The Hospice

I decided this morning to call The Hospice of Cape Cod.
and see if I could find a child to give the Red Sox stuff to.  I was sort of hoping I wouldn’t find one there.  I didn’t want to think about some poor kid being there at all.  It’s way to sad.   At the same time though, a child who happens to be there might just enjoy some Red Sox stuff.  I talked to a wonderful woman who told me she had a little boy there who would love the stuff.  As soon as she said that I got teary.  I hate to imagine that little boy in a hospice.  I won’t be able to meet him because of privacy issues but at least I know the stuff is going to someone who will appreciate it.

I am bringing the stuff to her tomorrow.  I will post again tomorrow after I do.  Come to find out the woman I talked to knows people that I do but I guess that would happen in a small town.  I look forward to tomorrow.  This is when I wish I was rich so I could just give stuff away all the time.  It really is better to give than receive though I do like a prize on occasion.

Today I am on my way out to get fitted for a knee and back brace hoping that will help me walk better. I have to go now or I will be late.  Ta! Ta!

15 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. bkclubcare
    Dec 10, 2008 @ 12:56:51

    Hugs to you for this, you dear DEAR lady. and have fun(?) at the fitting!

    Thanks CuriousC. I will tell all about the fitting tomorrow.

    Reply

  2. teeni
    Dec 10, 2008 @ 13:04:37

    It’s awesome that you thought to call a hospice! It’s so sad but you will be making someone happy.

    I hope your fitting goes well – I had no idea you would be getting those braces but if it is going to help you walk better then I’m all for it. We can’t have you risk breaking your @ss anymore! 😉

    I was going to call the hospital but I thought the hospice would be fitting and might make some little one a bit happy.

    Oh please, no more ass breaks!!

    Reply

  3. Wendy
    Dec 10, 2008 @ 16:33:12

    Good for you, Joan, for having the courage to call Hospice. You did a wonderful thing.

    Good luck with your contraptions fitting. I hope they make walking easier.

    Thanks Sister W. I think hospice was the right and fitting way to go with this. I really think the braces will give me more support and make me look really weird but weird is good, right?

    Reply

  4. trishatruly
    Dec 10, 2008 @ 17:09:08

    You are a good woman, Joan. I’m sure you made that little boy’s day a whole lot brighter.

    Thanks Trish. I’m glad someone will enjoy the stuff.

    Reply

  5. sulz
    Dec 10, 2008 @ 17:35:54

    wish we could see his face when he sees he’s getting all that! 🙂

    Yes, that’s what I was thinking. But at least I know it is really going to someone real.

    Reply

  6. sheng
    Dec 10, 2008 @ 19:33:13

    Those cuteness will sure light up his face and will surely cheer him up even if he is in the hospice. Merry Christmas!

    You are so right Sheng. It’s fun to know someone will be happy from this mess. Merry Christmas to you too.

    Reply

  7. Peter Parkour
    Dec 10, 2008 @ 20:44:50

    Being in a hospice with Red Sox stuff is way better than being in a hospice with nothing. 😉 Someone deserving of your gifts will be that much happier soon. Very nice job. 🙂 Hope your fitting went well.

    You have a good point there. If it can put a smile on a little boy’s face I’m happy.

    Reply

  8. mrsvierkant
    Dec 10, 2008 @ 23:35:40

    I think you found the right recipient for the gifts!

    Me too. It’s nice to know it will go to someone who is real and really needs a smile.

    Reply

  9. JavaQueen
    Dec 11, 2008 @ 01:24:08

    Good choice Joan. Very thoughtful of you. Some little guy is going to have a better day because you stepped into his life! Oh, about the new bionic gear- will that make the caning bionic too? Cuz, that’d be killer!

    I guess I will have to buy a new bionic cane with buttons that will release weapons and stuff. Some kind of titanium thing that has shooting knives in it and tear gas. Oh what fun that would be. Watch out Dumbasses here I come.

    Reply

  10. museditions
    Dec 11, 2008 @ 03:37:50

    Hospice is just the best organization. Several of my close relatives have been cared for by them, and I can’t say enough wonderful things. As for our mutual young (former) friend, I had been suspicious for some time, but always thought there was some plaintive girl in there who really did need help. S/he does. Of some kind. Of course, nothing justifies her actions. It’s best to move on, and as you say value the terrific blog friends you do have.

    Perhaps you can call the hospice, and they’ll tell you how the little boy reacted—and then you can tell us! 🙂

    I am definitely going to call the hospice next week. Hopefully jane, the hospice lady, will be able to tell me. Yes, the K person really needs some therapy.

    Reply

  11. Magik Quilter
    Dec 11, 2008 @ 07:11:34

    Am so pleased that you have found a little boy to give the goodies to. I am going to be donating half of all my quilts from now on to a charity set up by a friend of mine I met through Flickr whose darling little boy died at five years of age two years ago. she has set up a charity in his name called Shannon’s Army. Kaylee was keen on my quilts so it seems fitting that they go to actual cancer sufferers in oncology units where they can actually bring real comfort.

    Let us know how you went Joan dear.

    I think it is awesome what you are doing with the quilts. I can’t even imagine losing a five year old to cancer. That is so sad. Good for the mom to help others after going through such an ordeal herself.

    Reply

  12. jeanny
    Dec 11, 2008 @ 10:39:47

    that’s the sweetest Joan. You made one kid very happy. 🙂

    Good luck on the fitting, I’ll wait for updates. Take care 🙂

    Thanks, Jeanny. I will definitely keep everyone updated.

    Reply

  13. Joy
    Dec 11, 2008 @ 13:36:21

    You know, this whole “duped” thing has been hard for me to comment on. I’ve thought a LOT about it and I can’t be as kind as everyone else. I went and read most of those comments on that “girls” site and it almost sickens me. I am to honest to tell a lie to begin with so I just cant see the point of making all that shit up. I think people who lie like this are very dangerous and I’m sorry but I find no pity for her. This “girl” took advantage of a lot of you and I find that so sad since this is such a friendly blog and place to come. I hope this person gets help of some king because lying to this magnitude is very scary to me.

    Oh Joy, I totally agree with you. At first I was going to forgive and forget until I read all the comments on her blog and saw how many people she had hurt. If she is even a she. Who knows. Once a liar lies you never trust them again. It is scary because what else will a person like that do for attention?

    Reply

  14. javajunkee
    Dec 11, 2008 @ 14:15:39

    beautiful ending to a sad story! Joan even if that kid never meets you just think what you got to do for them. That is way cool!

    Thanks JJ. At least we can all end this chapter in our blogging lives on a good note.

    Reply

  15. Just a Mom
    Dec 11, 2008 @ 14:50:29

    I am glad you found a good home for the Red Sox stuff. Everything in life happens for a reason, maybe this was the reason for all the lies. 🙂

    Good luck with your knee & back brace!

    I agree with you. Everything happens for a reason and now some little boy will have a happy day. I will get the braces in about two weeks.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

