The Baby Shower

It seems that I am planning the baby shower for Sarah and Obie.  They want to do a couples baby shower.  I guess I will be doing a lot of the planning from my hospital bed.  That will be good for me because it will keep me busy.

babyshowerinvitation450

Sarah and Obie want to celebrate the upcoming birth of their little one with all their family and friends.  They have a lot of family and friends.  We obviously don’t want to hurt anyone’s feelings so this is going to be a good sized baby shower.  We certainly won’t be able to stuff everybody in anyone’s house that we know.. We’re talking 80 or so people.  So I have to find a venue that is really cheap.  We are going to do a pot luck.

I’ve never given a baby shower so I hope I do it correctly.  It’s the last Sunday in April so I have to get hustling.  I will have lots of help from Sarah’s friends and my sister and my niece.  Sarah is not one to want to play games so I don’t have to worry about that plus I doubt if the guys would want to play baby games. We want it to be more like a big party with lots of good food, beer and wine.

She won’t get any more gifts by having the men and children come.  She’s not doing it for the gifts.  She just wants everyone to celebrate and have fun not just the women.  Also Obie is taking such a big part in her pregnancy it only seems fair that he gets to attend the shower.

So I have my work cut out for me.  I think it will be a fun day.  I definitely want to keep it low key, inexpensive and a really great time.

If you guys have any ideas for the shower, let me know.

cartoon221

I actually did get to feel new baby kick this weekend.  It was awesome!!!! I suspect this will be my last post until after the surgery.  Hopefully I will be able to get on the internet at the nursing care center.

15 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Romi
    Mar 08, 2009 @ 21:27:16

    Just wanting to wish you well on Wednesday’s surgery!!!🙂

    Will be thinking good thoughts for you, and as for the baby shower, I think you are hitting a home run just by NOT having the games, haha😉

    Reply

  2. 3boys1mommy
    Mar 09, 2009 @ 00:47:07

    Aww Joanie, I think the games are the best part! Baby showers are my favorite, but if Sarah is against them, you should listen to her.

    Best of luck to you on Wednesday, stay calm and positive.

    Reply

  3. joann
    Mar 09, 2009 @ 10:11:27

    I’ll be thinking of you Wed. as I’m on route to El Paso, Texas to visit Wendy & Buck ! (I’ve NEVER flown before !) You’ll do just fine ! So many good thoughts and blessings are going out to you now as they will be then ! You and I will be on an adventure that will change our lives for the better !
    Great idea about having a fun party atmosphere as opposed to the traditional baby shower ! I agree! Everyone can just relax,eat,drink and enjoy the day ! God bless ya Joan !

    Reply

  4. Just a Mom
    Mar 09, 2009 @ 11:27:17

    I hated baby shower games too! Just being around friends and family is the best part of the shower anyway! Maybe for cups you could use cheap baby bottles!

    Reply

  5. allison
    Mar 09, 2009 @ 12:59:33

    Baby shower games… ugh. Some of them can be pretty lame and embarrassing, too!

    Hospital bed? Did I miss something? I usually just lurk around here, Joan, but the hospital bed comment made me post. lol. Sorry. I just don’t like anyone being ill.

    Reply

    • joanharvest
      Mar 09, 2009 @ 14:11:37

      Hi Allison!

      I am having a total knee replacement surgery on Wednesday. The good thing is I’m not sick and I’ll have a nice new knee. The bad thing, and it’s not really bad, is that I have never had surgery before and I’m a little anxious.

      Thanks for stopping by!!

      Reply

  6. Diane
    Mar 09, 2009 @ 13:01:24

    80 guests?…wow….
    You don’t need advice with sister, niece and all those friends with experience to help.
    But….(there is that famous but)…Ahead of time, you might want to think out how you are going to handle everyone sitting around to ‘oh’ and ‘ah’ as Sarah opens 40 gifts. That’s a l-o-n-g sit. I’m sure someone will think of something clever.
    Know anyone who can get you a good deal on renting a tent for the party? (just kidding).
    Now you REALLY have something to keep your mind off of knees….perfect timing.

    Reply

  7. Hannah
    Mar 09, 2009 @ 15:41:17

    How fun, I love baby showers! I am sure you will host a great one, I can imagine it would be a lot of fun. There are no “rules”, just do what you think Sarah & Obie will like, and you can’t go wrong. I can’t wait to hear all about it (and perhaps see a few photos). Have FUN!!🙂

    Reply

  8. thebeadden
    Mar 09, 2009 @ 21:33:20

    What a great t-shirt in the photo! Ha! Love it!
    I bet every pregnant woman would love to have one.

    I’ll pop a few things up at my site that I thought were cute ideas.

    I don’t know if you are going with a theme. But one that everyone would think was neat is Dr Seuss. You can be as strange, whacky and fun as you want. Even the guys would get a kick out of it, the kids would love it.

    I saw another blogger who did one and will leave links too. I’m was going to post about it anyway.

    Not that you need to have a theme or anything. Some people might think they are tacky.

    Best of luck on with your surgery. I’ll be thinking of you.

    Reply

  9. sheng
    Mar 09, 2009 @ 21:38:35

    Oh my, i will miss your posts, i will wait for it.

    Reply

  10. thebeadden
    Mar 10, 2009 @ 00:17:53

    Oh, I forgot. At the last baby shower I went to, they bought the thank you cards that you send out, put them in a basket in the envelopes. A cup of pens beside it.

    They asked each person (or family) to write their name and mailing address on the envelope and then drop it into a decorated box with a slit on top. At some point later in the day they would pick a prize winner from the box.

    That way the thank you cards are pre-addressed and the parents won’t have the chore of writing them out. You know the address will be correct and everyone fills them out because they have a chance to win a prize.

    Cool, huh?

    Reply

  11. Diane
    Mar 10, 2009 @ 06:50:00

    No games?….couples?….kids?…..

    What about a dance floor?….

    DJ?…friends who play music?…..

    Reply

  12. duskydi
    Mar 10, 2009 @ 10:44:55

    Hi Joans of New knees ( Fairly soon ).

    All the very best for you hospital and knee journey, I will be thinking about you and sending you love. Sorry not much cop on the baby shower, never had one and am struggling thinking for ideas as to what to play.

    Much love to you and yours Joan
    Love
    Di x

    Reply

  13. JavaQueen
    Mar 11, 2009 @ 06:04:05

    BAHAHAHAH! LOOK AT HOW YOU PHOTO SHOPPED IN THE CANE, I JUST NOTICED THAT!
    Congrats to Sarah and have fun at the party- the pot luck sounds like the way to go!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

