Weight Watchers Saturday!! OOPS! Baby Stuff!

Well, all I can say is I didn’t gain weight but I didn’t lose either.  I actually stayed the same.  I figure that’s not horrible with Thanksgiving and all plus the night before,  Sarah, the wasband and I went to Grumpy’s pub to see the band that played at Sarah’s wedding.  We had a good time.  Didn’t stay late and only had two drinks but that is probably about 5 points.  Add that to Thanksgiving day and you’ve got no weight loss.

I have to step up the weight loss now so I can have my new knee done in March.  That will give me three months to recover before baby is born.

I’m going to have to be in shape!

ob4

One thing I forgot to mention was the due date.  The baby is due on my birthday, June 9th.  Sarah’s Doctor came up with June 10th but I found a website online and it came up with June 9th so that’s what I am telling everyone.

Obie’s grandfather and brother share their birthday on June 12th.  I’m hoping it will be born on my birthday but it would be cool too to have it born on it’s great grandfather’s birthday and it’s uncle’s.

I’m also tired of calling it–IT.  Sarah and Obie want to know the gender but we have to wait until sometime in January for that.  I, personally, don’t care what it is as long as it is human and not some alien.  I will be happy though we did call my son  “alien piggy” when he was little.

When I was little I referred to myself as Noni and most of my relatives called me Noni.  We’ve decided it will make a good grandma’s name.  I don’t really want to be called Grandma or Nana anyway and I certainly don’t want to be called Granny.   We have also decided to have Barry be called Bubba.  We have many times referred to him as Bubba so it will fit right in.

The kids are still discussing names for it but I think they want to find out the gender before they really decide.

To Sarah:

Tuesday, June 9th, 2009

You are currently in week 12. Your little one is around two whole inches long and their head is starting to lift a bit as their neck straightens. What’s more they’re practicing breathing using amniotic fluid and they’ve developed their sucking reflexes. As for you, your pregnancy is now becoming a fact which others can observe without you telling them that no, you’re not just putting on a bit of weight.

Museditions just asked a good question on my last post about the baby. Where are we going to put the little  wee one?

The kid’s basement apartment

basement1

The above is a crude drawing I just did on Paint. My goodness, using Paint is like using an Etch-A-Sketch.  I was never good at that.  I hated Etch-A-Sketches.  Obviously I can’t draw at all.  Anyway, where it says baby is part of their storage room.  They will put up walls and a floor and ceiling and ventilate the air.  The room will be small but this way the baby can be downstairs with them when they are home.  They will be able to fit a crib and a bureau in it.   Otherwise they would have to kick out Barry and use his room on my floor and they don’t want to do that.  We actually like having the wasband around.  I once posted photos of their apartment downstairs here.  It’s really nice.

Well, that’s it for now.  I am going to settle down in my room and crochet.

16 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Anonymously Angry
    Nov 29, 2008 @ 20:15:31

    Reply

  2. birdpress
    Nov 29, 2008 @ 20:21:23

    I didn’t see the pictures the first time so I looked just now. Wow, what a makeover they gave that basement! Very nice. I’m sure the baby will be fine down there. It will be good for them to have him/her so close. When he/she gets older you’ll just have to add on to the house! 😉

    Congrats on not gaining any weight! I’m sure you are in the minority of people if you didn’t gain any weight over Thanksgiving, so you are still ahead! My scale still says the same but I swear I’ve gained five pounds since my wedding. It will show up all at once if I don’t stop eating. I can’t diet during the holidays. I just try to be healthy MOST of the time. I’m slipping though!

    Yes, it will be good to have the baby close to them at night when it cries. Being healthy is the most important part. I certainly feel healthier now than I did a year ago. The basement makeover was done by a professional but he too 6 months to do it. It was supposed to be done in one month but the end result was worth it.

    Reply

  3. Little Miss
    Nov 29, 2008 @ 21:09:05

    Hey, Joan – breaking even during Thanksgiving week is great. Better than gaining, that’s for sure. I hope I did okay. I used some of my flex points but I hope to walk some tomorrow (I keep saying that, then don’t) and have been pretty good since Thursday. I’ll team with you to step up the weight loss if you want. You definitely need to be in shape when that baby gets here. Although they don’t weigh so much at first. You’ll need a strong knee when they turn about six months or so… You’ll want to hold them all the time! Ooooh, I’m soooo excited for you.

    You have been doing really well with weight watchers. I’m sure you will do great. I remember the joy of holding my own children. I can’t wait to hold Sarah’s child. Yes, please team up with me. I can use all the help I can.

    Reply

  4. teeni
    Nov 29, 2008 @ 22:17:24

    Congrats on the “no gain!” I think that is pretty impressive actually. Oh, I’m so excited for you to be a Noni! Making the little baby room downstairs is perfect. They don’t need a lot of room for themselves – babies don’t take up much space. It’s all the ACCESSORIES they come with! LOL. They are as bad as Barbie dolls I tell you! Oh, I just know you are crocheting something for the baby! Is it a secret? Can you tell us?

    Actually, at the moment I am crocheting Christmas ornaments but I am going to crochet a blanket. I know Sarah doesn’t read the comments so I can say it here. I will start right after Christmas. We are only doing Christmas stockings this year and I know I am going to fill her stocking with baby stuff.

    Reply

  5. thebeadden
    Nov 29, 2008 @ 23:06:03

    Congrats on maintaining your weight throughout the holidays!

    I love your ‘To Sarah’ post. What a great idea, Joan. A keepsake in the making!

    Noni suits you!

    This is just so wonderful. I am just so happy for all of you. 🙂

    I will post the “To Sarah ” once a week that way I, too, will know what’s happening in there. I definitely have to step up the weight loss.

    Reply

  6. Emerald
    Nov 30, 2008 @ 00:53:46

    I think breaking even comsidering the festivities is a job well done. I’m excited to hear baby names! EEEEEEEEEEE!!!!!

    I’m waiting to hear about baby names too. So far, the two of them haven’t said much. I’m going to really have to watch out this next month on the food thing with Christmas just around the corner.

    Reply

  7. Hannah
    Nov 30, 2008 @ 03:20:35

    You stayed the same … do you know how hard it is to do that? The weigher at my meeting said it’s VERY hard. I’ve managed it twice now, ROFL! 😀
    But yep, better than a gain, and you have had a good reason what with Thanksgiving and nights out, etc.

    June 9th sounds like a wonderful due date! 🙂

    Reply

  8. kaylee2
    Nov 30, 2008 @ 05:46:51

    COngrats to sarah!

    Reply

  9. duskydi
    Nov 30, 2008 @ 05:58:08

    I love you staying the same, hehe!!

    OMG ! Your going to be a Granny. OMG ! I’m delighted, I’m jumping for joy, I can’t wait for Adele to get up to tell her. I thought that Noni was just Christines name for you – like a special friends name. I loved the way c calls you Noni. Its so cute.

    What does Noni mean.

    Does it mean Grandma.

    Is is Christines special freinds name just for you and her.

    Bubba is brilliant for Barry, hehe !! To cute.

    My grandson calls me Di Di. I like that. June 9th cool. What star sign is that. Your going to be a really special Grandmother. Being a Grandmother is brilliant, its my favourite thing yet, you get to tell stories all day, dress up, be silly and you get this really nice warm loving wonderful feeling that you can’t seem to remember having with your kids. Well its kinda like that for me.

    This feeling that you get….WOW ! OMG ! I can just see you and Sarah now, blooming, like walking primroses. Your both going to be so beautiful. What about the tattoo ? It can wait can’t it. aww!!

    Hehe!! Your pictures and videos are going to be well good. Best of luck with you health and weight loss dear Joans Of Mums, hope all goes well for the new kness in March.

    Damon is going to be an Uncle. Whoo Hoo ! This is the best news ever. OMG ! Its beautiful.

    New Life
    Love
    Di

    Reply

  10. Just a Mom
    Nov 30, 2008 @ 11:27:31

    The remodel they did on the basement is great!
    Good job on the no gain! I bet you can’t wait for your new knee!

    Reply

  11. Joy
    Nov 30, 2008 @ 23:17:28

    This is great. Your going to be so good at this.

    Reply

  12. betme
    Dec 01, 2008 @ 19:33:12

    Joan, all of this baby talk is making me very baby hungry. No, I do not want to eat a baby… I just want to snuzzle it, smelling all the baby smells… (except the pooh part. no need to smell that end)

    Reply

  13. Peter Parkour
    Dec 02, 2008 @ 23:26:47

    Way to go on the no gain/no loss. 😉 Not bad at all for Thanksgiving. Now back to the grindstone. 🙂 Crocheting? A baby blanket by chance? 😀 You must be so excited, Noni. :mrgreen: I’m so happy for all of you.

    Reply

  14. Sarah (the daughter)
    Dec 03, 2008 @ 08:20:34

    So you think I should tell her I always read her comments!! Thanks everyone for all the congratulations. Obie and I are really excited and I’m sure you can guess Mom is too!!

    Reply

  15. duskydi
    Dec 03, 2008 @ 23:56:22

    To Sarah from Diane.

    Sarah you don’t know me, I’m Diane, I just want to wish you and Obie all the very best. Being a Mum is the best.

    HUGE CONGRATULATIONS once again. Yes smiling, you’ve made your mum very happy haven’t you and your dad to. Hope the pregnancy goes well and you have some wierd and wonderful cravings.

    Love
    Di

    Reply

  16. CuriousC
    Dec 09, 2008 @ 07:35:27

    Hey there, I have been following the gma breaking news since sometime after turkey day and have yet to say congrats and I am super excited for you AND that the baby is due on June 9! how very very cool.

    and I love the year ago pics of you and momma-to-be – congrats on the weightloss progress.

    congrats congrats congrats – can’t say it enough, woohoo!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

