Big News!

I have some big news to tell you all.

WE are moving to the island of Martha’s Vineyard. Sarah has worked there for 7 years and her bosses and our family feel it is time to make the big move to the Vineyard. Sarah spends almost three hours a day commuting on the boat and this time is taken away from the time she could be spending with our family, especially new baby.

The house we are renting has four bedrooms so Sarah and Obie won’t have to live in the basement anymore. My bedroom is on the first floor and the second floor has three bedrooms–one for the wasband when he visits, one for new baby and one for Sarah and Obie. There is a farmer’s porch the whole length of the front of the house . I just imagine myself going out there at night rocking the baby. There is a deck on the back of the house and 1 1/2 acres of land. It has a big kitchen with lots of cupboard space and counter space–something I don’t currently have. It has so many closets too. It has a dining area which we don’t have now.

I have always loved the house I am in because I have been here 35 years and it is home. I know we can make the new house into a home if we are all together. You can even see the water from the house in the winter when there are no leaves on the trees. There are no houses behind us all the way to the water. It is all trees. You can barely see the house across the street and next door with all the trees.

It even has a laundry room on the main floor. I won’t have to do any stairs. It also has not one but two full baths. I feel that I will be living like a queen. I am so not use to a house this big.

I will post some Christmas photos but Sarah has my camera and I keep forgetting to ask her for it.

I’ll post photos of the house as soon as soon as I get them. This is a google image and the house is right in the middle.

house1

Your pregnancy: 16 weeks


See the big picture

How your baby’s growing:

Get ready for a growth spurt. In the next few weeks, your baby will double his weight and add inches to his length. Right now, he’s about the size of an avocado: 4 1/2 inches long (head to rump) and 3 1/2 ounces. His legs are much more developed, his head is more erect than it has been, and his eyes have moved closer to the front of his head. His ears are close to their final position, too. The patterning of his scalp has begun, though his locks aren’t recognizable yet. He’s even started growing toenails. And there’s a lot happening inside as well. For example, his heart is now pumping about 25 quarts of blood each day, and this amount will continue to increase as your baby continues to develop.

Soon you’ll experience one of the most wonderful moments of pregnancy — feeling your baby move. While some women notice “quickening” as early as 16 weeks, many don’t feel their baby move until about 18 weeks or more. (And if this is your first baby, don’t be too impatient — you may not be aware of your baby’s movements until 20 weeks or so.) The earliest movements may feel like little flutters, gas bubbles, or even like popcorn popping. Over the following weeks they’ll grow stronger and you’ll be able to feel them much more frequently.

27 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Hannah
    Dec 30, 2008 @ 19:33:54

    Wow, that really is very exciting news, Joan! It sounds like a very good idea for you to move now, before Sarah gets too tired with her pregnancy for that loooong commute. And of course once baby arrives, it will be great to live closer to work. It sounds like a fantastic house! Hooray for having no stairs, and for 2 baths! Luxury, alright 🙂

    I am so excited to be going to the Vineyard. I will have lots to post about. I can’t believe we will have two bathrooms and a porch. It’s too good to be true. Happy New Year!

    Reply

  2. michaelm
    Dec 30, 2008 @ 22:42:02

    I hope it all works out.
    Martha’s Vineyard?
    I can think of a gazillion other worse places to live.
    Giving up the comfort of familiarity is difficult though.
    I’ll be think of you guys.
    Happy New Year, Joan
    ~m

    You are so right, if I have to move, what better place to go! Though I will always have a special place in my heart for this home where my children were born and I have lived for so long. Thanks for stopping by and Have a wonderful New Year!!

    Reply

  3. Little Miss
    Dec 30, 2008 @ 22:52:53

    Congratulations, Joan! I am sooo excited for you and your family. What a great adventure and new stage of life for you all. I love what you say about everything being okay if you are all together. I can’t wait to see pictures of you rocking that baby on the porch! How awesome.

    Family is everything, isn’t it? I can do anything with my family at my side. I am so fortunate to have such a loving family. I will take tons of photos. I am really excited about this move. Happy New Year Little Miss!!

    Reply

  4. laura
    Dec 30, 2008 @ 23:13:46

    I’m currently in the process of cleaning out my house so I can get it on the market in a week or so. It’s been a long and tedious prospect so I don’t envy you that. It’s been a good home for me and my 3 kids and when I moved in I was a slightly stunned and newly single woman. I will always remember what a haven it was for me and it holds many memories but, it’s just a house. Our future is what counts and imagine all the wonderful times you’ll have in your new home.

    That’s right I remember you are moving too. I guess the saying “Home is where the heart is” rings true, doesn’t it? AS long as we are with our families things will be fine. Have a wonderful New Year, Laura!!

    Reply

  5. JavaQueen
    Dec 31, 2008 @ 01:50:27

    Joanie, this is great news! No more long commute for your daughter which = more family time. The house sounds amazing- roomy and secluded – which cannot be beat! I’m really happy for you and your family 🙂

    Thanks Anne. I am really happy to be making a change to such a nice house. I love being surrounded by all the woods. Have a wonderful New Year JQ!!!!

    Reply

  6. Peter Parkour
    Dec 31, 2008 @ 03:12:38

    WOW!!! Congratulations! I love all the trees. Awesome!!! Happy New Year, Joan. 🙂

    The trees are awesome aren’t they? I love that I won’t be so close to my neighbors and I will be living on a very quiet road. Have a wonderful New Year, Peter!!

    Reply

  7. mageb123
    Dec 31, 2008 @ 05:36:02

    Hi Joan,
    Long time reader,first time poster. Welcome to MVI my home for the last 35 years. Watch out once you let the world know where you live, you will be forever be considered rich by those who don’r know you. I hope Sarah decides to have her baby on the island. This is the best hospital to give birth in.

    I hope to meet you sometime once you move here. Believe me, you will tons more to post about. Happy New Year!

    Welcome mageb!!! I am happy you stopped by. Well, I’m rich but not with money but I have a feeling we will have lots of visitors in the summer. My daughter was telling me about the hospital. She doesn’t want to leave her doctor who is in Falmouth but if it happens that she doesn’t have time to get to Falmouth at least we know there is a great hospital on island. I’d love to meet you when we get there. I really want to get involved in island life. I know a lot of people in Falmouth because I owned a business here for 25 years. I want to get to know people on the island too. I have always loved visiting MV and I can’t believe I am actually going to get to live there. Happy New Yera and please keep in touch!

    Reply

  8. bkclubcare
    Dec 31, 2008 @ 08:11:45

    AAAUUUUUGGHH SQUEEEEEEEEEE! Awesome! Teeny and I will be visiting for sure!

    I can pick you guys up at the boat and we can have a great day. I will look forward to that. The island has so much to see. Have you been there before?

    Reply

  9. jeanny
    Dec 31, 2008 @ 09:51:55

    wow….congratulation. I am excited for you 🙂

    Happy New Year too you and the rest of the family!

    Thanks, Jeanny!! I hope you and your family have a great New Year!!

    Reply

  10. mvobsession
    Dec 31, 2008 @ 10:35:34

    Joan -The house sounds lovely and you’ll all be so happy there. Living on the Vineyard will make it so much easier for Sarah.

    You’re starting 2009 in a very exciting way. Good luck to all of you.

    another Joan

    I thought of you right away when the move was announced to me. I am really excited to enter this new chapter of my life.

    Reply

  11. Just a Mom
    Dec 31, 2008 @ 11:46:26

    Congrats! What a way to start a new year! New home, new baby, new knees! Wow how are you ever going to top 2009! 🙂

    I wish you and your family health, wealth and lots of love!

    New Everything it seems> It is so very exciting. I can’t even decide which is the best new thing. Actually, yes I can–New Baby!! Everything else is just frosting!! have a wonderful New Year!!

    Reply

  12. birdpress
    Dec 31, 2008 @ 13:10:19

    Oh, wow, Joan, you are going to have so many exciting new changes this coming year! I’m so happy for you and your family. You have been very blessed, and I know that you deserve every blessing. Congrats, and Happy New Year!

    Thanks birdpress!! You are so right. I am blessed and very fortunate. I hope you and J have a fabulous New Year!!

    Reply

  13. fightingwindmills
    Dec 31, 2008 @ 15:36:39

    That sounds like such a nice layout! I’m excited for you all. Happy New Year, Joan. I sure have enjoyed our friendship.

    Reply

  14. teeni
    Dec 31, 2008 @ 15:38:55

    I was afraid to comment. I didn’t know if this was a good thing or a bad thing. I know you seem all happy so obviously I’m very happy for you too. But I was kinda sad thinking that you would be less accessible for get togethers. But I guess that is not the case as I read through the comments above. So I’m back to being doubly-happy for you (and me) now! 🙂 And I will be so jealous of you to have two bathrooms. That is the worst thing about my house. I hope someday we can remedy that (or move). 🙂

    Reply

  15. Joy
    Dec 31, 2008 @ 15:44:13

    This is fantabulious. I’m so happy for you. The baby will have so much room to play. Aaawww…things are looking up for your family and it will be nice that Sarah won’t have so far to travel. My best to you Joan and your family.

    Reply

  16. mrsvierkant
    Dec 31, 2008 @ 17:26:33

    It sounds like a wonderful place to live. I know it is hard to leave a place after so long, but I think this will be wonderful for all of you. (((Hugs)))

    Happy New Year!

    Reply

  17. thebeadden
    Dec 31, 2008 @ 20:42:00

    The Island! You’ll be living in style. I would be so freaking excited! Very happy to hear this, Joan. No stairs, bonus!

    Reply

  18. javajunkee
    Dec 31, 2008 @ 22:47:17

    how cool is that!! But is there still room for me and the gang when we take our road trip? 🙂

    Reply

  19. museditions
    Jan 01, 2009 @ 00:04:18

    Golly, Joan, your own BR on the first floor! Is that where the kitchen is located too? You will be queen, there…but you are, anyway. Does this mean that you will give up the other home, as in, not ever live there anymore? If so, I know that must be bittersweet. But, wow, the Vineyard! And the kids won’t have to do the construction in the basement after all. Sounds like a great situation, and a great change for the new year!

    Reply

  20. threeboys1mommy
    Jan 01, 2009 @ 01:50:05

    Oooh Joanie, You are going to be living large at the vineyard, I can’t wait for you to share your new home with us.

    Reply

  21. David
    Jan 01, 2009 @ 12:19:39

    Congratulations Joan, sounds like a sensible move. I’m sure it will be tough to leave your longtime home, but as you say, home is where the heart(s) is (are). Good to hear that there’s a nice hospital there too. Looks from the Google Earth shot like you’ll be in a more pastoral setting. That’s always good for the soul, IMHO.

    Happy New Year!

    Reply

  22. lupusranting
    Jan 03, 2009 @ 23:24:04

    I’m so very happy for you Joan! A nice big house with a porch by the water, a loving daughter, grandbaby on the way … you have much to look forward to!!! You are truly blessed!
    Best wishes for a wonderful 2009!

    Reply

  23. odette
    Jan 04, 2009 @ 05:19:47

    wow joan, you’re going to be a grandma! oma! lola! wowwww! and moving to a fabulous house, you definitely have so much to look forward to in the new year. 🙂

    i’m happy for you, and for all the wonderful things 2009 will bring you! i love you too and thank you sooo much for the friendship!

    Reply

  24. thegirlfromtheghetto
    Jan 04, 2009 @ 23:43:40

    Wow, how exciting. I have always wanted to visit the Vinyard. I’m excited for the move! BTW, I love the photo of your daughter as a one hour old. Fantastic shot!

    Reply

  25. Emerald
    Jan 06, 2009 @ 12:33:21

    Ooooh! This is exciting! I know it must be hard to leave the place you’ve been for so long, but you’re right – you can make it if you’re all together! I love moving, it feels like such a fresh start. I can’t wait to move to NC. Look at all those trees surrounding you! Yes, please do share some pictures when you can!

    Reply

  26. kilax
    Jan 06, 2009 @ 14:00:39

    That sounds amazing! Congrats! I can’t wait to hear more about it/see more!

    Reply

  27. Susan
    Jan 18, 2009 @ 13:01:28

    I am sooooo jealous! The Vineyard is our absolute favorite place on the planet. We’ve gone there every year since forever. Our dream is to someday live there. Good luck with your move.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

