Happy Anniversaries!!! STUFF!!

On November 11, 19XX ( no one can remember what year) my grandparents were married.  On November 11, 1936 my parents were married. On November 11, 1972 my sister was married.  On November 11, 2006 my sister’s daughter, my niece, was married.

Four generations all married on the same day.  My parents and grandparents are gone but the other two couples are here and celebrating today.  I wish them both all the best.  And you two, Yes, Emily and Barbara , better leave a comment here. They read my blog but rarely leave comments.  But I love them both and their wonderful husbands.

My niece and her hubby have gone away overnight and my sister is home cooking some long involved Williams Sonoma recipe for her husband that involves pie crust, blue cheese, beef and beer.

Beef and Stout Pie

beefstoutpie

It’s nothing I could eat but it sure looks good.


Stuff I have been thinking about today (actually in the last five minutes):

  • Do leaf blowers really work?
  • What should I cook for supper?
  • Should I watch another episode or 5 of LOST?
  • It’s a beautiful day.
  • I should go outside.
  • And do what?
  • I should eat something.
  • I wish my camera took better photos or is it that I am a bad photographer?
  • If the “Hound of the Baskervilles” howls all night tonight I am going to get up, find it and call the police.  That dog sounds like something out of a horror movie.
  • My daughter said she couldn’t hear it.  I hope to hell I’m not the only one hearing it. Note to self:  Find out if anyone else heard it last night.
  • I want some of that pie my sister is making.
  • I need to find some new recipes.
  • How long can I stare at the sun before I go blind?
  • Oh, crap!!  I stared too long.  Now I have a big spot in my eye and can’t see the computer that well.
  • What can I laminate?
  • I should clean up this pile of papers.
  • I should finish the dishes.
  • I think snow blowers work OK.
  • I know I’m not going to be able to stop these little black circle thingys from coming up now that I’ve started this.
  • WTF is that crawling on the wall?
  • I’ve gotta go pee.
  • I wonder how long before your bladder explodes if you don’t go pee?
  • I’d better stop this, everyone will get bored including me.
  • I know I can fit in one episode of LOST before I have to cook supper.
  • Chicken
  • potatoes–roasted
  • leftover vegetables from the last two nights.
  • I’m outta here!!!

25 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Hannah
    Nov 11, 2008 @ 15:23:56

    Wow, 4 anniversaries all on the same day … that is very special. Did your parents and sister choose to have the same wedding date as your grandparents? Or was it coincidental? I think it’s just lovely. November 11 must be a very happy day in your family! 🙂

    I think it was more coincidental than anything but it’s sort of neat the way it worked out.

    Reply

  2. bkclubcare
    Nov 11, 2008 @ 15:57:57

    You are such a trip! OH! I have a fun Nov 11 story… In college, one of the frats needed an excuse to drink so they would line up beers – no one could drink before they yelled ‘go’ and at 11:11 pm for 11 minutes, they would drink as much beer as they could. And raise a toast to Veterans. They called it a study break. I always think of those study breaks on this day. and I raise a toast to Veterans.

    That’s quite a study break. I don’t know if there could have been much studying afterwords.

    Reply

  3. Little Miss
    Nov 11, 2008 @ 16:39:15

    Happy anniversary to all your mamily fembers. 🙂 LOL. It’s a fun day, and I loved seeing the insight to your thought process.

    I like mamily fembers. My thoughts are rather scattered aren’t they but that’s OK.

    Reply

  4. Peter Parkour
    Nov 11, 2008 @ 17:32:05

    Happy Anniversaries! I wonder if the date influenced the theme of any of the weddings, you know, like a red white and blue cake, or anything like that. 🙂 Good luck with your hound problem. 😉

    I know it didn’t with my sister’s wedding. She had a Hippie wedding. She wore purple. My niece had a beautiful wedding but there was no red, white and blue. I guess we are not very patriotic. I always forget that 11/11 is Veteran’s Day. I just think of it as anniversary day. It seems I am the only one in the family who heard the hound howl for two hours.

    Reply

  5. kaylee2
    Nov 11, 2008 @ 17:52:32

    happy anniver`sary! I really need to talk to you but you never get my emails 😦

    I usually forget to check my e-mails. My bad!!

    Reply

  6. teeni
    Nov 11, 2008 @ 18:43:00

    I guess Kaylee is having another bad day.

    Anyway, I love your list and all those things going through your head. I always wonder about that bladder thing too!

    But I do think that leaf blowers really work! Well, they do until you leave them in the shed through the winter one year and then the mice move into the mulching bag and poop and pee in it all season so then you just have to pick it up with gloves and throw the thing away. Then the machine still works but you never get around to buying a replacement bag for it so it still blows leaves but you can’t mulch them anymore and you just go back to raking. Um, but that’s just a guess. 😉

    Ha! Ha! Am I to assume this happened to you and you provided the mice with a tidy little home?

    Reply

  7. kaylee
    Nov 11, 2008 @ 19:12:37

    teeni is right 😦

    I hope you feel better!!!

    Reply

  8. threeboys1mommy
    Nov 11, 2008 @ 19:32:51

    I heard it last night! If you don’t call the police I will!

    According to my family you and I are the only ones who heard it.

    Reply

  9. Joy
    Nov 11, 2008 @ 19:43:45

    Those anniversary’s are pretty cool. I hope everyone had a good day and did something special.

    I just love all your random thoughts like this. We got a leaf blower this summer and have used it exactly once!!! Right away and now it sits in the garage. I agree with Teeni. It will probably end up as a mouse house!!

    I hate barking dogs and wonder why people let their dogs do that. Are they deaf?? Or is the sound of you own dog endearing in some way???

    I just don’t understand the barking/howling dog thing either. This dog’s howling couldn’t be endearing to anyone but the devil. It’s just weird that I am the only one in the family to hear it.

    Reply

  10. mrsvierkant
    Nov 11, 2008 @ 20:57:11

    Lots of anniversaries! Wow…

    Today is my Mom’s birthday. I’ll celebrate with her this weekend.

    The dog sounds downright scary…Yikes.

    Oh, and your random thoughts: Love ’em!

    🙂

    Happy Birthday to your Mom!!!! The dog didn’t howl last night, thank goodness.

    Reply

  11. trishatruly
    Nov 11, 2008 @ 22:58:50

    Your sister’s menu sounds awesome! It has four amazing ingredients, “pie crust, blue cheese, beef and beer” which tells me I COULD EAT THAT!

    Oh, and interestingly enough if you add up all the digits in each of those dates :1936 and 1972, the total is the same ..19! And if you add the 1 and the 9 you get 10. Add the 1 and the 0, you get ANOTHER 1 ! So 1’s feature prominently in your family’s history! heeeheee

    My sister said the meal came out awesome and her husband loved it. That is so weird about the numbers. I have to tell my sister. She’ll get a kick out of this. How did you even notice that? Now I have to find out when my grandparents were married to see what their numbers add up to.

    Reply

  12. thebeadden
    Nov 11, 2008 @ 23:25:35

    Happy Anniversaries to your families!

    I just loved your thought list. You crack me up! It’s great to have a place to go when I need some smiles and a little lift me up. 🙂

    Well I am glad my random brain thoughts gave you a smile. I usually end up laughing at myself because of some of the silly things I think about.

    Reply

  13. sheng
    Nov 12, 2008 @ 00:31:29

    How happy! Happy anniversaries to all of them!

    Thank You, Sheng!!

    Reply

  14. JavaQueen
    Nov 12, 2008 @ 11:20:19

    Love the way your header always goes along with a little snippet from your post- you clever minx! Happy Anniversary to those in your family- that’s actually very cool that 4 generations had picked the same date! SO SWEET and would be easy to remember 😉

    I have all those same thoughts plowing through my mind. But, I’m acting on the hunger thought- I’m going to go make a bowl of soup- cuz I’m freezing my nards off at this computer, my stomach is growling, and I also, have been holding my pee!

    Changing the header just shows how bored I can get. Actually I’m eating as I write this–a nice Lean Cuisine. Sounds like you are like me and won’t turn up the heat until your freezing to death.

    Reply

  15. dropofkim
    Nov 12, 2008 @ 12:00:38

    Happy anniversaries to all! Mine is coming up too. 1 year on the 16th. Paper anniversary. I told hubby I expect him to work hard on thinking of something thoughtful to get me. I’ll be lucky to get toilet paper. I have got to find that beef pie recipe! It looks so GOOD. I love your thoughts. I would love to steal your idea for my blog, cept I think I would scare some peoples away. 😀

    Just put in the name of the recipe and Williams Sonoma in Google and it will come up. My sister said it came out so good. Her hubby loved it. Well, Happy Anniversary to you. I hope he comes up with something better than toilet paper. I think you should list your random thoughts. I won’t be scared.

    Reply

  16. Just a Mom
    Nov 12, 2008 @ 12:12:38

    That is so neat with all the weddings on the same day.
    The closest we got in my family to that is when I decided to be born on my brother’s 3rd birthday!

    My son was born on my mother’s birthday. Did you like sharing your birthday with your brother when you were a kid?

    Reply

  17. jeanny
    Nov 12, 2008 @ 12:22:00

    happy anniversaries to all! 🙂
    Love your randoms thoughts. It really made me smile…

    Now for the voo, it just virgin olive oil 🙂

    Have a great day Joan!

    I’m used to evoo–extra virgin olive oil. I though voo was some strange food I had never heard of.

    Reply

  18. Emerald
    Nov 12, 2008 @ 14:30:46

    I love the ‘what can I laminate?’ thought. I frequently wonder ‘will this flush?’ or ‘what happens if I try to microwave that?’

    I’m planning on making it a running series once I’m in the south with my accomplice.

    I’ve microwaved a few things I shouldn’t but my worst microwave mistake was when I microwaved nothing for five minutes on my sister’s microwave Christmas day and the damn thing almost exploded. I broke it completely and for good. I guess you have to have stuff in it or else.

    Reply

  19. Emerald
    Nov 12, 2008 @ 14:31:35

    Boyfriend! Right. Boyfriend, that’s what I meant. Not accomplice. No, of course not. *Ahem*

    Hehehe.

    I don’t know. I think with the two of you “accomplice” is quite appropriate in a good way.

    Reply

  20. kaylee2
    Nov 12, 2008 @ 16:12:46

    Let me try sending you an email. If you dont get it check your spam? The spam bucket on many peoples email addresses likes my screename for some odd reason.`

    You know, I never remember to check my spam. I did a few months ago and found some important stuff there.

    Reply

  21. teeni
    Nov 12, 2008 @ 19:53:27

    That DID happen to us but the mice all scattered when they were found and we only found them because we were tearing down the shed. So they must have found a home elsewhere. We’ve never seen them again and my cats are now indoor cats.

    My cats are indoor cats too but they have caught mice in the house. So the leaf blower still sits there, mouseless.

    Reply

  22. odette
    Nov 13, 2008 @ 02:25:20

    oh that sounds so fun!
    at the maternal side of my family, half of them celebrate their birthdays on november, with only a day or two space in between them! it’s also my grandmother’s birthday on my wedding anniversary, so we have lots of celebrations too. 🙂

    i’ve been thinking of roasted potatoes since yesterday!

    At least you get it all done in one month but then sometimes it’s nice when they are spread out over the year. I love roasted potatoes and I use very little oil so they are low fat to and I put rosemary on them, yummy.

    Reply

  23. Just a Mom
    Nov 13, 2008 @ 14:12:21

    I loved sharing my birthday with my brother. My mom always had 2 cakes and as we got older we each had our own party.
    I always tell him he has no excuse for not sending me birthday card and every year he forgets to send me one! Just like a brother!

    That was good that your mom took the trouble to make two cakes. Leave it to a brother to forget to send you a card. You’d think he would remember since it’s his birthday too.

    Reply

  24. Trackback: Another Two Memes! Includes a photo and 6 Random (very random) Things About Me!! « Whatever I think
  25. thegirlfromtheghetto
    Nov 21, 2008 @ 21:38:36

    Of all the things on here “I gotta pee” made me laugh. Goodness, go pee woman!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

