Island Living!

First I would like to thank you for your heart felt messages on my last post. I appreciate your concern and hopefully the one involved will keep trying to do his best.

I haven’t yet set up my computer in my room because I have no table or desk. I have to bring it in the kitchen every time I use it.  It’s leaning up against a pineapple right now.  If I take the pineapple away the cover will smash down on the table.

Now to the good stuff. I love the Island. I love my house. I can’t even think of anything to complain about. Today I made banana muffins and immediately brought one to Sarah at work. It was still hot from the oven. It takes me about 3 minutes to get to her store. The kitchen is a joy to work in.

I do have a minor whine about the drivers here. I don’t think they teach the use of blinkers at driver’s ed on this island. No one uses them. Maybe there are a lot of psychics who live here and just know what direction people are going to turn. Not being psychic I have no clue what direction these dumbasses want to go. It is very annoying.
There are no traffic lights on the whole island.  There is one blinking light and that is it.  The top speed on the island is 45 MPH.  There are a zillion one way streets.  I would love to meet the person who decided how the one ways would run.  There is one place in town called “five corners” which is a hellish place to try to get through in the summer.  I have heard that you just don’t bother to take a left at that intersection.

I hear this was a big seller on the Island last Christmas.

bad-drivers-handbook

Well, I can play the game too.  If they don’t want blinkers I won’t give them blinkers.

left_led_turn

I don’t know if I can do it.  It is ingrained in me to use blinkers. Maybe I will keep using blinkers to be different and set a good example.

Also, some of the people here think it’s OK to park in handicapped parking places when you are not handicapped.  They haven’t met me yet.  I am going to the police department tomorrow hoping they have a volunteer program for catching handicapped parking space thieves.  If they don’t I will have to become a vigilante.  I’ll have to come up with a  MASK and of course I will Use THE CANE!!!!!

Now that things are settled down on all fronts I am back to blogging.  Thanks for hanging in there with me.

the-family-at-the-new-house1

21 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Sandra
    Feb 17, 2009 @ 16:28:55

    So good to hear from you, Joan! Have been thinking about you a lot. 🙂

    Your island and new home sound magic.

    LOL, we have the same thing here with drivers who don’t indicate and the need to be psychic.

    My Dad used to say that he thought those non-indicating drivers thought their blinkers were purely for decoration – because they certainly weren’t using them as intended!

    I really love it here. There is a whole new world to discover. I watched a how the other day that had some great scenes of New Zealand, another world I wouldn’t mind visiting.

    Reply

  2. Hannah
    Feb 17, 2009 @ 16:35:00

    Lovely to hear from you! I guess you saw my comment on Facebook, LOL 😉
    I’m glad you are settling in and that you love the island and the house. Non-indicating drivers would make me batty though! I’m sure you’ll get used to them, given time. Just don’t stop indicating yourself!

    I’ll be on Facebook more now too. It really is annoying when people don’t use blinkers. But if that is all I can find to complain about I think I will really like it here.

    Reply

  3. teeni
    Feb 17, 2009 @ 16:50:25

    YAY! So glad to see a post from you with a pic of you all in front of the house! That is too cool that you can deliver hot muffins to Sarah at work! I’m so jealous! 🙂 But I’m happy for you both too. Oh, that whole issue with the blinkers would drive me insane. I always want to put a bumper sticker on my car that says “Turn signals – they’re not just for decoration.” Prayers will continue for your family Joan. Can’t hurt, right?

    Prayers can never hurt Teeni and I thank you for them. If they have that bumper sticker I am going to buy one. I will definitely look online. I’m glad to be back among my friends here in blogland.

    Reply

  4. fightingwindmills
    Feb 17, 2009 @ 17:40:14

    Propped up by a pineapple, eh? It’s good to have you back Joan!

    I don’t know what I am going to use tomorrow. I have to cut up the pineapple tonight. Thanks, FW. It’s great to be back.

    Reply

  5. Tanya Hegg
    Feb 17, 2009 @ 18:00:13

    Haha! I don’t think the blinker thing is an island thing. I was just complaining to Fred about it yesterday. I don’t think they teach the importance of using blinkers at all anymore.

    Hope to see you soon!!

    Non blinker users suck!!! We hope to have some kind of a housewarming here at some point. We even have room for a few people to sleep over. I know you guys are at the top of the list.

    Reply

  6. Joy
    Feb 17, 2009 @ 19:23:37

    I’m so glad your back. I’ve really missed you. I’m hoping Damon is doing okay. I’m so happy your happy in your new home. I loved seeing the photo of the three of you on the front stoop. That view is to die for. I would give almost anything to live on water. I love the way it sounds and smells.

    Laughing about the pineapple. I can see you catching those dumbass people breaking the handicap parking law. I’m assuming you’ll get it all on tape and put it here for us to make fun of!!

    I’ve missed you too Joy and I am happy to see you on Facebook. Don’t worry I will be videoing a lot around here. I hope to give you lots of stuff for you to make fun of.

    Reply

  7. sheng
    Feb 17, 2009 @ 19:40:48

    Yay, welcome back Joanie. Hugs to you. I am glad you look fine in the pics, and I am just glad the changes you have experienced while away are well-adjusted to. Take it easy, you will soon learn to get used to everything there is in Martha’s Vineyard.

    Hugs to you again!

    sHenG

    I am looking forward to all the fun things they have to do around here. I am going to visit an Alpaca farm next week. Hugs right back to you Sheng!!

    Reply

  8. laura
    Feb 17, 2009 @ 20:29:49

    It was good to hear from you. What a nice picture and I’m glad the dog got in on it too! I’m so jealous of you though! I’m still trying to empty my house for sale and I’ve known for almost a year that I was going to do this. It seems like you managed to do it in no time at all. I can’t even begin to imagine what kind of traffic nightmares you’re going to experience this summer but just wait until you get a hold of some of the trouble makers. Look out, island! (And I’m hoping everything else works out for you too.)

    Our old house isn’t exactly empty. Since we own it we only took what we needed and still have one more trip to make with the rest of the stuff that will certainly fill another truck. I plan on being sick that day. Don’t tell on me.

    Reply

  9. The Vinyl Villager
    Feb 17, 2009 @ 20:36:12

    Glad you’re back!! Cant wait to see more pics of the house.

    Keep thinking positive thoughts!

    I will take pics of the house as soon as we get some stuff on the walls and a few decorations up. It looks a little bare right now. At least all the boxes are unpacked and we have a basement to put all the crap in.

    Reply

  10. javajunkee
    Feb 17, 2009 @ 20:57:08

    still envious of that house. That is a cool house..but I’m glad YOU get to be in it!

    ok as for the blinkers…when it’s summer time I like to announce to the whole entire world that

    BLINKERS WEREN’T WITH THE OPTIONAL PACKAGE…LEARN TO USE THEM!

    or my other favorite is…”WHAT THEY DON’T MAKE TURN SIGNALS ON ——– (insert whatever kind of car it is here)”

    results in me getting and recipricating the bird!

    Don’t you just love “the bird”? It says it all. They are going to have to learn to use blinkers around here cause the “blinker vigilante” is here to stay. I’ve missed you!!

    Reply

  11. Sue (LupusRanting)
    Feb 17, 2009 @ 22:52:48

    Yaaay! I’m so glad you’re up and at it on the Island 🙂 Welcome back …. prayers still coming your way. The house looks fantastic and so do you! Can’t wait to hear more about your new home and new adventures. xoxoxoxox!!!

    Thanks for the prayers. We still can use them. I will definitely be posting about my adventures.

    Reply

  12. JavaQueen
    Feb 18, 2009 @ 00:51:10

    Holy hell, did you just write “vigilante” – I nearly fell off my chair as the thought of you running amok with your cane has me in stitches. I lived in Kansas for 6 years w/ my parents because my dad re-located for his job. My mother went bonkers that those fuckers did NOT use their blinkers. She made up a name for them. She referred to them as “Kanzoids” Oh, how it drove her nuts.

    I think you should keep using your blinker and set a good example. I’m sure they wont “get it” – they’ll probably point to you and say, “Why is her car blinking like that?” and offer to call a towing company for ya.

    You always make me laugh!! I will be running amok with my cane. Watch out island dumbasses!! I will remember “Kanzoids”. I have missed you a lot!!

    Reply

  13. joann
    Feb 18, 2009 @ 07:34:27

    Glad to see your back ! You were missed ! I will keep up the good thoughts for you and your family . Sounds like you have plenty of Blog material on that there island ! YEE HAA!! GO-TO-TOWN ! I have a similar comment about non-using blinker drivers – my kids grew up with it . ” OH ! I SEE !! BLINKERS MUST HAVE BEEN EFFING OPTIONAL THAT YEAR !!#! YOU STUPID ##$!!# !” That’s my angry voice ,hoping the driver, who almost HIT me , will hear ! I wish I had a loud speaker on the hood of my car . lol .. Have a great rest of the week ! You look fantastic !

    A loudspeaker on top of the car would be awesome. I want one. I think I will have plenty of blog material around here. I will remember that comment you use about the non-blinkers. I like the sound of that one. Thanks for the compliment. I am still going to WW.

    Reply

  14. Care
    Feb 18, 2009 @ 09:17:59

    SO happy for you!

    Thanks CC!! I hope you will come and visit me!!

    Reply

  15. Just a Mom
    Feb 18, 2009 @ 11:18:09

    Glad to see ya back and in fine form! If they don’t have a program for catching handicapped parking space thieves you should ask them if they having any laws against caning dumbasses!

    The picture of you in a mask with your cane just put a mental picture in my head, it’s of Dom Deliuse as “HIM” from CannonBall Run!

    I remember that costume he had with CHAOS on his forehead. My daughter is probably reading this and becoming very afraid. Be afraid, Sarah. I am going to make a costume. Ha! Ha!

    Reply

  16. Red
    Feb 18, 2009 @ 14:26:25

    i . am. jealous.
    you’re fortunate to “love” where you’re at . . cherish it.

    I promise you, I will cherish it. I am glad to see you back and OK after your ordeal. I have to go back and read your post today. It is very titillating!!

    Reply

  17. David
    Feb 18, 2009 @ 19:59:24

    Love the family photo and the turn signal with the red X on it!

    I really enjoyed reading your “minor whine”! I hope that you’re not the only one on the island who uses turn signals as that will put a dent in your vigilante efforts. They’ll see “turn signal lady” coming a mile down the road. Of course Fear Of The CANE will make them scatter whenever they finally DO see you. Dumbasses are everywhere I guess. But since you only have 15,000 people on the island, how many dumbasses can there be? Yeah, that’s a dumbass question isn’t it?

    Reply

  18. mrsvierkant
    Feb 19, 2009 @ 15:26:42

    Maybe everyone orders their vehicles without blinkers to save some money? Oh, and I’d whoop those non-handicap parkers that are in those handicap spots with your cane. That is just plain wrong when people do that. UGH! I love the picture of the three of you on the front porch. Very nice.

    Glad you are enjoying the island.

    Reply

  19. Hay
    Feb 19, 2009 @ 16:42:10

    Yay, you are happy!

    We live in a teeny beach town, and the driving here is AWFUL. People just stop in the middle of the road, pull out in front of you…blah.

    I wish my mummy brought me warm muffins for lunch!

    Reply

  20. Peter Parkour
    Feb 21, 2009 @ 01:36:31

    Keep up the good blinker use, Joan. Make me proud. 😉 If they don’t have a volunteer program can I help design your mask? 😛 I’m glad to hear all is going well with he relocation. You have been so missed. As you can see I’m a little behind on my reading, but I’ve missed you none the less.

    Reply

  21. kilax
    Feb 22, 2009 @ 23:01:17

    It sounds like everyone is really laid-back, with the turn signals and handicapped parking and all. Island life is completely different, isn’t it?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

