Awesome Weight Watchers Saturday!

I FREAKIN’ LOST 5.8 pounds.  I was totally shocked.  I knew I had done well but not that well.  That pushes my total to 92.4 pounds and I wanted to lose 100 pounds by Christmas and I just might make that goal.

So I’m thinking that the way to lose weight is to just have a pregnant daughter.  It’s working for me.  Unfortunately not for her but that’s a good thing.  Her weight gain is “New Baby ” weight.
TO SARAH:

How your baby’s growing:

Fingerprints have formed on your baby’s tiny fingertips, her veins and organs are clearly visible through her still-thin skin, and her body is starting to catch up with her head — which makes up just a third of her body size now. If you’re having a girl, she now has more than 2 million eggs in her ovaries. Your baby is almost 3 inches long (the size of a medium shrimp) and weighs nearly an ounce.

13-weeks1

I thought of this wonderful thing to post about in the middle of the night and now I can’t remember it.  I couldn’t fall asleep last night and was on the computer from about 2:30 AM to about 4:00 AM.  I finally fell asleep about 5:00 AM.   I don’t know why I am getting insomnia all of a sudden.  Well, it’s not really all of a sudden.  I have had it on and off (mostly on) for years.  It’s just worse this week.  Oh well, I’m sure it will pop into my head at some point.

tired-woman

Damon got a job as a delivery person for a food service company.  He starts Monday. I hope it works out. It sounds sketchy.  He gets paid on tips and commission.  I don’t understand how that works when you are delivering stuff and not selling it.   He also will be paid in cash.  I just hope he is not getting scammed again.

He also might have a room to rent.  He is meeting the guy tonight.  The man happens to work for the Woods Hole Oceanographic Institute in the summer which is in the next town over from me.  He is a scientist., supposedly.  I hope he is not some pervert.  He’s taking Damon to a hockey game.  He is supposedly married.

Damon is in Charleston, SC.  I guess he will be there for a while until something better comes up.  It’s on the ocean at least.  He says it seems to be a nice place.

I can’t believe Christmas is just around the corner and I haven’t been shopping once.  I think Sarah and I will hit a few stores this weekend.

Oh, next weekend I am spending  it on Martha’s Vineyard with Sarah.  They have a big Christmas celebration and great shops.  I will stay over Saturday night and she is trying to get tickets to the play  “It’s A Wonderful Life”.  I am really looking forward to that and then Sunday night we have a party to go to.

OK, that’s it for now. I know I will have a good post coming up when I remember what it is.

18 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Little Miss
    Dec 06, 2008 @ 14:02:37

    How awesome is that weight loss, Joan! Congrats. You must feel freakin incredible. WAY. To. Go! So, did they explain the new plan to you today? What did you think? I go on Monday to hear all about it. Sounds like you have some great plans coming up and I hope things work out okay for Damon.

    I didn’t get to hear about the new plan yet. I guess it officially comes out on the 7th. I just hope I can keep losing regularly.

    Reply

  2. museditions
    Dec 06, 2008 @ 14:34:06

    5.8! 5.8! 5.8! You are so close to 100 lbs. off now you can almost taste it! Oh, wait—perhaps wrong metaphor. Anyway that’s a lot! Congrats!
    I know what you mean about insomnia and thinking of a great post in the middle of the night. For some reason, I can only write notes at night on envelopes, not notepaper. I have this file of envelopes from bills I just grab whenever. Hmm, I should do a post on that!
    Sounds like Damon lives an adventurous life. I will keep his new job and living situation in my good thoughts.
    Your weekend on Martha’s Vineyard sounds fabulous. I’m just a teeny bit jealous.
    I’m on board to cheer for Sarah growing and you shrinking! That’s a good plan.

    I can’t believe you do the same thing as me with envelopes. I have more notes on envelopes. Then I usually lose the envelopes. I can’t wait to reach the hundred pound mark. Thanks for the positive thoughts for Damon. I think he really needs them right now.

    Reply

  3. c
    Dec 06, 2008 @ 15:59:27

    Get down with your GOOD self, girl! Almost 6 pounds in a week! Congratulations!

    i hope everything works out for Damon. i will continue to keep him in my prayers.

    Have fun shopping. i’ve only done a little bit and i am a horrible shopper because i loath to shop. Usually R does the shopping while i push the cart around and complain about why folks won’t just say ‘Excuse me.’ i mean is it that hard? 😦

    Anyway, i’m proud of you. Whatever you’re doing, keep it up!

    Thanks for the prayers for Damon. He certainly needs them. I think it is hard for him not to live with us at home but it’s not a good situation for him to live in this town and meet up with friends who take him down the wrong road.

    Rude people drive me crazy. I will never understand rudeness. They seem to come out in droves at Christmas rushing around and not caring about the people around them.

    Reply

  4. Peter Parkour
    Dec 06, 2008 @ 16:43:28

    Way to go on the 5.8 lbs. That is super. I’ll be lucky if I didn’t gain this week. Went to a pizza party yesterday. I tend to eat more at a pizza party than I do at a Thanksgiving dinner. Pizza is a huge weakness for me. 😐 Oh well. We shall see. That play sounds like a lot of fun. I love the movie “It’s A Wonderful Life” and plays are always fun. 🙂 That was a very nice little baby segment you put in there. 😀 Maybe it’s a combination of the baby, the holidays and Damon that have you so wired right now. Hopefully he’ll get settled in soon, and you can catch up on your sleep next year. 😉 I’ve been keeping similar hours lately myself. No napping. That might help.

    Pizza is my number one favorite food. I could live on it the rest of my life. Now I am stuck with little weight watcher pizzas but at least I get those.

    I definitely am wired up and you are probably right about the combination of things. My mind is racing when I go to bed. Very true about the no napping.

    Reply

  5. birdpress
    Dec 06, 2008 @ 18:56:02

    Congrats on the weight loss! I hope the insomnia isn’t caused by hunger. Good luck to Damon with the job and the rental. I still have Christmas shopping to do too. Those last few gifts are so tricky!

    I always have my mini bag of popcorn or a high fiber Vitalicious muffin before I go to bed so I am not hungry. I still have all my shopping to do but fortunately I don’t have to buy much.

    Reply

  6. thebeadden
    Dec 06, 2008 @ 19:20:10

    5.8 lbs! Woohoo, Joan! Super! You are so close to 100. Imagine that? 100 lbs! You must feel so great. I’m very happy for you because that must have taken a lot of will power and determination on your part. I’m just having a hard time just trying to kick my coffee habit again. Well done, Joan.

    I am enjoying the information about the baby and how he/she is growing.

    I hope everything works out for Damon.

    My sleeping pattern is so out of whack right now too. I’m not working as much. Staying up into the wee morning hours. Oh, well, it’s winter and I do not like going out into the cold. 🙂

    I hope I can hit the hundred pound mark for Christmas or at least New Year’s Eve. I hope we both get our sleeping back to normal.

    Reply

  7. The Vinyl Villager
    Dec 06, 2008 @ 22:51:27

    that you can lose any weight this time of year amazes me. 5.8 lbs absolutely floors me!

    Charleston is gorgeous! Get there and visit him as soon as you can…and let me know when you do, I can give you a list of must dos!

    It floored me too. I felt I had done well but not that well. If Damon finally settles down there I would love to visit. I’ve been checking Charleston out on websites and it seems like a nice place. Damon is getting to know his way around now.

    Reply

  8. teeni
    Dec 06, 2008 @ 23:10:19

    Holy moly – that is an incredible weight loss! Nice job! I’m jealous but hoping I can post similar things soon. Yay that Damon got a job! I think. Hopefully it is a decent gig. I think your son’s situation reminds me a lot of my cousin’s situation. Ooooh, the grandchild is getting big already! LOL!! Your upcoming weekend sounds like a blast!

    Damon’s job sounds a little weird but hopefully he will earn some money. Yes, the grandkid is 3 inches!!! Woo Hoo!!!

    Reply

  9. JavaQueen
    Dec 07, 2008 @ 02:09:55

    Hello dear heart! I love reading about the different baby stages, it’s all so fascinating ~ just a miracle. It’s so nice to see you getting into it and celebrating each milestone!

    CONGRATS on that weight loss Joan! WAY TO GO!

    Good for Damon, keep us posted. Love you to the moon!
    xoxoxox

    When the baby starts kicking I know I will be annoying Sarah by constantly trying to feel her tummy. I didn’t have the internet when I was pregnant for all the info you can get on having a kid. I just had one dumb book that really didn’t tell you much.

    Love ya!!

    Reply

  10. Hannah
    Dec 07, 2008 @ 02:45:09

    WOW!! That is AWESOME, Joan! Keep up the great work. Had to laugh at your comment about having a pregnant daughter, and how that must be helping you lose weight. Hey, whatever works, right?! 😉
    Wishing Damon all the very best with his new job. I too hope that it’s all legit and that he can really make a new start with this.

    Whatever works is right. Every time I think of eating when I shouldn’t I think of how I want to take baby for walks and to the beach. I want to be able to play with baby and take care of baby. Just thinking about baby keeps me from eating bad stuff. I’m tired of calling baby —IT. 😉

    Reply

  11. thegirlfromtheghetto
    Dec 07, 2008 @ 12:19:07

    5.8 pounds lost after a Holiday? You rock, you rock, you ROCK!!!

    Thank You, Girl From The Ghetto!!! I’m gonna rock a lot more when I am thin.

    Reply

  12. Jim
    Dec 07, 2008 @ 12:54:01

    You’re hearts in it, so the rest of that weight by Christmas can and will be achieved. You go.

    Positive attitude really does help. Thanks Jim!!

    Reply

  13. Just a Mom
    Dec 07, 2008 @ 13:14:10

    Congrats on the weight loss! I am sure you will have no problem reaching your goal!

    Thanks Just a Mom!! This is one goal I know I am going to reach!!

    Reply

  14. romi41
    Dec 07, 2008 @ 16:58:35

    CONGRATS on your weight loss, that’s amazing! And gosh I hope you get the tickets for that play, I think it’ll make your weekend extra-special 🙂

    Thanks Romi!! I forgot to ask Sarah today if she got tickets. Thanks for the reminder.

    Reply

  15. Joy
    Dec 08, 2008 @ 14:31:05

    The weight loss is wonderful Joan. And a holiday in there to boot. GREAT JOB. Your well on your way to being a healthy grandma.

    I’m really crossing my fingers for Damon. His karma has to turn around one of these days. Give him a break already I say.

    I love seeing the baby develop this way. Are they going to find out the sex? Next thing of important, are they going to tell??? It sucks when they don’t.

    Reply

  16. Sandra
    Dec 08, 2008 @ 21:31:37

    WTG, Joan, with the weight loss! And yep, whatever works, if it is a pregnant daughter so be it, lol.

    Enjoy your break and fingers and toes crossed here that the work goes fine for Damon.

    Reply

  17. mrsvierkant
    Dec 10, 2008 @ 23:37:21

    Hooray for you!!! I love that you have the pregnancy ticker on your blog too.

    Reply

  18. kilax
    Dec 12, 2008 @ 22:06:51

    Congrats on the weight loss! That is an inspiration I need this week! Can’t wait to read in tomorrow… 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

