LOL Last time I was in hospital they gave me what I thought was chocolate pudding – turned out to be prune whip – so I completely understand your suspicions of the yellow stuff for breakfast. Heal quickly my friend. You are always in prayers. Hugs!

    Reply

  18. thegirlfromtheghetto
    Mar 17, 2009 @ 22:04:20

    I love those flowers … and can appreciate the hate on hospital etiquette. If I had surgery I’d really really want a private room. People bug me enough in regular life. I can’t imagine ass and knee pain on top of it all.

    I hope you will be better soon.

    Reply

  19. lupusranting
    Mar 17, 2009 @ 22:52:52

    I’ve been out of town and away from computers!! Arggh! I’m soooo glad you’re doing well … at least your sense of humor is strong, even if your knee isn’t. 🙂 Beautiful flowers, by the way. I hope you get sprung soon. Hospital rehab is the pitts!

    Reply

  20. JavaQueen
    Mar 18, 2009 @ 03:40:14

    I’d be wondering all sorts of stuff too- and if my roomie was talking on the phone but not on it yet- I’d be dying laughing too! The flowers are gorgeous. Dogs can visit? WTF, I’ll pack up this morning and Cozmo, Bella, and I will be there around noon- so have one of those delicious sammys ready! (*that sammy doesn’t look ANYTHING like the one you packed for the ladies at the beach last summer btw, just sayn’*)

    Reply

  21. mrsvierkant
    Mar 20, 2009 @ 22:45:15

    Love the pictures. 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

