Weight Watchers Saturday! wOOt! wOOt! Couchsurfing!

Are You ready?  I LOST 4 POUNDS THIS WEEK!!!

Yes, I was really happy.  I have now lost 87 pounds. I really gave it my all this week because I know I have to stop futzing around and get it done.  I’ve still got another 100 pounds or more to go.

weightlosscartoon1

Well,  I’ve removed all refrigerator magnets so I have no more excuses.

Sarah and I are working hard making our home made Christmas gifts.  Unfortunately, I can’t post any photos or even tell you what we are doing because certain people like MY SISTER read my blog and I want her to have some surprises.  Notice how she never leaves comments.  But that is probably because we talk on the phone at least 5 times a day.

My sister, My best friend, My therapist, My mentor,  I call her Bobbie or Sister B.  I’d be lost without her.

bobbie

Damon is in Kill Devil Hills, NC.  He doesn’t know if he is going to stay there because there are no fishing jobs now.  He might go further south.  We talk about 10 times a day on the cell phone.  Every time he sees something cool he calls me.  I now know there are a lot of logging trucks on Route 64 and there are a lot of cotton fields.  He has been couchsurfing.

“CouchSurfing is a worldwide network for making connections between travelers and the local communities they visit.”

Basically if you are a member and have good feedback other members will let you sleep on their couch for a night or two when you are traveling. Damon and Anna have done a lot of couchsurfing.  They did a lot of it when they went to Alaska and it’s free.

“CouchSurfing Collectives (or CSCs) are held in order to bring participants together to improve the CouchSurfing website and grow our community. Participants enjoy an exotic and fun environment, as well as free meals and accommodation. They are invited in order to contribute towards improving the CouchSurfing experience for everyone.”

This is the Couchsurfing Collective that Damon and Anna went to in Alaska.

img_0006

Damon is on the far right.  This is the photo that is on the main page on the couchsurfing website.

img_0084

Well, now that you have all had a lesson in couchsurfing I don’t have much else to write about today.

One more thing, it is freakin’ cold today!!!

24 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Joy
    Nov 22, 2008 @ 11:47:07

    WAY TO GO Joan. Those 4 pounds is great. I’m so happy for you. Keep up the good work. Those damn magnets!!! Good for you, getting rid of them.

    Good to hear things with Damon are okay. I think an awful lot about him for some reason. I’m such a terrible worrier.

    It’s 28 here today and we are going to brave the elements and get our yard decorations out. Youngest son plans to use the bucket on the tractor to do our huge lilac bush. I’ll be posting a photo when it’s done.

    Reply

  2. Little Miss
    Nov 22, 2008 @ 12:09:30

    OMG – 4 lbs in one week! That is freaking fantastic! Congrats. I am sitting here eating my oatmeal and bananas before heading out to help my daughter get Evan’s birthday party ready – this is the one where all the little kiddies come. Hopefully I can stay away from the cupcakes. I love cupcakes. I’ve been porking out on popcorn (trying to keep the butter OFF) because I’ve been stressed and too fatigued to do anything like exercise. My goal this week is one pound. I hope I can do that at least. Congrats again. 🙂

    PS – I have a ton of links to home made christmas presents, but most of them require sewing. Not sure you’re doing that kind, right? Let me know if you need ideas…

    Reply

  3. teeni
    Nov 22, 2008 @ 12:36:20

    Wow – four pounds in one week is amazing! Are you doing anything different? Fill us in! We want to lose four pounds too (at LEAST)! LOL. I wonder if couchsurfing is good exercise? The word sounds like it might be but after looking at your post, I don’t think it is what I thought it was. LOL.

    Reply

  4. Peter Parkour
    Nov 22, 2008 @ 12:55:18

    😐 🙂 😉 😀 😛 (((((HUGS))))) Way to go, Joan. Now I’m off to check out that Coachsurfing site.

    Reply

  5. Moonbeam McQueen
    Nov 22, 2008 @ 13:30:22

    Joan, that’s just amazing! Congratulations!

    I’m fascinated by couch surfing– must read more. Sounds like Damon’s doing great!

    Reply

  6. javaqueen
    Nov 22, 2008 @ 14:44:52

    omg, so proud of you Joan! WAY TO ROCK THAT SCALE! Just couldn’t be happier for you!!! I’m glad Damien is safe – it’s cool that you are so close to your daughter, son, and sister. I love that about you! Hey, I might just have to take up couch surfing…. this could be my new thing 🙂

    Reply

  7. fightingwindmills
    Nov 22, 2008 @ 15:41:18

    Congratulations on getting closer to your goal, Joan. I’m hoping for the best for Damon.

    Reply

  8. kaylee2
    Nov 22, 2008 @ 18:20:23

    Congrats now I need a weight gaining program!

    Reply

  9. birdpress
    Nov 22, 2008 @ 20:40:50

    Way to go on the four lbs! Good luck to Damon with the couchsurfing. That’s a cool idea.

    Reply

  10. Hannah
    Nov 23, 2008 @ 01:46:52

    Congrats on the weight loss – you are nearly at 90lb! And then you’ll nearly be at 100lb! So awesome, you are really inspirational, Joan. Keep up the great work.

    Reply

  11. monicasrecipes
    Nov 23, 2008 @ 12:33:55

    Congratulations. You deserve a lot of credit.

    point friendly recipes – http://www.monicasrecipes.com

    Reply

  12. thegirlfromtheghetto
    Nov 23, 2008 @ 14:26:16

    87 ponds? That’s like a whole Nicole Ritchie!!! Way to go you skinny thing!!!

    Reply

  13. Sandra
    Nov 23, 2008 @ 15:46:29

    Yay you on the weight loss, Joan!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    LOVE the fridge magnet cartoon! May I borrow it to send to friends?

    Nice to meet your sister via your blog. My extended family read my blog too, though only a couple ever comment. Most likely for the same reason as you and your sister.

    The couch surfing is interesting. I’d never heard of it before.

    Reply

  14. sheng
    Nov 23, 2008 @ 20:52:08

    Yay on losing weight, glad you had a fine time!

    Reply

  15. lupusranting
    Nov 23, 2008 @ 22:31:51

    Contrats on the weight loss … keep up the good work!

    You’re close to your sister and that’s such a blessing. I’m the same way with my sister. She’s tethered to my heart and is my best friend and sounding board. We’re lucky girls 🙂

    Reply

  16. joann
    Nov 23, 2008 @ 22:34:07

    How did you loose 4 lbs. in 1 week ?? THAT -IS-EXCELLENT !!!! Do you go walking ? I wish I could get motivated to do that …my doctor was always telling me to WALK . I feel like my days are always spinning{ see.. the sun and earth are fuckin with me !}so I have no energy to go ” walking”. I’m callin Chet !! Maybe he can figure out a scientific formula to make me go walking. Seriously ,you must feel fantastic and I bet jou look MAAAVELOUS !
    Two thumbs up and a high five !!!!!

    Reply

  17. dietpills
    Nov 24, 2008 @ 09:05:12

    Just wanted to say great blog. I some how found you when i was looking for all things online. I wish you the best.

    Reply

  18. LuckyMe
    Nov 24, 2008 @ 11:19:48

    Thanks for stopping by my blog. Come by again for some calorie free party games for your holiday get togethers.
    Ciao, baby!

    Reply

  19. Just a Mom
    Nov 24, 2008 @ 12:15:13

    Way to go on the 4 pounds! Unfortunately I think I found your 4 pounds and they came with 6 other friends! That’s what I get for emotional eating! 🙂

    Thanks for the lesson on Coachsurfing. I learn something new every day.

    Reply

  20. jeanny
    Nov 24, 2008 @ 12:46:31

    Congratulation for that 4lbs you lost. 🙂

    Too bad you cant post that home made Christmas presents. I am really curious hahaha!

    Take Care Joan!

    Reply

  21. Emerald
    Nov 24, 2008 @ 12:47:04

    There is a place in NC called Kill Devil Hills??!?!? I must converse with the Josh. I want to live there….j

    Good for you on the four pounds!

    Reply

  22. thebeadden
    Nov 24, 2008 @ 13:51:32

    Woohoo, Joan!!! Way to go! I am so happy for you.
    That couch surfing thing sounds cool! It’s so nice to know Damon is doing well. And we get to travel around with him. 🙂

    The part about your sister is just heart warming. It’s nice to see families so close and not to shy to tell them that they love them.

    Take care 🙂

    Reply

  23. 2lazydogs
    Nov 24, 2008 @ 19:11:35

    Wooooo!! 4 lbs…that is fan-freakin’-tastic! Congrats! There is NO way in hell I’m watching the scale this week…I’m gonna PIG out, and I cannot wait.

    Hmmmm…couchsurfing…I had no idea.

    Reply

  24. mrsvierkant
    Nov 24, 2008 @ 23:55:05

    Congrats on the weight loss woman! You rock!

    I had heard about couch-surfing, but had not realized how popular it really was. Very interesting!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

