I Am So Freakin’ Thankful!!!!!

I’ve thought of about 100 different ways to write this post but I’m going to do what I always do and just write “Whatever I Think”.

MY DAUGHTER IS PREGNANT.  I AM GOING TO BE A GRANDMA!!!!!

There I’ve said it.  Could I be more excited ?  ABSOLUTELY FREAKIN’  NO!

grannybook

Will I be a good granny?  It depends on who you ask.

Now you all know how long I’ve been wanting to be a grandma.  I may have mentioned it numerous times. Here is the cool story of how and when they told us.

On October 11th we went to visit Grampa in the nursing home.  We knew he only had a few days to live.  He didn’t seem to be recognizing anyone but the whole time we were there he held onto both of Sarah’s hands and wouldn’t stop looking at her.  It seemed like he was trying to tell her something but he had severe pneumonia and nothing was coming out.  He never let go of her hands the whole visit.  It was a sad time because we knew we probably wouldn’t see him again.  At the same time watching him hold Sarah’s hands was so moving and beautiful.

We finally left the nursing home and went out to dinner.  We were starving and  1 1/2 hours from home.  We sat down at a table and Sarah said she had something to tell us.  Barry, Leslie and I looked at her with rapt attention.  I’m thinking they are getting another dog or they are going to paint the house.  She said ” I’m pregnant.”   I said  “No, you’re not.”  I seriously thought she was joking.  She said  “Mom,  I wouldn’t joke about something like this.”  Then I burst into tears and was hugging her and crying really loudly.

Sarah explained that she thought it might be bad timing to tell us then, what with Grampa being so ill and all, but she couldn’t hold it back anymore.  She also said she felt Grampa would want us to know because we were sort of exchanging him for a new baby and he would like that.  I swear Grampa knew she was pregnant.  Somehow he just knew and if he did I am sure it made him very happy.

So I have known for almost 6 weeks.  Do you know how hard it was for me not to tell anyone?  It damn near killed me.  Sarah wanted to not tell everyone until she was at least 12 weeks along.  At Thanksgiving they announced it to Obie’s family.

Another amazing thing happened.  Sarah has a best friend.  They have known each other since kindergarten. They always swore they would be pregnant together.  Bianca got married last year.  She came to the house two weeks ago to tell us she was pregnant too.  She is only two weeks behind Sarah and it is totally coincidental.

Thanksgiving was wonderful yesterday because I have so much to be thankful for.  I will post a few photos.  Most of the good ones are on Sarah’s camera but I have a couple.  I will post the rest tomorrow.

This is what greeted us when we arrived

front-lawn-turkey

The Thanksgiving Table

thanksgiving-table

My tiny dessert, Key Lime pie

my-desseret

We have so much to do to prepare for a baby living in this house.  It will be quite a task for all of us.  Of course,  you will all get blow by blow descriptions of everything that happens as it happens.

I might even post again today but I want to get this up and share the news.

33 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Joy
    Nov 28, 2008 @ 11:32:49

    I guessed this on Just A Mom’s blog the other day. I just had such a strong feeling about it. I AM SO HAPPY FOR YOU. And Sarah of course.

    I can’t tell you how wonderful being a grandma is. It has brought things to my life that I couldn’t have ever imagined. To see my children’s children come running across my hard with arms open yelling “Grandma, Grandma.” Now I’m getting chocked up.

    It’s “goosebumby” about Grandpa and him just knowing. My grandma was that way. Sometimes she just knew things. Way cool.

    I am way happier than I can even say and you will be TERRIFIC at this Joan. Just like everything else.

    I just went to Just A Mom’s blog and saw your comment after mine. You were so right. Since you are a grandma I’m sure you know how I feel. I got choked up just reading your comment. I’m almost too excited for words. I don’t even know if it has really set in yet even after knowing for six weeks. Thanks, so much, Joy.

    Reply

  2. Peter Parkour
    Nov 28, 2008 @ 11:33:22

    WOW, WOW, WOW! Congratulations. 😀

    I have been walking around the house saying WOW! for 6 weeks. Thanks, a lot, Peter!

    Reply

  3. fightingwindmills
    Nov 28, 2008 @ 12:05:56

    YAY, Sarah!!! Congratulations to your family, Joan! That’s such fun news. Waiting until the 12 week milestone is smart, but really hard to do! You are good at keeping secrets.

    That tablescape is REALLY nice. I’m glad you had such a nice Thanksgiving.

    Thanks, Fighting Windmills. It was soooo hard to keep a secret like that. It was a beautiful table they set up and the food was great too.

    Reply

  4. birdpress
    Nov 28, 2008 @ 12:19:00

    Congratulations! That is awesome, super-exciting news! I’m so very happy for you, and I can’t wait to read all the interesting stuff you are going to have to blog about. 😀

    Thanks, Birdpress. Yes, I think there will be a lot of interesting stuff going on around here.

    Reply

  5. Little Miss
    Nov 28, 2008 @ 13:42:09

    Welcome to the club, Joan! Welcome! You will be a great grandma. There are so many joyful and blissful events ahead of you. And I’m so tickled for you and Sarah and Obie. Boy or girl, it will be a loved and welcomed baby, and who could ask for more than that?

    This is a club I have wanted to be a member of for so long. I don’t care what it is. I will be happy. I’m probably going to have to fight people off just to spend time with it. This child is going to have a huge extended family.

    Reply

  6. Trackback: Congrats to Joan (Whatever I think) « Joyerickson’s Weblog
  7. Emerald
    Nov 28, 2008 @ 14:37:17

    SQUEEEEEEEEE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    I am SOOO excited for you! I’m totally living vicariously cause I’m nowhere near baby-ness yet, but I’m SUPER thrilled. I’m also living vicariously through a friend of mine who has a wee one coming this Feb. She’s got two great kids but I didn’t know her when they came along, so I’m extra psyched.

    And how rad is that that her friend just happened to get pregnant at the same time? I say super rad.

    There is no rush for baby-ness. I say super rad that my daughter and her best friend, who is a second daughter to me, are pregnant together. Thanks, Emerald.

    Reply

  8. jeanny
    Nov 28, 2008 @ 14:46:55

    congratulation I know you’ll be one cool grandma 🙂

    Thanks, jeanny. I hope I will be a cool grandma. I’ll give it my best shot.

    Reply

  9. javajunkee
    Nov 28, 2008 @ 15:32:25

    that is so freakin cool. Ok but you gotta promise us you are still gonna do dumbass videos…you’ll just have to not do them around the grandchild. 🙂 You can’t settle down too much.

    The kid will probably be in the dumbass videos or at least helping me subjects. Can you imagine when it’s a little older and I say “Come on, kid, we gotta go take some dumbass videos.” ? I hope my daughter takes it well.

    Reply

  10. Hannah
    Nov 28, 2008 @ 16:12:45

    Oh Joan!! This is the loveliest news I have heard in ages!! I am soooooooooo very happy for you, and for Sarah!
    You are going to be an awesome Granny! This little baby is a very lucky soul to have you in his/her life.
    CONGRATS!!

    Thanks, Hannah. I’m almost too excited for words. well, that’s not true. I will have lots more words about this.

    Reply

  11. laura
    Nov 28, 2008 @ 16:21:47

    Fantastic news! Congratulations to all of you!!

    Thanks so much, Laura. We are all beside ourselves. I keep having to pinch myself.

    Reply

  12. Wendy
    Nov 28, 2008 @ 16:54:59

    OH MY GOD!!!!!!! Congratulations! This is outstandingly fantastic news. I’m so excited!

    I love that inflatable turkey. I want one wicked bad now.

    Can you believe it, Wendy? Barbara is really excited too. She will be like another grandmother. I’m glad she lives so close. This child is going to have a lot of grandmothers.

    That inflatable turkey is wild. I can just imagine it in front of your house.

    Reply

  13. dropofkim
    Nov 28, 2008 @ 17:37:02

    OHMYGAWSH JOAN I AM SO HAPPY FOR YOU!!!! You are going to be one AWESOME Grandma!! WOOHOO!!! HAPPY HOLIDAYS TO YOU! I mean really, that is just the coolest!!!

    Thanks, Kim. I’m going to love being a grandma that’s for sure. I am so fortunate to live with my daughter and her hubby so I can see the baby every day.

    Reply

  14. boundandgags
    Nov 28, 2008 @ 17:42:42

    That’s awesome! Now don’t go spoiling the kid now, ya hear?

    Me? Spoil the kid? Ha! Ha! That child and I will be conspiring against the parents constantly. I have lots of cool stuff to teach it. OK, Sarah, I know you are reading this. I won’t conspire. I promise. Thanks, B&G. I won’t conspire but I will spoil.

    Reply

  15. thebeadden
    Nov 28, 2008 @ 18:28:17

    I read this on my surfer first and yelled to my husband…”Oh my Gosh, Sarah’s pregnant!” He had no idea what I was talking about! LOL! I am so flipping excited and happy for you.

    I know how much you have been looking forward to this day, Joan. 🙂 I couldn’t be happier for all of you! And that her friend is having one too!

    ((((hugs)))) I just love your meez jumping for joy! If you could see the size of my smile right now…

    The table setting is just beautiful too. I love the way they did the napkins.

    That’s funny about yelling it to your husband. I can’t think of anything I wanted more in the world. It will be so much fun to have a little one running around the house. We can color on the walls, I mean it will probably color on the walls but who cares.

    My meez is making me tired looking at it.

    It was like origami napkins but the table did look beautiful.

    Reply

  16. Trackback: Party Games for Christmas « The Bead Den
  17. David
    Nov 28, 2008 @ 20:09:25

    Congratulations Joan that is so WONDERFUL!

    ♥ 🙂 ♥ 🙂 ♥ 🙂

    I love the way you wrote about your daughter revealing her news after visiting with Grampa. That’s SO the way the important stuff of our lives unfolds. I can hardly believe that you contained it for so long.

    You WILL be a cool grammy. And it’s your JOB to spoil your grandchild. So get started!

    Thanks, David. It was such an emotional visit to see Grampa but then to get the news of the baby just about pushed me over the edge. I think everyone in the restaurant thought I was a little nutty.

    I think this child is going to be spoiled by a lot of people. It’s the first baby on my side of the family since my son and he is 27 years old.

    Reply

  18. Amy Hunter
    Nov 28, 2008 @ 20:50:30

    Wooohoo!! Congratulations, Joan. That’s so exciting. Kids are just so wonderful and good for the soul. I’m glad a wee one will be joining your family in a few months. 🙂

    Thanks, Amy. Kids are good for the soul aren’t they. I love talking to really young ones. They say such honest and beautiful things. I hope the next 6 months just flies by.

    Reply

  19. c
    Nov 28, 2008 @ 23:04:11

    Aw! Noni’s going to be a Noni!!
    Congartulations to Sarah & Obie. Gosh, everyone’s having babies. i love babies…

    You’ll be the coolest Grandmother!

    Your table looked lovely and warm. Inviting.

    Yes, there will be a little one calling me Noni, finally. I suppose it won’t be able to say it right away. Shucks!! 😉 I want it to pop out and say “Where’s Noni?”.

    The table did look wonderful. If it had been at my house you might have seen paper plates and paper napkins. I can’t imagine folding all those napkins.

    Reply

  20. threeboys1mommy
    Nov 29, 2008 @ 00:18:06

    I’m so freakin exited for you and wasband… oh and for sarah and obie too. You made my night Joanie. Congrats!!!

    Thanks Super Mommy!! Hopefully I can be Super Grandmommy. I am so excited over this. You would think I had won the lottery but this is way better.

    Reply

  21. teeni
    Nov 29, 2008 @ 00:35:13

    Ack! I am slow getting around and finding this out! But I am SO excited for you as I know how much you have been waiting to be a grandma and I can’t imagine how you kept this news to yourself for so long. I bet you have wanted to shout it from the rooftops! Please pass my heartiest and happiest of congratulations on to Sarah and Obie! Do keep us posted! Your thanksgiving table looks so elegant! I am sure it was marvelous although I bet your heads were in the clouds quite a bit! 🙂 🙂 🙂

    Teeni, I wanted to put a front page announcement in the newspaper or hire an airplane with a banner at the end of it. It’s the hardest secret I have ever had to keep. Fortunately Sarah let me tell my sister. I think my head is way above the clouds about now. I will probably bore you to tears with updates about baby.

    Reply

  22. lupusranting
    Nov 29, 2008 @ 00:58:26

    Congrat’s on the grandbaby coming!! Sounds like you had a fabulous Thanksgiving! 🙂

    Thanks, Sue. I am so excited. I can hardly restrain myself. We did have a wonderful Thanksgiving. We have a lot to be thankful for now.

    Reply

  23. Just a Mom
    Nov 29, 2008 @ 14:37:08

    Congrats, congrats, congrats!
    I figured with all the cleaning going on that Sarah must be preggers!
    Congrats, congrats, congrats!

    Reply

  24. museditions
    Nov 29, 2008 @ 16:48:58

    May I add my congrats! Grandkids are the best! And how fun for Sarah and her friend to have babies together! And you, Ms. Joan! Where are you going to put the newbie? Is there a room or an alcove for him/her? Wow, a baby in the house!
    I liked the photo of the inflatable turkey, and of the holiday table. It resembled the one at the dinner I attended, too.
    Whoohoo, Joan!

    Reply

  25. kilax
    Nov 29, 2008 @ 20:43:12

    Is that really your Thanksgiving table? That is BEAUTIFUL!

    Congrats! I cannot imagine keeping the news private for so long. This is so exciting!

    Well, I have to say, that WAS the Thanksgiving table I ate at but it was not at my house. I probably would have had paper plates. It was at my son-in-law’s aunt’s house and her daughter did a beautiful job with the napkins. The food was just as good as the table looked.

    Not announcing to the world that my daughter is pregnant was probably the hardest thing I have ever had to do. But I did make a promise so I had to keep it but I am so happy now that I can tell the world and talk about it.

    Thanks,Kilax.

    Reply

  26. duskydi
    Nov 30, 2008 @ 05:39:23

    Oh !!

    aww !!

    OMG !!

    Joans Of Grandmothers.

    OMG ! Firstly huge congratulations, for you and your family and for Sarahs best friend to. OMG ! SARAHS PREGNANT.

    WHOO HOO !!

    OMG ! Secondly, I had a feeling , I’ve had this feelings for weeks now – I don’t even want to talk about that sort of wierdness, hehe!! Joans Of Grandmothers I had a feeling.

    My tummy is dancing, its all over the place for you. I wished this for you as I’m sure many of the people that love you did.

    This is brilliant news. Bloody brilliant.

    Aww!! A similar sort of thing happened with my mothers death and the birth of my grandson. aww!!

    Love you
    Diane, so happy.

    PS. When was it Thinksgiving for you lot. I’m so sorry I missed it this year for you all.

    HAPPY THINKS GIVING EVERYBODY. xx

    Reply

  27. romi41
    Nov 30, 2008 @ 13:05:11

    OHH MYYY GODDDDDDDD….how exciting and wonderful! Congrats to your daughter and your whole family!! 🙂 And who wonderful that the baby will get to live with a grandma as cool as you 😉

    Reply

  28. The Vinyl Villager
    Dec 02, 2008 @ 14:05:01

    What great news! Sorry Im late getting to this (still catching up from days without a computer last week)…how awesome! I know you have to be thrilled!

    Reply

  29. Hay
    Dec 02, 2008 @ 17:27:40

    Oh Joan!!! YIPEEEEEEEEEE!!!! So excited for you.

    Reply

  30. JavaQueen
    Dec 03, 2008 @ 04:55:51

    Jeeez, I’m gone for a few days and this? CONGRATS to sarah and her huz- and to you too! Oh, the joy!

    You are going to be a rockn’ grandma- I get this feeling 😉

    Reply

  31. Trackback: They Always Come In Threes « Life Is Funny Wearing Purple Colored Glasses
  32. joann
    Dec 06, 2008 @ 13:39:04

    CONGRATULATIONS !!!! Wendy told me the other day about the good news. I know I’m late getting back
    here but I wish you and the family well on this whole new adventure ! { and believe me , it is !} New Life ! Nothing compares !! You’ll have soo much fun . What a great way to start the new year !

    Thanks, Joann. I am so excited and Barbara is too. She will be a great Aunt but she says she feels more like another grandma. It will definitely be an adventure.

    Reply

  33. mrsvierkant
    Dec 10, 2008 @ 23:31:34

    You are going to be a totally awesome Grandma!! Congratulations to you and Sarah!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

